We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average Days Inn”
Review of Browns Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Browns Canyon Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not your average Days Inn”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Lots more charm than your average chain hotel! Friendly staff, great price, clean room with a very comfortable bed. The only downside was the breakfast... It was really terrible. Just packaged sweets, white bread toast, and a few other highly processed items. They may have had waffles that are popular these days but we arrived around 9am and there were none. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay if you are passing through.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    101
    43
    16
    14
See reviews for
123
111
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I did not anticipate staying in Salida, although it is a nice town. I got there at 10 PM after a day of packing and moving, and decided it was best to just call it a day (or night) in Salida. Pulled in at the Days Inn, expecting the same, generic chain hotel as always and found a very cute, creatively decorated place. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice, although he said he was just filling in for the owners ... he did a great job.

The hotel is decorated with "beetle kill" pine, which are the trees that the pine beetles have killed over the years. It is good to see the wood being put to such good use. The colors are soothing, there are cute little stencils around and I just thought it was creative and different. (Check out the photos on the site).

The room I had was clean and I was very surprised to see REAL coffee cups and not styrofoam! Breakfast was good. I was pleased to see REAL oatmeal and not the sugar filled, over processed instant. I am sure some people wouldnt like that because it takes a bit to fix, but I do it every morning, so it was not an issue for me. The rest of the breakfast fare was you typical pastries and cereal, boiled eggs, juice and coffee.

I would stay there again if the need presented its self.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpiesMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Our recent stay was very enjoyable. Hot tub was relaxing after a hard day of skiing. The heat lite in the granite bathroom was a nice touch. Breakfast of waffles cooked for us and organic hard boiled eggs were great. Don’t pass this hotel up because it does not have pool. The Salida Recreation Hot Springs pool is a better than any hotel pool. Enjoyed our stay here with our three grandsons. Staff made us feel like family/guests not just another traveler. Very clean and well cared for Days Inn. The Décor is very Colorado.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoGrandMother9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
312 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The staff was very friendly. They took the time to offer travel advice and shared suggestions for us to visit in the area. The rooms were clean, but showed some age. The owners take great care of the hotel, but don't go in expecting a 5 star hotel.

Pros: Best price in the area, Clean rooms, great staff.
Cons: Rooms show age, breakfast was skimpy, few amenities (didn't even get soap for the shower), thin walls.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panhandle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The hotel was built some time ago but the owners have put alot into upgrading the interior. We had a very large flat screen TV, granite counters, good fixtures in the bath. The woodsey decor did not go unnoticed. If you want a quiet, simple place to stay since you are going to be skiing all day anyway, this is your place. You will need to go elsewhere to find protein for breakfast. Hard boiled eggs may not cut it. The couple running the place were very accommodating with advice, extras and just being around. They built a fire outside on our last night and our group had s;mores. It is a ski hotel and ski groups come here and they congregate to chat about the day. The canaries in the lobby were as sweet as they could be.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor. no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookesmom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We've stayed here twice in the last 3 years. I chose this hotel because of how high it was on Trip Advisor compared to the other Salida hotels. It wasn't a bad experience, but certainly doesn't deserve to be in the top of the hotels available in Salida. I only know this now b/c recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express down the street and it was a much better experience all the way around yet it's rated lower than this place. My only guess is that people have a soft spot for the owners. As for me, I want to rate a hotel on ALL it has to offer. If I compared everything, this hotel should not be as highly rated as it is. Here's why... Cold continental breakfast. Small eating area. Bedding consists of those old looking covers. No indoor heated pool. This place just needs updating. One upside is that this place will save you a few dollars. It's cheaper than the HIE. If you are ok with paying a little more, please check out my HIE review.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esanjays96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The owners were very sweet and hospitable. They were genuinely interested in us and made us feel at home. The hotel itself was very cozy and even finished with real wood by the owner's own hands!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nateo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.3 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.4 km away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
1.0 km away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Canyon Inn

Property: Browns Canyon Inn
Address: 407 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-2703 (Formerly Days Inn Salida)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Browns Canyon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Canyon Inn is an independent hotel with beautiful unique rustic feel. Right in the center of beautiful Salida, CO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Browns Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salida Hotel Salida
Salida Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing