We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
74
24
4
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
24
4
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bon ton his son historic hotel the owner other guests bring kids antique furniture in town main street awesome hotel hot items breakfast was delicious hot tub loved our stay each morning the san juan mountains definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 113 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Ouray is a great Western town to visit, with its late 19th century historic buildings, warm hot springs pool (quite nice), its fun downtown, crafty shops, and its emphasis on outdoor activities. The St. Elmo Hotel is an experience! Don't plan on a television for entertainment, but it's quiet, and gives one a real feel for what it would have been like a 100 years ago. If you only like modern, don't plan this one...but if you like charm, it is a relaxing, inviting place to visit. The restaurant next door is excellent, with a bit of elegance.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2016

It is charming, great Victorian decor, perfectly situated, a quick walk to restaurants and the Brewery on Main St.
We have especially enjoyed happy hour with the owner, Dave.
Breakfast is always delicious.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank MelindaKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Dave and Blake father and son proprietors are extremely personable and helpful. The hotel is relaxing and serene. No phones and TV's in the rooms, but that just adds to the getaway experience. There is a large TV in the parlour for shared viewing. I truly enjoyed the stayed. The town itself is lovely. We ate at 5 different resturants and the best food in town was the FREE breakfast provided by the St.Elmo. Don't get me wrong the service and atmosphere of the resturants was great, but the quality and was unequal to the expense. The prices were 20-40 dollars for dinner entrees and the quality of the food was only average.

Room Tip: Rooms along the left side of the hotel can hear the melted ice that runs off the mountains in the summer it's very soothing.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soniagongora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2016

My wife and I stayed there on 6/27/16 & 6/28/16. We were in room #4. Each room has different decor and we loved the atmosphere at this hotel. No TV's or Phones in the rooms. There is a TV room downstairs with a large screen if you need to get a fix for TV. But, tt was great. Relaxing. We checked in and we had booked a Getaway Package. Included 2 nights, 2 tickets to the Ouray Hot Springs and dinner in the restaurant, Bon Ton (Italian Cuisine), downstairs.

When we checked in, we were greeted by Blake (owners son). Promptly checked us in and offered to get our bags and take them to our room. He showed us around the property and then showed us up to our room. He handed us a check for $65 as some past guests who had used the Getaway Package didn't prefer to eat at the Bon Ton, so the owner (Dave) and Blake decided to just give the guests a check for $65 which you can use towards any restaurant in town.

The hotel does not have an elevator and rooms do NOT have air conditioning. It's a mountain town and not necessary. There are fans in each room. Some rooms have a ceiling fan as well. As for the elevator, this was not an issue as it just added more steps to my Fitbit. Also offered is a full morning HOT breakfast. The food was great and plenty of it. Breakfast offered from 8A-9A.

There are 10 rooms total. Room 10 is a suite, can sleep up to 6 and has an outdoor decor (pictures in the post).

This hotel is more for couples/adults. Kids are allowed with a minimum age, but it was nice and quiet, I have to say, with adults only. We have done our share of hotels with our kids and that whole scene, but it was nice and quiet.

Hotel Mgmt/Owner is Dave Baggett. Super nice and friendly. Dave is a straight shooter and really takes pride and takes care of his property. I read a lot of the previous reveiws on here before we booked. I saw the posts about "issues" that people had with him re: charges, etc.., but this is NOT a property to bring kids that like to run around, make noise, etc.. His decor around the property is old fashion and is taken care of, and also not meant to be a jungle gym. So if you are going to stay here, just be aware of the fact that Dave really appreciates his property and wants to make it a nice/quiet experience for his guests. This, my wife and I really appreciate. Please don't mistake for my comments regarding children as being negative. Dave & Blake welcome kids. They just ask that parents are responsible for the kids actions and not screaming for the benefits of the other guests. If you are considering booking here, I encourage couples/parents with kids to call Dave or Blake to discuss their policy so that you are on the same page before you arrive.

He makes some killer margaritas between Happy Hour (4-6PM) where he also offers Red and White wine. I had 2 margs and felt really good afterwards. My wife doesn't care for margaritas, but she drank the ones that Dave blended up.

We had a lot of laughs with Dave. The weather was rainy on our trip so we didn't get to do the Hot Springs because of lightning in the area. But we really enjoyed our stay at the St. Elmo hotel. There is no pool. But there is hot tub in the back of the hotel. It's on a covered deck and was clean/worked great!!! Temp was at 104. It was relaxing and the jets just were outright relaxing.

Make sure you read all the rules re: payment/refunds, etc.. Dave & Blake are very personable and if you have any questions before you book, just give them a call. And when you are staying there, just ask them in person.

If you like quiet, relaxing setting and just an easy place to stay, then be sure to call Blake or Dave and book a stay at the St. Elmo Hotel. We REALLY enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back! See ya soon Dave! Alan & Chrissy

Room Tip: Rooms each have a different decor & layout. If the hotel is not booked to capacity, I'm sure the owner would let you look around.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2016

Good stay. This is restored hotel that still feels Victorian. The rooms are all different, but furnished with a combination of antiques and modern furniture. The rooms are good size, but the bathrooms are very small. No tv in rooms, but a big one in the parlour. No elevator. Breakfast is good. Good and friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews