We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special birthday meal”
Review of TwoCooks

TwoCooks
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Sallins
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Seasonal Modern Cuisine Our Menus at TwoCooks are seasonal and therefore change frequently. The menu evolves according to what ingredients are available and we also take inspiration from various other cuisines, cultures and our travels which are always food orientated. We source the best quality ingredients through local farmers who grow our herbs or special vegetables and top end suppliers in both Dublin Smithfield market and Rungis International Market in Paris. When we plan and design the menu a huge emphasis is placed on vegetables and textures of ingredients in most cases meat plays second fiddle. We use top quality ingredients local and organic as much as possible. Fermentation and preservation is always present on our menus as this plays a huge role in that perfect Umami or that weird and wonderful flavour one might not be familiar with but its that knowledge, skill and long hours of work which makes TwoCooks Menu special and interesting.
Restaurant details
Description: Seasonal Modern Cuisine Our Menus at TwoCooks are seasonal and therefore change frequently. The menu evolves according to what ingredients are available and we also take inspiration from various other cuisines, cultures and our travels which are always food orientated. We source the best quality ingredients through local farmers who grow our herbs or special vegetables and top end suppliers in both Dublin Smithfield market and Rungis International Market in Paris. When we plan and design the menu a huge emphasis is placed on vegetables and textures of ingredients in most cases meat plays second fiddle. We use top quality ingredients local and organic as much as possible. Fermentation and preservation is always present on our menus as this plays a huge role in that perfect Umami or that weird and wonderful flavour one might not be familiar with but its that knowledge, skill and long hours of work which makes TwoCooks Menu special and interesting.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

We were recommended the Two Cooks by Ger who owns the Canal barge we were staying on (dead opposite the restaurant) We had a wonderful meal, the staff were very pleasant. The service was very efficient despite being a busy Friday night. We shared 2 starters followed by a range of mains so that we could try everything. It was all delicious, beautifully cooked and presented.
They surprised me with a birthday plate of tasty morsels and a candle, which was a lovely touch and had not been arranged beforehand.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 212 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

I'm back again...I haven't changed my mind this restaurant deserves a mitchlin star. The food is exquisite, the staff are warm and friendly. And the ambiance is buzzing

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2018

This was recommended by our Concierge at the K Club. Such a wonderful place for fresh food. We met the 2 cooks...enjoyed our time dining with them. Small establishment so reservations necessary.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Roxyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola C, Owner at TwoCooks, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write the review we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us.
Warm regards
Nicola & Josef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

This place lived up to its excellent reviews and recommendations. It is beautifully laid out with great service in a lovely busy ambience. The food is exquisite and I would have no heditation in recommending it. I look forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Overlykeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Our latest visit to Two Cooks was yet another wonderful experience…… More flawless courses and complex, yet clean flavours. A pre-meal appetizer arrived – artichoke panacotta with cod brandade mousse – unusual ingredients for sure, but experience has shown us that regardless of whether you will be routinely familiar with all the constituents on the plate or not, the cooking skill will have extracted a depth of flavour and a taste combination such that you will eagerly dive in and savour the result. The house-made sourdough bread is wonderful and packs two taste sensations in one – fluffy and soft on the inside, with a crunchy caramelized crust on the outside, which imparts a deep, satisfying flavour all of its own. Starters are inventive and creative and the soup is always a special experience both in the manner in which it is served and the inventive accompaniments that sit in the middle of the bowl – I regularly end up with soup envy looking across at my partner! We tend to lean towards meat-based mains and can honestly say the quality, taste and tenderness of the dishes is second to none. Clever accompaniments within the dishes themselves build a rich experience across the taste spectrum. Our most recent “dessert” was a sherry and port sampler (sherry, tawny and ruby ports), each one paired with something different – a hard cheese, a soft blue cheese and a chocolate mousse - very enjoyable. Service throughout is always attentive but not over powering, with the right amount of expert advice available at every turn for food and wine selection…… Friendly and engaging staff who stop for a moment to chat while also being efficient. The atmosphere on our latest visit was lively – a busy night in the restaurant, but a feeling of privacy at our table.
There are only good things to share about Two Cooks. In all of our visits, every single course we have had, has been perfect. It is wonderful to see a thriving local business, offering a dining experience that you would otherwise have to travel a distance for - it is clear to see the passion that is brought to everything they do – it comes straight through in the food!! We are big fans – see you all again soon!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rks3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TwoCooks also viewed

Sallins, County Kildare
Kildare, County Kildare
 
Naas, County Kildare
Naas, County Kildare
 

Been to TwoCooks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing