We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with great service and great food”

The Moon & Mushroom Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Swilland
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Moon and Mushroom is a quaint 16th century Inn. It is believed it was used as a staging post for prisoners being deported to the Colonies from the Ipswich Assizes. This beautiful old Pub was featured by Sky News all day during the Jubilee weekend and we were chosen from all of East Anglia to light the Rural Beacon which was televised nationally and internationallyThe Moon and Mushroom has won The Best Country Village Pub for Food and Drink on 2 separate occasions.Real Ale from small East Anglia Micro Breweries is served straight from the Tap Room and our varied menu is all locally sourced and cooked here on the premises.This is a fabulous old pub with no juke box, one armed bandit or television
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

This pub is a hidden gem and is the village pub you think of in your mind.
The regulars seem very nice and we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and the allowance of dogs in the pub is nice and enhances this atmosphere.
The staff are very friendly. Mark the bar manager gives a warm welcome and Nikki the owner came over to see us and check thst all was well and i get the felling that no request would be to much trouble.
My wife and daughter had a lovely full english breakfast while i had the superb sausage sandwich.
The quality of the breakfast will mean that we shall return to enjoy a meal.
The takeaway Friday night fish and chips are the best in the area i have been told so this will be tried also.
Well done to the Moon and Mushroom for a great time.
See you all again soon.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 191 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely evening,the staff were friendly and helpful,A lovely fire in the main bar , we both had the beef suet pudding with new pots and assorted vegetables, very yummy.
Neither of us could manage a pudding but there was a good choice.
Noticed they do breakfast at the weekend s so going to try that next

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Hat2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

If you want some proper home cooked grub you need to get yourselves to the moon and mushroom. A really warm and friendly welcoming pub. They always welcome you with a smile, the fire on in winter and they always remember your order. Comes highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank tommyeustace48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner often go to the moon and mushroom. It is such a lovely little pub with a friendly welcoming atmosphere. They have just started a new breakfast menu and it comes highly recommended. If you want a nice easy going Saturday morning with a warm breakfast and a hot cuppa go down to the moon and mushroom. (You even get a warm and cosy fire in the winter - home from home)

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Found this pub off the beaten track through Trip Advisor reviews. Very good local beers straight from the barrel and what looked like a very comprehensive and interesting main course menu. We had paninis for lunch with very good chips on the side. Will probably return to sample the wider menu on another occasion.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moon & Mushroom Inn also viewed

Tuddenham St. Martin, Ipswich
 
Woodbridge, Suffolk
Grundisburgh, Woodbridge
 
Pettistree, Woodbridge
 

Been to The Moon & Mushroom Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing