We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
30
18
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
18
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdu hocworking farmstayed herebreadmmelodgingbeckjamshostesschateauhistoryfrenchfrance
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 48 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2016

The Chateau is just excellent, not one criticism. An extraordinary small chateau-hundreds of years old--on a working farm overlooking the sea at Pointe du Hoc. There is a story behind the building, very interesting. Would for sure go back and stay at the Chateau again.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia_Moreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

We just spent 2 nights at the Chateau, and we have not one criticism. Rooms were large and well appointed, bathrooms were fully functional, and the character, well it's a 16th century manor, so need I say more?
Hostess was welcoming and breakfast was all you would want.

The location is perfect for exploring all of the Normandy coast and the World War II circuit.

We would definitely go back.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank PierreCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2014

We only stayed one night but it was a nice experience in a small chateau on a working farm. We walked to Pointe du Hoc and drove into Grandcamp Maisy for dinner. Our room was on the top floor, extremely spacious, perfectly clean. Nice view over the fields. Breakfast was excellent with good breads and coffee. Mme. Beck was very friendly. It was a convenient location between Juno Beach and the Cotentin Peninsula. We backtracked just a short distance to Bayeux to see the Tapestry - fabulous!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2014

Excellent Château. Well located (5 min from the pointe du hoc) and it is a very convenient place to be if you wish to have a Chateau experience while traveling around Normandy. I have stayed in other Chateaux before and I can say this was the best experience I had in terms of feeling like being in an original one. It is a family owned place and very cozy. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luiz_Augusto_Barroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place is old world France and it's fabulous. Just look at that photo. The neighborhood kind of reminds me of that episode of AbFab where Patsy and Eddy go down to France, it has that kind of feel to it. Don't expect a tv, radio or phone in your room, this is where you go to escape modern life. Our room was beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean.The bathroom had a fantastic shower with great water pressure with immediate hot water. The Chateau is a working farm with cows, sheep and chickens. When I opened our curtain in the morning there were 3 cows standing there eating. Fantastic! The breakfast was lovely with coffee, eggs from their chickens, milk from the cows, homemade breads, jams, and yogurt. We loved every minute of our stay here. Brush up on your French because Madame Beck doesn't speak a word of English. She is very lovely and helpful, we highly recommend.

Room Tip: It's a quiet location, so noise wasn't an issue. We had a suite on the 2nd floor, it was lovely.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews