We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Very beautiful place to stay. Scenery is phenomenal. customer Service is great. Hot springs are nice too lil hard to find though.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfallbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    442
    180
    93
    61
See reviews for
507
509
37
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We have visited Mt. Princeton Hot Springs many times during the summers, for day use only, and have enjoyed the hot spring fed pools, and of course the bonus of being surrounded by spectacular scenery. We especially enjoy that these are not sulphur hot springs and so they are odorless!

This is the first time we went for an overnight visit and stayed in a room in the lodge. By staying at the resort we were able to use all of the pools and the river both on the day we checked in (from 3 p.m. on) and the day we checked out (at 11 a.m.) as part of our lodging rate. There are lockers at the pools and so even after you check out of your room, you have a place to change for your trip home. This gave us two days to enjoy the hot springs, and made the lodging rate quite reasonable, since we didn't have to pay the day use fees.

The lodge room was spacious and had a flat screen cable tv and a nice sized refrigerator. We brought plenty of food/drinks because we knew we could take picnics into the pool areas. Cell service was great - remember it can be spotty in the mountains. There is a small country store on site if you forget something. The restaurant (in the lodge) is pricey - but nice ambiance for a special occasion. We didn't visit it this trip so can't speak to the quality of the food. We found the help to be polite and friendly - of course this is still off-season - so once the crowds descend who knows??? To use the free WiFi you really need to be in the lobby of the lodge. Our room was on an end and the noise from the parking lot (it was nice enough to have our window open), as well as from the hallways and other rooms was a little on the loud side and again this is still not high season. Of course your not in your room too much if you're there to enjoy the springs. Be aware that the entrance to the pool areas is down a fairly steep hill that is gravel and rock, a person with a disability may have trouble navigating this area.

You are about 10 miles from Buena Vista and so it is good to plan ahead on what you want to pick up at the grocery before you get to the resort. The new relaxation pool, Japanese free flowing hot pools and clubhouse are open only to overnight guests that are 16 and older. So if you are planning a stay with family be aware that children are not allowed in the pool across the river. However there is plenty of sunning/picnic area, and two large pools open to day use and children, as well as the hot spots in the river.

Overall we see huge changes to the resort each year and this year is no different with the opening of the new relaxation pool/clubhouse. The change rooms were very clean and sported newer lockers. There is another pool that has an alpine slide in it, that opens after Memorial Day. It is closer to most of the cabins and some other motel-like lodging. If you stay in this area be aware that you will need to drive down to the main hot spring pools because you are up on a cliff side.

Many guests we met on our stay were planning on rafting the Arkansas river after they left the resort and others were planning excursions to Leadville - about 40 miles away. Our visit was so relaxing and enjoyable that we are planning on another overnight visit in a month or two at which time we plan to take advantage of the spa, massages etc. P.S. Remember to bring sandals for walking in the river and a bathrobe for comfort when walking from the lodge to the pool area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zorigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathrop, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We've been going to Mt. PHS for over 50 years and I must say that, with the new ownership and money being pumped into the resort, it will be top notch in the coming years. The major disappointment was that the cliffside rooms, although spacious, didn't have the privacy I thought I would have. The room next to me had several kids running back and forth to another family member's room on the other side of me. The patios are open to each other so it's like one big patio for all the rooms to share...a little too "free for all" for my taste. The window AC units were a joke...made more noise than it was worth...you could open the door and have the screen door closed but the noise of the other customers was a little annoying.
The relaxation pool was the highlight of the whole vacation...reserved for guests of the resort. The staff monitors who goes into this pool area and can be a little abrupt to people who try to sneek in.
The staff of the old days - in late 70's and 80's were much friendlier and professional...but, I've heard that the new owners are shipping in European staff for cheap labor. Hum, not used to our customs maybe ?
Give this resort a try, even if for a day visit to the hot springs. In time, they'll get all the kinks worked out and maybe the dining room will get with what the vacation public wants for a resort atmosphere. MT. P....don't try to be a European fine dining experience !!!!

Room Tip: Cliffside rooms are the most spacious and best view. Lodge rooms have the most convenience to the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Beautiful views, clean warm hot springs pool, comforable dressing area, and friendly staff. This is what you will get from the newly updated facilities at the antient historical Mt. Priceton Hot Springs Resort. I remember coming up here as a child, there were hot pots in the river and an old outdated kinda changing place. This has all changed, all but the warm beatiful God given waters. There are cabins and rooms and wedding facilities and a high classs resturaunt. It would be a great addition if they were to update the stair/hillside system to get down to the pools and maybe some benches in the relaxation pool so you could relax. I'm sure they will get to that someday. For now, it is a beautiful place to bring your love or the whole family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosiescorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Dinner was awful for the both of us. We waited what seemed like hours for our food only to be disappointed with our entrees. Tenderloin was over cooked and the Ragout was not a real Ragout, Demi Gloss was watery and not made properly. Sea Scallops were also over cooked and the sauce was broken. We had heard many good reviews from our friends in Denver over the past few years, but we were not impressed at all and will not return. My advice to management is to hire a new Chef that has a stronger culinary background. We found many items on the dinner menu to be misrepresented and not describe correctly. Mt. Princeton should call Chef Ramsey to intervene and make this restaurant edible.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjohson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great destination for girls' weekend. The bedding is wonderful and the cabins are beautiful. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Mt. Princeton Hot Springs Resort is one of our ALL-TIME favorite destination get-a-ways no matter what time of year!!! What a lovely, relaxing utopia! If you haven't had the opportunity to enjoy the beauty and comfort of this vacation destination, it's well worth the money invested! We are frequent travelers to the Colorado Rockies and Mt. Princeton is our stay location when we ski at Monarch or just because we want the relaxation and environment provided by this resort. We've traveled to this location for both private family stays as well as taking biz associates and conducting business at the resort. Mt. Princeton actually hosted our modeling company during one of our Colorado photo shoots (Oct 2011) and they were amazing in the service provided to us! We prefer to rent one of the resort's private, family cabins. The views are STUNNING and the quiet privacy provided is perfectly perfect! I just can't say enough about this place! Aside from the breathtaking views and comfort provided by the accommodations of the resort, you can't beat a day of skiing at Monarch and a soak in the hot springs at the end of the day. The hot springs pools are user-friendly, the staff at the resort are AWESOME~very friendly and accommodating your every need! Perfect location to enjoy LOTS of different things, skiing, swimming, soaking in the hot springs, hiking, trail riding, you name it. Mt. Princeton is just the best!!! We love it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nathrop
26.7 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
23.1 km away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
12.8 km away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
12.6 km away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort

Property: Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Address: 15870 County Road 162, Nathrop, CO 81236
Region: United States > Colorado > Nathrop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nathrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous natural oasis surrounded by towering peaks. Your perfect getaway, with every amenity. Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort is where you can do it all. Satisfy your quest for adventure, experience the healing powers of Colorado hot springs, and indulge in pampering spa treatments. Unlimited outdoor recreation alternatives for every interest, in every season, at every level. Gourmet meals, choice lodging, and our welcoming staff await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Hotel Nathrop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing