We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're a skier, it's PERFECT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Healing Waters Resort & Spa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you're a skier, it's PERFECT”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed four nights during a trip to Wolf Creek. We drove into town looking for the place my dad and I stayed in 23 years ago. Found it. Kahuna met me at the desk and booked us in for the stay- and immediately gave us the best runs to look for on the mountain. The room was fine, comfortable beds and WARM (water heats the walls so we hardly turned on the heat). But the best thing is the Warm Pools. If you're looking to rack up serious vertical on the trip the 90 degree outdoor olympic pool, the 98 degree hot tin and the killer 109 degree indoor pool will allow you to ease the post mountain ache and pre-ski warm up. AWESOME PLACE. If you want Pagosa's version of swank, go across the street and pay more for it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBHerold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    44
    23
    10
    9
See reviews for
41
44
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed here April 8th & 9th 2011. What a dissapointment for my daughter and me! The outdoor "hot pool" was a small 4 or 5 person hot tub. The indoor hot pool was for adults only. The shower in the hotel room was a small spicket that squirted a tiny stream of water and the shower had lots of mold and mildew on the very aged tiles. Disgusting! Poor reception on the TV. We had 2 flat pillows on our bed the day we arrived. I requested 2 more pillows on the first night and we finally went to the front desk the next day and the clerk had to search for about 10 minutes to find us 2 decent pillows.We did not spend much time in the room...thank goodness!!!

Room Tip: I agree with the reviewer that stated "Don't bother staying here"!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soaknpagosa, Marketing at Healing Waters Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
I apologize for the discomfort you experienced while staying with us. I am very curious to know which room it was that you stayed in and wish that we had known about your concerns at the time so that we could document and address the conditions you have reported. I can report that since the time of your stay with us, in April of last year, we have upgraded and improved various areas of our resort, including a full remodel to one of the rooms, along with regular maintenance and upkeep.

As far as the outdoor “hot pool”, we actually have a very large hot springs swimming pool that is maintained at approximately 94º during that time of year (approximately 88º in the summer). It is a favorite spot for all ages and has enough room to swim laps! The “hot pool” that you refer to in your review sounds more like our outdoor hot tub, which will accommodate more than 5 people comfortably and is also filled with 100% natural mineral water from the hot springs. Our indoor hot baths are adult only areas as the temperature is kept at approximately 108º. From your review, I cannot tell if you spent any time in the actual swimming pool.

Again, I apologize for the disappointment that you felt, and hope that any future trips you make to Pagosa Springs will be more enjoyable. I invite you to stop in on your next visit and give us the opportunity, whether you choose to stay with us or not, to show you the full range of rooms that we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pagosa Springs hotels

Redington Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We checked into this hotel on Sept 30, 2011. The Colorado weather at this time of year was high in the mid to low 60's and lows in the low 40's. The room 115 was unbearably hot! The baseboard heating was turned on and there was no way to turn it off. We opened the one window in the room, turned the fan on full blast in front of it and opened our door to try and get the room cooler. We noticed that everyone else in the building had their doors open too and some were standing at the door opening and closing it in an attempt to get the cool air in. We left the room on Sat morning at 5am to do a 50mile running race and when we returned at 11pm dirty and ready for a shower we were shocked to find that there had been no maid sevice performed on our room--no maid service in 18 hours of our room being vacant! Our wet towels were on the floor where we had placed them before we left. The office was closed and there wasn't an after hours number to call so we were forced to pick up our damp, dirty towels off the floor and shower with them again! --Also, had to shower with them in the morning too! When we checked out that morning we told the front desk girl and received a "sorry, too bad the office was closed or we could have replace the towels for you" Unbelievable!!!!! This hotel is not a resort and spa--don't be fooled by the name--it is an overpriced roadside motel. The only good thing about it was that the bed was comfortable.

As a side note, there are signs about no smoking, but people just stand outside their rooms and smoke--and with the window open to get in air, smoke comes in too! We will definitely being going elsewhere for our future stays in Pagosa Springs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I loved the fact that signs were posted "no alcohol and no smoking" in the pool areas. This makes for a healthier and much quieter atmosphere.
We spent 3 nights here in cabin E. The hotel was booked two of those nights yet it never felt crowded in the pools and the other guests were quiet and also interested in just relaxing. Some of the retired townspeople came and soaked also, and for the most part, they were quiet too.
I am really sorry that the last person said not to come here. It is NOT UPSCALE like the Springs across the street. Personally, I found that to be a relief. I don't think one should have to pay $189 for a queen room (or $625 for one of their new suites!) like they charge across the street.
The massage therapy by Johnathan was top shelf. Our cabin was extremely clean. The front desk staff was friendly and knowledgable. The pools were clean, full of mineral water as advertised, relaxing.
Yes, they probably should replace carpet and bedspreads. I saw what she was talking about when I looked at other rooms. The cabin is new and so is everything in it.
I am very thankful for a budget option in a really expensive resort town. I can actually afford to come back here and we plan to this month.
And as for the last person's slam of the whole town because one person broke the law and soaked in the buff..how shortsighted! We loved the hiking in Pagosa Springs and the bicycling. The town is so easy to walk with a restored wetland area and pathway in addition to sidewalks. The woman at the Visitor Center went out of her way to help with maps and suggestions.The Pagosa Springs Baking Company serves outstanding, upscale food at small town prices. Farrago's has also has friendly staff and great casual food. These good people do not deserve such a remark from an uptight, unthinking reviewer.

Room Tip: The cabins are new with a new bed and linens. They are at the back of the property and face a hill t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellykabuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I disagree totally with other peoples reviews. We must have chose this place because of others reviews, but we were very disappointed when we saw the 1st room he placed us in. Small, dirty, smelly, old rooms. No upgrades in probably 40 yrs. Borderline scary. The larger rooms were just OK with big wood furniture & the beds weren't that uncomfortable, but again, dirty old carpet and old, outdated bedspreads. IF they just got new carpet & bedspreads, it would make a huge difference in the larger rooms. Don't even think about staying in the small regular rooms. The clothes optional steam rooms & mineral water hot tub makes my skin crawl. Walking down by the river, where you can see the hot steam coming out of the earth is pretty cool, but smells of sulfur of course. Saw a naked man bathing in the river. I would skip this town completely!

Room Tip: Skip this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibthesquid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas USA
Level Contributor
239 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The resort is small and basic but very laid back.and nice and reasonable. The rooms again are clean with no frills and no A/C but very comfortable unless it's a warm summer day.
The Hot Spring pools are 1 big pool outdoors approx 90 degrees, 1 outdoor small pool approx 104 degrees and 1 indoor pool approx 108 degrees. Messages are available and I got a great one.
There is an RV park here too so something for everyone.
The location is walking distance to restaurants and shops and Pagosa is a nice town.

I would defintely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve48Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

It's all about the waters at Healing Waters Resort & Spa. They use only pure, hot spring water in their pool, hot tubs and steam rooms. The mineral content is what gives these waters their healing properties, and here the water is undiluted, making this the place the natives prefer to "take the waters" . The waters are cooled to a useable temperature through a system of pipes. Use of the pools, hot tubs and steam rooms come with the room reservation. Taking the waters before bedtime gave us a deep sleep!

Our room was small but clean and newly decorated. A coffee pot and T.V. are available, but no microwave or fridge, so plan accordingly. Across the street from the visitor's center and the river, and within walking distance of shops and restaurants, the location is ideal.

We found the owner and staff to be very friendly and helpful in identifying places to go. We were refered to a great Thai restaurant, called the Thai Chili, that had a wonderful green curry.

I would definitely come here again- it's all about the waters!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
5.5 km away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
537 reviews
1.0 km away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
108 reviews
5.4 km away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
346 reviews
4.0 km away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
206 reviews
5.6 km away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healing Waters Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healing Waters Resort & Spa

Property: Healing Waters Resort & Spa
Address: 317 Hot Springs Blvd., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Healing Waters Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small-town charm & hospitality! Budget-friendly accommodations: Motel rooms, suites, mini-suites, deluxe park-model cabins and seasonal RV spaces. Amenities include: hot springs swimming pool, outdoor soaking tub & indoor hot baths (100% mineral water!). On-site, licensed massage therapists. Located in the heart of downtown Pagosa Springs, Colorado, right across from the San Juan River and at the base of the Reservoir Hill Recreation Area. Healing Waters Resort & Spa - Always a Warm Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Healing Waters Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Healing Waters Hotel Pagosa Springs
Healing Waters Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing