We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
110
50
10
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
50
10
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfasthot tublocal cafewood floorsin towncomfortable bed and pillowsextra pillowseasy walking distanceblock off main streetdouble queen roomgreat place to staybend over backwardsthe ownerwould stay here againnight's sleepone night stayhot breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 176 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2018 via mobile

Ouray is a favorite destination of ours and we thought we’d try a new place to stay. There are many choices. The Matterhorn sounded great and is pet friendly (for a $20 fee). We made the reservation two days before arrival. The night before departure we watched the weather and checked online apps only to discover a winter weather advisory for the area with poor driving conditions and up to 12 inches of snow. Between our home and Ouray the roads are steep and winding with some tricky passes. As soon as we saw the forecast and checked it out on several websites, I called and explained our situation. Nope. No refund! Strict 72 hour cancellation policy. (We had made the reservation only 48 hours before.) The manager was not remotely understanding and asked “how do you know you can’t get over here tomorrow?” I said, we don’t want to risk it; we have to be able to get home, too. He said to call back in the morning and we’ll see what the weather is doing. My husband was furious. He got online and discovered our bank card had already been charged the full amount. HE called and explained our situation again and asked the man (as I had) if he had seen the forecast and the guy said no. Finally, after an unpleasant exchange between my husband and the manager, the manager reluctantly refunded our money. There was no need for this to get ugly. My husband should not have had to call after I was summarily dismissed. The guy should have said, thanks for letting us know. I hope you will stay with us next time. There are plenty of choices in Ouray and Ridgeway; don’t choose the Matterhorn!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D, Manager at Matterhorn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

When you called to cancel your reservation the manager said, "It is too late to cancel your reservation because we have a 72 hour cancelation policy." This is 72 hours prior to your arrival. He then said, "Instead of canceling right away call in the morning to see how the weather is and we can cancel or keep the reservation after that." You agreed to this and hung up. Soon after your husband called the motel. He was rude and disrespectful to the manager and the manager said, "Either you are going to talk to me normally or this conversation is over." Your husband calmed down and apologized for his actions. They talked to situation out and the manager canceled your reservation without any charges. Then you leave this review. You made the reservation on January 3, 2018 for January 6, 2018. While making the reservation you were advised that this reservation is too late to cancel, and you agreed to this. You were driving in from Moab, Utah where there are no mountain passes that you have to go over. After two rude experiences between you and your husband towards the manager, only your husband apologized. Nothing was charged on your credit card, even though you should have been charged the stay. The manager wants an apology from you for your rude comments and review. He also suggests you need to learn how to talk to people, to take anger management classes, and to stop hiding and lying on the internet. The manager has nothing against your husband.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

It is true the rooms are big? So what? Wher is the charm? Where is the service? Where is the extra mail. There are so many charm hotels in this unbelievable Little Ouray, Try the WiseBaden, which does not publish itself and it is hard to find. Little hotel on a hot spring full of charm and old good days people. There are few like this in Ouary, if u want to feel the place find them if u just stop by with a truck and u need a place to crush u can stay here….

Room Tip: go to hotels with more charm , with hot springs , ouray can offer great experience
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick D, Manager at Matterhorn Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Thank you for the review? I am not sure what you are trying to say or if you enjoyed your stay. Maybe we will see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017

One-night stay at the Matterhorn in Ouray. Great location, a block off Main Street, makes for easy walking to pretty much anything in Ouray. Spotless room with hardwood (or fake hardwood) floor and queen bed. I thought the room was small, reminded me of motels from decades ago on family vacations, which is probably when this was originally built. Nice staff. All quiet on our one night. Nothing fancy at all, but definitely OK. Good night's sleep. Two complaints - only one bedside reading lamp and TV hard to figure out.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs and that might help with keeping things quiet
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay_LA_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Still a great value. Well managed. Clean. Comfortable. Nothing real fancy. No big lobby and/or bar. Everything in room worked as expected. Good bed. Room was a little on the small side. Decorated nicely with wood floors, but nothing overboard.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cptrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Small motel with clean rooms. Room was a bit small, limited space but adequate for a good sleep after a long day. It was quiet when we were there in October. Breakfast was provided, but not on site, had to go to one of the restaurants about 5 to 7 minutes walking distance away on the main road.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenham01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews