We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Elmo Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ouray Inn(Ouray)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
72
23
4
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
23
4
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbon bonhis sonhistoric hotelthe ownerother guestsbring kidsantique furnituremain streetin townbreakfast was delicioushot itemsloved our stayhot tuboutdoor activitieseach morningthe san juan mountainsdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 109 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

One of the best hotel stays I've had in awhile. The hotel is just incredibly unique with beautiful furnishings that make you feel like you've stepped back in time. Social hour in the parlor was very, very enjoyable. And Ouray is just incredible. Will definitely be back. Thanks David and Blake!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank KellyOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2015

The rooms here are beautiful! They are vintage style rooms and each one is different from the next! We stayed for a family reunion and rented the whole hotel out for the weekend. The staff was very friendly and attentive, the rooms were extremely clean and well maintained! There is free breakfast included (served from 8-9am) and free wine and snacks in the afternoon (served from 4-5pm). There is also a hot tub out back of the hotel that was wonderful for those days we didn't make it to the hot springs down the road. The rooms on the north side of the building did catch a lot of the restaurant noise (Bon Ton is in the basement of the building) during the late evening hours but with the windows closed it was hardly noticeable.

Room Tip: for a quieter stay ask for rooms on the south side of the building away from the restaurant
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meagan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2015

The St. Elmo is a beautiful, historic hotel in a great location with breathtaking views. But for my money service makes all the difference in the overall hotel experience and that was in short supply for our visit.
Upon arrival we were questioned about the number of people in our party in an accusing tone and threatened with added costs as a result. The owner neglected to mention at check-in the rather essential information that the front door would lock after a certain hour and we would need a code to unlock the door.
The owner and staff were rarely available and the few times we did see them they were particularly cold and unfriendly, including one incident in which an employee again threatened us with extra charges for housekeeping fees (???) and cursed at a group of people from our party.
One issue might be someone having a bad day, but it seems that the new management and staff are completely unfamiliar with how a hotel front office should be run.
The only redeeming quality was the staff that served breakfast which was friendly and the food was delicious.
No location or historic pedigree can excuse that kind of customer service, and especially for the price.
Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bperry54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StElmoHotel, Owner at St. Elmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2015

Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and breathtaking views!
The room rate is for two people per room, not 4. You booked your party for 6 and brought 12 plus a new born. As you know we let that go.
The chilidern that were left unsupervised in the parlor had moved the antique furniture around, left trash everywhere and never bothered to clean up after them selfs or put the furniture back. They were told the second time this happen that they would be charged house keeping if they did not clean up after, thats only right.
Sorry to hear you got the wrong impression from management. Disrespectful people rarely get respect back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2015

We loved our stay at St. Elmo. Right on Main Street, our room had a great view over the street, with the stunning mountains behind. Our room had antique furniture, beautiful lace curtains and bed coverings and was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious...especially the cheese blintzes. Mmmmmmm. Hope to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank baronginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2015

The hotel is beautiful inside and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. The hot breakfast was good. The bed is comfortable (pillows a bit worn out) and the rooms are nicely furnished. Very clean, no odors. This is an old historic hotel that has been well preserved. I didn't even realize it included a sauna and hot tub. If i had any complaints it would be that the internet was slow.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews