We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
206
140
42
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
140
42
23
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachacross the streetboogie boardstwo lane roadno elevatorsmall hotelocean sideroom was cleanbusy roadwaffle makernew carpetyogurtst augustinesmall poolfree breakfastfirst floorwould stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 431 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2017

The Ocean Sands Beach Inn in just North of St Augustine. The hotel has had its best days long ago, but is adequately painted. The motel is managed as a cash-cow, the lady-staff is unfriendly.

At the motel’s doorstep you have US-1A1 road with busy local and tourist traffic. The rooms at the frontside enjoy high levels of traffic noise. Across the road you find Atlantic Vilano beach.

Our room had air-conditioning, reasonable bed, table & chairs, TV on the wall, and small terrace with two chairs and view of the pool & parking. In the room a tiny corner-kitchen with, fridge, coffee & facility and microwave. A bathroom with washbasin and separate bathroom with toilet & shower over the bath.

The room had a notorious smell of mould and mildew. All while we stayed we had to get fresh air by opening the terrace door.

Free Wi-Fi Internet & parking and free use of beach chairs & parasols. A complimentary modest breakfast is served in one of a previous room.

We found the modest hotel inadequate because of the mould smell. With the busy road and the outdated furniture the motel has an a low price-quality-ratio.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay and we were happy with our room. Was on the Oceanside and I worried about the road noise, but slept well, never noticed the rad noise. We loved walking the beach, watched the super moon. The room has new flooring no carpet was very nice, clean and cozy. The best part of our stay is the morning breakfast, making waffles that are very tasty, they have good coffee too. The staff are always pleasant and helpful. We wanted an evening tea to warmup and they were very accommodating. Will be back again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2017

Can't say enough about this place. Checking in feels like coming home. Everyone is friendly, and the rooms are great. The beach is still recovering from Matthew, but it was still wonderful to sit and watch the sun come up in the morning!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017

The check in was fast & friendly, the room was clean. We were facing road and could hear traffic noise but it did die down around 9pm and started to here it around 8am. The beach is across the street. The breakfast had fruit, breads, waffle maker , cereal and yogurt . coffee & water 24/7 by lobby. small pool . They have beach chairs and stuff for you take across to beach which i thought was a nice touch!

Room Tip: ask to be pool side , if you like to to go to bed early.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kamkam18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2017

I liked this location a lot! The room I had was charming (2nd floor, facing the beach), with nice colors and new carpet (some rooms had laminate flooring)...I could watch the sunrise with coffee from my keurig each morning and that was awesome. I also appreciated the citrusy soaps - really nice, clean fragrance that seemed just right for a beach establishment. The beds were comfortable too - not too hard, not too soft. There was a luggage rack, which I always appreciate and the hotel has umbrellas, beach chairs, and boogie boards to borrow...And its own bridge (on the other side of the road) to get over the dunes to the beach. There are orange flags you can use to help be more noticeable as you cross, because some do travel pretty fast on that road. The small pool behind the lodging was clean and well maintained. Really nice staff.

Cons: The door to the bathroom in my room was awkwardly placed, and the noise from the cars zooming by made sitting on the balcony not so pleasant...Breakfast in the morning is in a very tight room...but there is fruit, yogurt, a waffle maker etc.

Overall, for what I wanted - easy access to a quiet beach for a reasonable price, this was a great choice!

Room Tip: Sunrise, 2nd floor, ocean facing...if you want more quiet, and a great sunset over the preserve, 2nd floor back...(no elevator, fyi).
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Babzkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews