We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
74
24
4
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
24
4
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bon ton his son historic hotel the owner other guests bring kids antique furniture in town main street awesome hotel hot items breakfast was delicious hot tub loved our stay each morning the san juan mountains definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 113 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2015

Our recent stay at the St Elmo Hotel could not have been better. We were booked for two nights and stayed three. David, the owner, could not have been nicer. He made us feel like friends instead of paying customers. He provided a lot of information about the local area and told us about a scenic road we had not previously known about. The staff and service were s top notch. Our room was very clean and spacious. We are already planning a return trip to the area and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DSchauer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the St Elmo Hotel. We had a nice size room with lots of Victorian charm. The public areas are quiet and well decorated. The owner has a wine cocktail hour each day for the guests. In addition they offer a continental breakfast in the morning. Be sure to check out the BonTon restaurant below the hotel during your stay...the food is fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2015

In gorgeous Ouray, a picture perfect small town wedged between mountain rock, there's an unassuming brick building right on the main drag....The St Elmo. Walking in is like stepping back in history --- in a lovely Victorian style small bnb type of inn filled with lovely antiques. The inn owner is beyond welcoming and immediately invited us to his happy hour(s) "meet the guest' get together. Munchies and wine were served, guests were an eclectic group, stories were shared -- and we never made it to dinner. Our room actually was two rooms much in style with historic appointments --- beautifully maintained with lovely perfectly restored antique décor. LOVED this place. Left and impression. So much more fun than the sterile and typical hotel/motels one could choose. No tv in the room although there's a beautiful parlor downstairs if you need to watch one. AND they serve a great breakfast. Do not hesitate unless you absolutely need to go to bed with a tv on.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nkatjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2015 via mobile

Randomly selected this hotel several months ago while planning an extended road trip through the west. We arrived mid afternoon to a friendly greeting from David (proprietor). After a brief check-in process, he showed us to our room.

This is a lovely, beautifully decorated and period furnished b&b. The rooms are comfortable and a step back into the turn of the last century. The complimentary breakfast was beautifully presented and included coffee, a variety of juices, fresh fruits, cereals and hot dishes. Great stay and very relaxing.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GWRohrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2015

If you're looking for an off-beat, old-time, boutique hotel in Ouray, CO, may we recommend the St. Elmo? We loved the settings, both inside and out at this family owned-and-staffed historic B&B. Although our room offered little in the way of a view and was small by 21st century standards, it felt authentic and reflected the period that pervaded when this tiny mining town was in full swing. If you are not tied to big chain motels, then this friendly and courteous staff more than makes up for any short-comings in sleeping accommodation. Evenings kick off with a happy hour, and mornings with a delicious home-cooked meal. The St. Elmo is the perfect place to drink in the flavor of Colorado's rich past, and soak in all the adventures modern Ouray affords.
If we're ever near Ouray again, we'll book there for sure!
Tim and Kate Peters, Colorado Springs.

Room Tip: If you desire a view, book a room on the front side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtwoodCutting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews