We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location to stay in Ouray with an RV”
Review of 4J+1+1 RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
4J+1+1 RV Park
Saint Louis
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Prime location to stay in Ouray with an RV”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Considering what a little town Ouray is i'm amazed there is an RV park such as this right in the middle of town. The RV park itself is mainly gravel parking lot but who cares - you're in Ouray! There is a laundry mat across the street and you can walk over the river to the Ouray Hot Springs. Yankee Boy Basin is nearby and so much to do/see. We had no problems with the owners and honestly, other than checking in, I never saw them. The other poster who complained may have a ligitimate grievences but I would check it out for yourself and then decide.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greenhorn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    18
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I don't know what kind of problems pumatraveler has but her review isTOTALLY off base, inaccurate, vengeful and just plain wrong. Our family has been visiting Ouray for more than 20 years and since we acquired a RV we've stayed at 4J. I believe more than half of the park consists of returning guests every year. A lot of the "regulars" stay for the entire summer. I don't think they would come back if pumatravelers review was even close to accutate. This is a family run business, the staff has always been friendly and accomodating. The restrooms are immaculate, the guests are friendly and many evenings are spent sitting around and visiting with the neighbors. Normal folks will love staying at 4J+1+1.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WillysMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We recently returned from a three week vacation across this country. We stayed at several campgrounds and met many wonderful people - everywhere except at 4J.!!! The owner is the absolute rudest person I have ever met in my life!!! She yelled at my husband, she yelled at me, and apparently wasn't satisfied with herself because she then cursed at my 15 year old son. I would give her the benefit of the doubt and say maybe she was having an "off" day but she was much too fluent in her profanity for it to just be an "off" day. If you're looking for a nice place with a family friendly atmosphere, do yourself a favor and keep on looking. I promise you'll not find it here!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank pumatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
279 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Nice park with friendly staff. The views of the mountains and cliffs are breathtaking. Spots aren't very level and the back-in sites don't leave much room for larger rigs; fences and curbs make it challenging. The pull-throughs are good. Easy walk to the hot springs and town. No laundry on site and the laundromat down the street had decrepit washers that didn't clean well. The was the first place our travelmates ever encountered a bathroom with a combination-lock door.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottandJanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

The RV park is just across the river within easy walking distance of the Main street and shops in Ouray. A warm welcome and even warmer showers made us feel most welcome. Fantastic town with mountain scenery all around.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gomms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We are currently staying here in site 7R on the river. Quiet and peaceful, love the sound of the water over the rocks - drowns out other annoying sounds (right now I can hear an annoying dog barking in a rig). The view up (straight up!) the mountain peaks is awesome.
The park itself is kinda weird - it is all gravel so is hard to tell the road from the site boundaries and there is dust flying around. The river sites are VERY small, especially if you have a slide-out. All river sites have full hookups.There are big rig sites in the middle of the campground. The bathrooms are clean and well equipped. Employees are polite and helpful. Watch out for the camp dog - he growls but doesn't mean it. It was mentioned he is elderly and has lost three of the last three fights he has been in (?) He stays by the office and doesn't seem to wander the camp. Easy to find this camp, in the middle of town - but you wouldn't know it. Easy to walk to town. We went to the public mineral springs pool - it was wonderful. The attached city park is wonderful, and we were able to let our dog off leash and play Frisbee. We just love Ouray, what a lovely charming little town. We travel with a 23" trailer. The WIFI is iffy. Town has lots of restaurants and coffee places. We found a gem of an antique store, there are a few. Good location to park the rig and sight-see. We went to Gunnison National Park, Telluride, and the best - "Last Dollar Road" which goes from Ridgeway to Telluride - and you can do it in a car if you go slow. The views of the mountains were awesome with the aspens and scrub oaks all turned. Would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCBMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

we are still camping at the 4j+1+1 while writing this review. The staff are very friendly and courteous. Campground is extremely clean and has showers, ice, etc. very close to town which is a plus. The views are incredible and you are also very close to the river. There is nothing negative about this vacationing experience in this campground and I would recommend to everyone. This campground is much better than the Ridgeway State Park.
Thank you to the owners of the 4j+1+1 for making vacationing families a much enjoyable place to stay. they also have wifi

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennifer1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.0 km away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
878 reviews
0.0 km away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#12 of 15 in Ouray
153 reviews
0.0 km away
Ouray RV Park and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ouray Chalet Inn
#3 of 15 in Ouray
397 reviews
0.0 km away
River's Edge Motel
River's Edge Motel
#6 of 15 in Ouray
485 reviews
0.0 km away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4J+1+1 RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4J+1+1 RV Park

Property: 4J+1+1 RV Park
Address: Ouray, CO 81427
Region: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ouray
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
4j+1+1 Rv Park Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing