We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
75
24
4
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
75
24
4
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bon ton his son historic hotel the owner bring kids in town main street awesome hotel hot items breakfast was delicious hot tub loved our stay each morning the san juan mountains definitely stay here again stayed two nights yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 114 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2015

The St. Elmo is a beautiful, historic hotel in a great location with breathtaking views. But for my money service makes all the difference in the overall hotel experience and that was in short supply for our visit.
Upon arrival we were questioned about the number of people in our party in an accusing tone and threatened with added costs as a result. The owner neglected to mention at check-in the rather essential information that the front door would lock after a certain hour and we would need a code to unlock the door.
The owner and staff were rarely available and the few times we did see them they were particularly cold and unfriendly, including one incident in which an employee again threatened us with extra charges for housekeeping fees (???) and cursed at a group of people from our party.
One issue might be someone having a bad day, but it seems that the new management and staff are completely unfamiliar with how a hotel front office should be run.
The only redeeming quality was the staff that served breakfast which was friendly and the food was delicious.
No location or historic pedigree can excuse that kind of customer service, and especially for the price.
Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bperry54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StElmoHotel, Owner at St. Elmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2015

Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and breathtaking views!
The room rate is for two people per room, not 4. You booked your party for 6 and brought 12 plus a new born. As you know we let that go.
The chilidern that were left unsupervised in the parlor had moved the antique furniture around, left trash everywhere and never bothered to clean up after them selfs or put the furniture back. They were told the second time this happen that they would be charged house keeping if they did not clean up after, thats only right.
Sorry to hear you got the wrong impression from management. Disrespectful people rarely get respect back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2015

We loved our stay at St. Elmo. Right on Main Street, our room had a great view over the street, with the stunning mountains behind. Our room had antique furniture, beautiful lace curtains and bed coverings and was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious...especially the cheese blintzes. Mmmmmmm. Hope to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank baronginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015

The hotel is beautiful inside and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. The hot breakfast was good. The bed is comfortable (pillows a bit worn out) and the rooms are nicely furnished. Very clean, no odors. This is an old historic hotel that has been well preserved. I didn't even realize it included a sauna and hot tub. If i had any complaints it would be that the internet was slow.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2015

Our recent stay at the St Elmo Hotel could not have been better. We were booked for two nights and stayed three. David, the owner, could not have been nicer. He made us feel like friends instead of paying customers. He provided a lot of information about the local area and told us about a scenic road we had not previously known about. The staff and service were s top notch. Our room was very clean and spacious. We are already planning a return trip to the area and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DSchauer2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2015

My husband and I recently stayed two nights at the St Elmo Hotel. We had a nice size room with lots of Victorian charm. The public areas are quiet and well decorated. The owner has a wine cocktail hour each day for the guests. In addition they offer a continental breakfast in the morning. Be sure to check out the BonTon restaurant below the hotel during your stay...the food is fantastic!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews