We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place is CLOSED”
Review of Cliffhangers - CLOSED

Cliffhangers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Do not plan on stopping by, this place has been closed since March 2013. The hotel and associated restaurant (Cliffhangers) is closed and up for sale. We skied at Monarch in January 2014 and were looking to stop in, but their was a large "For Sale" sign across the main billboard out front and the snow was up over the windows. A little research indicates in closed in March 2013. Someone needs to update the web-site since it still indicates they are available for weddings, gatherings, and vacations -- only catch is the reservation portion of the web-site only provide 2012 - 2013 rates and indicates the 800 number may not be working (none of the numbers work).

The Shinning remake could be filmed here...

Thank DJZEngineering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Happy Hour was from 5-7 so my family and I decided to order dinner in the bar. Bartender could not find the Fat Tire Beer in the cooler, Jack and Cokes were made with flat soda, appetizers of fried pickles and jalepeno caps were fried in very old grease...you know it is old when the food soaks up the grease and there are residual brown chunks of other fried food stuck to your order. And then came dinner, an hour and a half after we ordered it. Two people in our party ordered hamburgers, which when cut in half, blood ran freely from the meat, which was cold on the inside. I ordered shrimp kabobs, which came to the table, cold and without a grill mark in sight and with the shells still on the shrimp. Another one of our party ordered steak kabobs, ice cold and raw as could be. And yet another member of our party never did receive their meal of chicken and pasta alfredo. The bartender kept telling us that he had just gotten here yesterday and he had no idea why things were this bad. He finally stated that the 'chef' had not shown up, so it is anyones guess as to who was actually doing the cooking. Another couple sitting at the bar, which by the way was dimly lit..not for ambiance, but because bulbs were burned out, got up and walked out after ordering food that was similar to ours, and which the bartender told them had been prepared by a chef that studied at the Cordon Bleu. I suggested that they might want to lease the restaurant to professionals, and Mr. Bartender said they tried that and it didn't work out. Well let me tell you buddy, this ain't working either.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Calamityjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a great dinner last night at Cliffhangers. Staying at the hotel, yes it is older, but clean, with an attentive and friendly staff. Dinner was great! So many hotels do "food out of a box" Our meals were all hand crafted, using some local ingredients (grilled zucchini and omg the BEST peach pie!) We had a delicious margharita before dinner and the whole experience lovely. Will definately be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bouldermichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Only place in this area with rocky moutain oysters great food good fun. A must try

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tbucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Cliffhangers has awesome food the service is fantastic and and you wouldnt believe the view!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kissarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing