We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
5
21
17
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
21
17
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dried cereal room was clean continental breakfast coffee maker hard boiled eggs towels highway
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 61 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

The place was clean and it was nice a quiet, the beds ok, the towels were not very good, rough they could do a lot better. They did have a free breakfast, boiled eggs, pastries and dried cereal, we chose to go find breakfast but at least it was offered. The rooms also offered a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom was also nice and clean but again they can do a lot better on the towels

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank michaelrV9900AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights.(Room 29) The room was clean. The staff was friendly. The pool was also great. Super location too! The only complaint would be the towels, small and kind of hard. But overall a great stay! Beds were comfortable too!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank juliea2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Nice room! Not a cheap bed like some hotels. Quiet pool area with a sauna. The pool water was warm and not frigid. What a treat for my husband and I. A pool we can relax in while our son swims! Hot tub with hot water and fast jets. This was truly a treat not only for us but our son as well!! Highly recommend!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank sarahjeangypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018

We picked this hotel because it was the only one that had a room available. We stayed two nights. The first night we had a suite (one king and one queen bed) even though we didn't need two beds, but we needed a place to stay and did not make a reservation (we always fly by the seat of our pants). It was pricey, but wouldn't have been had there been another couple to share the cost. The second night we got a smaller room for about 2/3 the cost of what we paid the first night and the room was MUCH smaller. Both rooms were clean. We checked out the breakfast on the second day and it was only dry cereal and a few pastries. We opted to drive down the road for breakfast. Even though we didn't use the pool or hot tub areas, both looked to be clean. The staff was nice and helpful and gave pointers on a local restaurants. A good tip to remember is if you're going to Salida in the summer months it's best to have a reservation because people flock to this region to whitewater raft. Also, keep your eyes open for the "town deer". They come out in the evening.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank philip g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2018

The toilet was absolutely filthy, nasty. YUK!!! Speaks for itself. Felt embarrassed to call the desk about that, having to describe it and deal with someone coming in to clean it. Almost gagged. Staff was rude, claimed we snuck a dog into our room, said we were caught on camera. Guess our dog walks look suspicious. They charged us $100 for the dog, said it was for dog hair, because we "snuck" the dog into a non-Pet room. Website claims they are dog friendly, has a whole page about how amazing they are. Watch your credit card, they seem to think its ok to charge arbitrary amounts following your stay, for whatever they want. Staff is rude and scarcely responsive.

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions, and beware of booking through third party. Not pet friendly, beware.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eldge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great_Western_Lodge, Front Office Manager at Great Western Colorado Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Hello, this is Great Western Colorado Lodge. You gave us a good rating for us on booking.com website, but you gave us a bad rating here. So, we assume that this review is just based on your emotions just because we told you that we cannot give you a refund. The following response is the response that you have already seen on the booking.com website. It is your choice to put reviews on every website, but we will also reply to every review that you will write on every website. Also, you made our management look very suspicious in your review, but you requested us to look a camera to check whether you brought a dog into the "NO-PET' room or not. We do not want any other guest to misunderstand our action when you requested us to look our camera, so we are including this detail, too.

<Same response from the booking.com website>
I am the actual front desk who checked you in. You reserved a room through booking.com website and we only have no-pet and non-smoking rooms on any booking.com related website. If you check the website you used one more time, it will clearly say that you reserved a no-pet and non-smoking room. Also, I asked you two times whether you have any pet and you said that you do not have any pet with you when you check in. You even signed the registration form stating that you have no pet and you will not smoke in the room. We still have that form that you signed. We have a strict policy for pets so that guests with any allergy can still have a comfortable stay with us. As we read your review, you agreed that you have your dog in the "NO-PET" room. Also, our housekeepers saw that there were some wet spots on our new carpet and there were pet hair all over the sheet, blanket, and carpet. To prevent any allergy issue, we needed to deep-clean your room including the carpet. Your room is still in the process of cleaning although you checked out yesterday. We are not able to sell your room for two days. When we are saying "NO-PET" and you are signing "NO-PET", that indicates a dog should never go into the room. It does not matter whether you were with your dog entire time in the room or whether your dog went to the bathroom. If you need to stay in a hotel room with a dog for your next travel, you can always find a hotel that is pet-friendly, instead of reserving a no-pet room. We will not refund any of $100.00 pet charge. If we get any unexpected issue due to a pet going into the room, we will claim about this issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews