We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Goat Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Browns Canyon Inn(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$169
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Ridge Lodge(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Motel(Salida)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Lodge(Salida)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
281
53
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
281
53
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoatcheese making classyogurtthe barnbreakfast each morningfun to watchhot tubother guestsespresso drinksthe ownerlove animalsa hootfenced areawonderful hostsfresh eggsviews of the mountainscinnamon rolls
Filter
Updating list...
309 - 314 of 346 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Dear Gina,
Kathleen & I want to thank you for again providing a wonderful experience for us during our stay in Salida last week. This is the second time we have stayed at Mountain Goat Lodge and the quality of your accommodations and the food and refreshments were just superb on each of our visits. Adding to our enjoyment were your personal graciousness and that of your able assistant Antoinette. We look forward to again taking advantage of your hospitality in the months to come.
Fondest Regards, Jack M. Jackson

Room Tip: All nicely appointed. We prefer suite on north side of facility
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjac9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2011

everything the name conjures up; beautiful view of the mountains, cavorting goats in the field and a combination of lodge feel with varnished log staircase, soaring fireplace, plush leather sofas and antiques furniture including a grand piano. The breakfasts were hardy, creative and delicious. The timing couldn't have been better with the late Sept. change - the aspen were turning and the chamisa blanketed the Salida valley with a blaze of yellow. We'll look forward to returning to the "Goat" soon.

Room Tip: we had the Mt. Shavano room which had a glorious view of the same.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Takes dogs! View 4 14ers from the back deck and our room. Wonderful inventive breakfasts. Gina strives to make your stay a pleasure. We have traveled extensively in the US and 14 European nations. Most of our B&B stops were in Europe and most were great fun, just like MGL. It is a bit close to the road so there is some road noise in the front rooms, but that also makes getting out in the winter easier. They have friendly dogs, goats, chickens, and a lama. This is not a pretentious Southern Mansion, but like being a guest in someone’s home. And so many adventures in this Area.

Room Tip: Back rooms should be quieter. We stayed in the suite on the 1st floor. There is some road noise but not bad with the front window closed and the back window open.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We enjoyed our stay August 25 & 26. The Mt. Princeton room has the most spectacular view of the mountains. We loved sitting out on the small deck. Captured not only some wonderful pictures but some wonderful memories as well.

We had the romantic package which included chocolates, champagne, flowers and chocolate covered strawberries. All was wonderful.

Breakfast each morning was fabulous.

Gina, the place is beautiful and you are a wonderful hostess. Thank you for an enjoyable stay and we look forward to this again very soon.

Room Tip: The drive to the town of Salida is only a 10 minute drive at most. Gina has some wonderful suggestions for shopping and dining. We also stumbled upon Quincy's (steakhouse) that has the best filet mignon we ever had and for $9.95, what a deal.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zoe67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband & I enjoyed a very comfortable, relaxing weekend with Gina and her goats, dogs, chickens & guests over Labor Day. The lodge lived up to all expectations, all 3 breakfasts were fabulous, cheese making class was great & the hot tub a perfect 104 w/a nice little breeze to enjoy the evening sunset (and the view of the mtns is fabulous). Salida was so much fun to experience again and the Royal Gorge RR offers a nice ride - lots to do in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in 1 of 2 suites and really enjoyed the extra living space. Other rms were quite spacious.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews