We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming home away from home in a perfect location”
Salamander garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salamander garden
the Salamander, 9 July 2013, roses in bloom upstairs bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Salamander garden
the Salamander, 9 July 2013, roses in bloom
upstairs bedroom
downstairs bedroom
downstairs bathroom
Le Vermont from the back field
Norman armoire in the master bedroom
The Pointe du Hoc
the conservatory
the coast line east of Saint Pierre du Mont
The American Cemetery at Colleville sur Mer, 15 mn from us
The church at Saint Pierre, the earliest part of which dates from the 12th century
the reception committee, Georges.
the Salamander at night
Henny & Penny
Kitchen showing mezzanine and bedroom
kitchen
the Vermont gates and the Salamander
the conservatory
Salamander  garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Saint Pierre du Mont, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming home away from home in a perfect location”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My husband and I and our 16 year old son stayed in the Salamander Cottage at Le Vermont for four nights between Christmas and New Year 2013. We would happily have stayed longer. Le Vermont is a lovely, charming property, conveniently located close to D Day landing beaches, historical sites and the American military cemetery. Normandy is a beautiful region and there is so much to see and do. Bayeaux is a 20 minute drive away and Mont St Michel, about a 90 minute drive, is an easy day trip. The cottage is modern and cosy and has all the comforts of home, along with a bookcase full of information about the area, and free wifi. We self catered and enjoyed going into Grandcamp Maisy, about 5 minutes or so by car, to the supermarket, boulangerie and patisserie for supplies and also enjoyed a meal out at one of the local restaurants. Hilary is a warm and engaging host - nothing is too much trouble - and we enjoyed our aperitif with her and her son, Tom, on our last night. We hope to be back one day. Terrific value for money and highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm and comfort of the cottage - and the location!
Liked least: There was nothing to like least -
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed December 21, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kristyn_M...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Gite in beautiful, historic surroundings with amazing hospitality.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our time at The Salamander at Le Vermont was perfect. The Gite was clean, modern & stylishly furnished in the old, original barn. Perfect for exploring D Day landing beaches, the Bayeux Tapestry, markets, food and Festyland all of which our three & six year olds loved!

We were made to feel very welcome & hope to return one day soon to see Hilary & Patrick again. Thanks for all the unexpected extras!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenJ160...
Halstead, Essex United Kingdom
1 review
“First Class Accommodation in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

As soon as we drove through the gates we knew we had picked a stunning property in a quiet location. The hosts Hilary and Patrick had great knowledge of the local area and where very helpful. The fresh eggs, apple juice and cider in the fridge were a bonus. The accommodation itself was very clean and perfect for a holiday let. Dishwasher was a bonus. Comfy beds. Kids enjoyed having there own accommodation upstairs. Great base for exploring the local area, near to beaches, many D-Day memorials and museums. Bayeux is worth a visit. Lots of information leaflets in property for you to plan your stay. Overall a brilliant holiday. Kids had a fab time (age 9 and 13) free wifi for you to keep in touch with the rest of the world! Thank you Hilary and Patrick

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zampdean
Sydney,Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location - children did not want to leave”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we booked I knew we were in for a treat. Hilary was prompt with email replies and could not help us enough when we had problems getting a child seat for our 4 year old from the car hire place, so she lent us her child seat.
Unfortunately Hilary was away during our stay but Patrick and Tom were excellent hosts.
The accommodation was spacious and the girls loved the upstairs bedroom with the spiral staircase. We had everything we needed and Patrick was always available to give us tips on places to visit and some of the history of the areas near by.
It is an excellent base for visiting all the D-Day beaches and sites.
The girls loved the geese, ducks, chickens and dogs. There were lots of squeals when the geese made an appearance and we loved the fresh eggs and cider.
We did not want to leave and really hope to come back one day. Thank you for a wonderful stay and a great week .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly hosts
Liked least: The weather it was so wet and cold
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen06...
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent welcoming host, and great location especially for D-day sites/beaches and charming French villages .”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Hilary ,
Our host was both very welcoming and helpful regarding advise on days out and nothing was too much trouble,
The Salamander was very comfortable ,clean and warm and was ideally located to visit WW2 historical sites both east and west along with several picturesque villages nearby.
I would have no hesitation recommending the Salamander and hope to return there myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Host and Location
Liked least: Coming Home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiBoon
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous location. Outstanding accommodation. Wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We are a family of 5 with 2 younger children and one teenager and finding accommodation to suit our needs can often be a challenge! Here at The Salamander we found the perfect accommodation in every sense.
Hilary welcomes you from the moment you send the first email. The accommodation is finished to a high standard. There is a lounge with tv and DVD (having not brought any from the UK, Thomas very kindly let us borrow a selection). The kitchen is small but more than adequate to cook family meals (we catered in most nights since we have the worlds fussiest eater!). There is no oven but plenty can be done on the stove top (two ring) and there is a microwave and large fridge + kettle! The main downstairs bedroom is wonderfully decorated and the bed is very comfortable - I don't think I have ever slept so well in rental accommodation. There is a spiral staircase upto the mezzanine level where the second bedroom is located. This was my children's favourite feature - the staircase was 'awesome' and there is a little balcony with chair that my 10 year old loved. The bedroom is large with a double bed and single (ask Hilary about sleeping options!) and then another toilet.
The seating area outside is perfect for alfresco dining or just relaxing after a hard day sightseeing!
The location is ideal for exploring the landing beaches. We have visited the area before but not stayed this close which was a real bonus.
As mentioned in previous reviews, Hilary and her family live in the house across the courtyard and we were invited over for a drink. I speak very little (but terrible French) so it was great having Hilary, from Vermont help us with anything we needed.
We stayed for 6 nights and could have quite happily spent longer. I can not recommend this property, the owners and the location enough.
... And the fresh eggs and cider were a real bonus!
Thank you Hilary, Patrick and Thomas
The Rickard
Oxfordshire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything .. Staircase a favourite for the children!!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
Just to note that there is now an oven in the cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing