We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday Night Anniversary Dinner”

The Villa at Palmer Lake
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Palmer Lake
Price range: US$10 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Palmer Lake, CO. Perfect venue for all private parties, weddings, rehearsal dinners, showers, etc. This Italian Gastropub has a unique hand crafted menu moderately priced. Gluten Free and Vegetarian options available
Reviewed November 3, 2018

For our anniversary this year, neither of us made a dinner reservation (oops). We drove around our local area (Monument then Palmer Lake) to find a nice little restaurant to celebrate. The Villa was the third place we stopped at (1st place we would have needed to wait an hour, 2nd place was having a bingo night) and we were seated at a table in the front area next to the bar. Throughout our dinner, there was a steady stream of couples and small groups coming and going for dinner in the much larger table and booth area opposite the bar. There is also seating outdoors on a large porch and during warmer weather, it's probably lovely to sit there and have a view of Palmer Lake while you dine. Meals were good with large portions. When we mentioned it was our anniversary, dessert was on the house. The only reason for a 4-star instead of 5 is that service was at times a little slow.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Axelrod808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 157 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2018

We've eaten at the Villa several times, all since they have new owners in 2018, and it is hit or miss on service and food quality. The issues seem to be management related as they have changed managers in the late summer and service has not been the same. There are some excellent and innovative food choices, however, these are sometimes not served hot or with good service and it ruins the dining experience. There's potential here though so may be worth a try, just know you'll be playing Russian roulette with your out to eat time and money.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Wonderful tasting (and massive) pizza and very, very good soup was just what we needed after a cool, brisk walk around Palmer Lake. Everything was tasty - including the leftover pizza consumed during weekend football watching.
Service was spotty - slow and the bowls of soup (we ordered cups) were delivered after the pizza. It all worked out well, however, with a casual, comfortable atmosphere allowing us to laugh it off.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Z3605VNjohnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018

It's been a few years since we last ate at The Villa; it used to be a great restaurant, then became a disappointing one, and is now back to being good again, under new management. We dined on an evening packed with high school kids celebrating homecoming and had to accept seats at the bar. It turned into a great choice. We chatted with the hostess, chatted with our knowledgeable barkeep, and chatted with one of the owners. All were friendly, helpful, and attentive. We started with a calamari appetizer and were surprised to find it was more a salad than a traditional calamari appetizer, but we quickly cleaned the plate savoring every delicious bite. The Osso Buco had wonderful layers of flavor and I was offered bread to sop up the sauce; it would have been nice to have had bread offered at the beginning of the meal. My wife's chicken piccata was served over pasta and there was enough to take an ample portion home for a tasty lunch. The wine selection was satisfactory for a restaurant this size and affordable. We were disappointed that the dessert menu was very limited and a bit odd -- what Italian restaurant offers Key Lime Pie but not Tiramisu? That was almost worthy of a downgrade, but we enjoyed the evening so much that we think it deserves a solid recommendation.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScottandJanelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2018

I recently revisited The Villa after a hiatus of many years. This was the one of the best, upscale Italian restaurants in the county years ago. However, it has changed hands a number of times and is definitely a different place these days. They really seem to push pizzas ahead of their other dishes which are no longer limited to Italian. I was in a large party so saw a variety of dishes which most seemed to like. My immediate group ordered the lasagna and we all enjoyed it. Maybe it is just me but $16 for a dish of lasagna with no bread or salad seems a bit stiff. One of the others had a cajun dish which was of moderate size and spicy, but with not other sides for $22. Burgers were $14. I guess if you really wanted a salad, you order one for $5-$10. Like I said, very upscale prices but not in an upscale setting.
While I enjoyed the lasagna, it is the first time I have eaten Italian without bread. Even Fazolis provides bread sticks.
Will I return with family? probably not.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dsnyder44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Villa at Palmer Lake also viewed

Palmer Lake, El Paso County
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
 
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
 
Palmer Lake, El Paso County
Monument, El Paso County
 

Been to The Villa at Palmer Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing