We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed and a shower in a great location.”
Review of Simple Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simple Lodge
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This lodge was great for how I like to travel. My husband and I stayed one night and I found the place clean and comfortable and best of all, close to the river.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2011

Simple Lodge is a hostel by definition of the bunk room, but has more of a B&B vibe. Centrally located in Salida, close to Collegiate Peaks and half way between Denver and Telluride. We stayed upstairs in one of the two private rooms - simply equipt but had everything we needed and was a peaceful place to sleep. Backyard was a great hangout with a firepit and bench and there were even free bikes for use when available. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chamborres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed for one night at Simple Lodge and Hostel and loved our accommodations. The owners, John and Julia, are really wonderful people. As soon as we arrived, they welcomed us into the dinner-preparation routine, which we declined, so they suggested some local places (Amica's being one of them, where we went and it was fabulous - a great recommendation). If you're looking for hostel anonymity, this is not your place. These are seriously friendly people. There was a group breakfast in the morning, and the other guests offered us to join them. The owners were really helpful in giving us driving directions as well.

It is very clean. We stayed in the private family room, and had to walk through the bunk room to get to our room, which we didn't mind at all. The bathroom and showers were very clean as well. The only problem was with the mattress - the mattresses rest on slats, and thus they sag every foot or so. If they put plywood under the mattresses to approximate a box spring, it would be great! We look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

This place makes me feel like home. The host would provide information on everything you are interested in doing. The location is convenient to all Salida has to offer, A short drive to the Monarch Crest gets you to the Continental Divide Trail and the Colorado Trail. Arkansas River can be heard fro m1 small block away, where the city park is. 4th of July Air Force Music Band provide the top notch entertainment in town. You can't get all this with $25 a night, anywhere east or west of the Continental Divide.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I didn't mind having to walk through the bunkhouse with sleeping guests to get to the bathroom at night. I didn't mind the communal bathroom, because both showers had a curtained changing area so it was reasonably private, and in the morning when I showered no one was there anyway. We enjoyed meeting the guys staying there between their mountain hikes. The only huge negative was the high polyester content of the "sheets," and the fact that the fitted sheet came off during the night, so I ended up sleeping on the plastic covered mattress, and the bare mattress where the plastic cover had ripped.

Room Tip: This is a great value for singles. For a couple, we spent nearly as much as an economy hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank dfranklin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Loved it! Felt like one night wasn't enough--terrific in-town location, adorable funky decor and very friendly hostess. We had the private suite but would definitely recommend the bunks and family rooms...communal kitchen/dining area very neat, clean and accessible, as are the communal bathrooms/showers. We loved walking around downtown, which is only a block away, and hope to return during festivals in the town park, which is just around the corner, or for skiing at Monarch. We'd never rented a room in Salida before and are very happy to have made this 'find'--esp. for the price!

Room Tip: Private suite has own bath and private kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2cdjd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Slept better in a coed dorm room at the hostel (with earplugs) than in a king corner hotel room in Denver the night in between. Advise from John on where to eat (The Fritz), which trail to climb Mt Elbert (made it to the summit) this time of year were truly helpful. Kimberly's suggestion of a shorter hike another day, Rainbow Trail, was also right on the money. Being a block from the river and riverside events made it possible to walk everywhere. This was so much better than a motel on the main drag into Salida that a friend found a few years ago (where owners asked us not to use the shower but didn't want to lower their price from $90). Speaking of showers, Phyllis in the double suite, said I could use her shower when others were occupied. That looked like one nice room and kitchen for $80. Way nicer than the hwy hotel room. Posters around town led me past a good concert in the bandshell by the river to a film and talk about the Cristo and Jeanne-Claude Gates and a proposed river covering by them for the Arkansas River that goes through town. Oh, and for $5 more you can bring your well-behaved dog. That was the reason my friend picked the other motel. Big mistake.

Room Tip: Go for double suite with shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mothnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
2.4 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.3 km away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
1.6 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
205 reviews
2.2 km away
Super 8 Salida
Super 8 Salida
#3 of 16 in Salida
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simple Lodge

Address: 224 E 1st St, Salida, CO 81201-2113
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Salida
Price Range: $29 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only lodging located in historic downtown Salida. Walk to everything or use a bike for free. We have bunk beds, private queen rooms, and a private suite with kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing