We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
31
18
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
18
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews du hoc working farm stayed here bread mme lodging beck jams hostess chateau history france
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 49 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We chanced upon this B&B. Our timetable had jettisoned our planned lodgings and we were deep into the afternoon when we happened down the chemin praying to find someone doing business in this down season. We were their only guests; we felt the proprietors might have taken us in out of pity.

The Chateau Saint-Pierre-du-Mont is an old place with charm, primarily farming property. Our welcome was warm, they got us settled in a third floor room with a marvelous view and sailing ship in the window. They also set us up with dinner reservations in Grandcamp-Maisy for what was an exceptional seafood feast.

The next morning we were to be on our way after our healthy breakfast, but the owners and I found mutual 101st Airborne histories to explore. Seems the chateau was the HQs for 834th Engineers who went from supporting the advance of the Airborne to building D-Day advanced airfields for the 9th US Army Air Corps. The field, known simply as "A1" is just down the road to the east.

I will be back to see more of the Normandy Coast; and when I do, I will plan to stay at this chateau.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etranger2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2013

An extraordinary small chateau-hundreds of years old--on a working farm overlooking the sea at Pointe du Hoc. Terrific breakfast, with fresh eggs from the farm itself. Other meals can be taken in many of the fine restaurants in the nearby seaside villages, all of them special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a seaview. But all the rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stated at the Chateau St Pierre only one night and wish we had decided to book for a week! The room we had was absolutely lovely. We had a second floor room with a double bed, and a small room in the tower for our children. We all loved the charm of the old place. This place was what I always dreamed France would be like. It is in a rural area with cows, sheep, chickens, and lots of empty spaces. Not too far from Pointe du Hoc and its historical significance for Americans and Europeans alike. The grandmother that we met had stories to tell about the D-Day invasion as she was a teen at the time. A must for anyone vacationing in the area!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scazaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A really good place! the landlord speak only French but Madame is very kind. We stayed in the room n.3 at 2nd floor: fantastic! really typical, with a wonderful bath in the center of the bathroom. The room was big and clean. We are speaking of a ancient building in the green of country, so the room was a bit humid and cold, particularly during the morning and in the building there was a not so good smell...but it's normal because there are a lot of animals like sheep, dog, cocks, cows etc. but it's really nice to wake up, open the windows and see this show!
the breakfast was good and rich, with local products and home made jams and bread. Fantastic experience for one night!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlivaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Four of us stayed here - 19, 24, 41 and 60 years old - and we all loved it! The rooms are lovely, the hosts are friendly and accommodating, and we could see the Atlantic ocean from our window. Clean & comfortable rooms, and a delicious breakfast. We all loved walking to Point-du-Hoc and spent a morning exploring. Easy access to the Normandy beaches, and restaurants are close by. Nothing but good things to say about our visit here. Loved the dogs, too!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ivanhoe30415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews