We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveller rating
187
104
17
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
104
17
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneon lightsgreat retroold floridaretro feelmurals on the wallspink flamingossmall kitchenetteking bedstove topmom and popfun place to stayhard boiled eggscontinental breakfastpublix grocery storeocean viewceiling fanwalking distance to the beach
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 327 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

This is a quirky, little, “throw-back” motel!!! I found this motel via Trip Advisor. It had great reviews, so we went for it.
The motel is well kept. The rooms are smallish, but I expected that since it’s an older motel. We had a king bed room. It had a small bathroom with pinkish tiles. Our room also had a small kitchenette. Our bed was very comfortable, not worn feeling. I’d suggest updating the bedding by getting rid of the bedspreads and adding duvets.
The motel is right by the beach and in walking distance of a few restaurants.
The breakfast was okay.....muffins, bagels, cereal, fruit. My husband likes a bigger breakfast, so we went out.
I’d definitely recommend this place and I look forward to going back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kbmcg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to keep the motel as original as possible while having modern conveniences. Appreciate your recommendation for duvets. They do add charm to a room. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2017

We took our 3 grandchildren to the beach at the last minute and this was available and met or needs. We stayed in a 2 bedroom which gave us plenty of room. There was only one bathroom and it was small with only a shower. It was dated but met our needs. It also had a mini kitchenette (mini fridge, microwave and 2 burner stove). Very close to the beach and showers. Nice continental breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaet2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2017

We make every effort to maintain the Magic Beach as original as possible while at the same time providing comfort with modern conveniences. So glad you enjoyed or breakfast and thank you for the comment on the staff. I will surely pass it on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

This is a true FL Beach motel. The room is super small but fit our needs for a weekend at the beach. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. No bugs. Free continental breakfast was good. One minute walk to beach. 5 minute walk to Beaches Restaurant & Bar. $7.15 Uber ride to downtown historic St Augustine. Loved the retro look of the motel. Definitely recommend this motel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JJJanJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

It is one of the few retro motels still in operation. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. We are at a good location outside the hustle of the city yet so close that you can actually walk there! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

We’ve stayed at Magic Beach twice and I am not a huge fan of all the neon lighting and tackiness, but this hotel is absolutely fantastic. The hotel was the set of a show back in the day. The rooms are basic but have everything you need. The staff is top notch and their breakfast that is included in your stay is great! There’s a nice variety and someone’s always walking in to make sure everyone is pleased with what’s being served. The pool is great. It’s heated and never gets crowded. I also love that it’s just a hop, skip, and jump from Villano Beach! We love Saint Augustine and Magic Beach will definitely be a part of our visit every year.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2017

Courtney, So glad to hear you really enjoy our hospitality. We get a number of positive comments on the breakfast we offer. Not your typical continental breakfast. The heated pool is nice with this slightly cooler temps. We are fortunate to have such a beautiful beach on our doorsteps! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

Clean, modest and in a great location. Reasonably priced for a 2nd floor, king bed efficiency with partial view of ocean that is wonderful. The people who own the hotel are warm and friendly and the continenti breakfast was better than average. Warm biscuits and homemade gravy were delicious. Old world feel and pink neon lights added to an ambiance that rarely exists in current travel.

Note: feral cat colony nearby. Purr!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200s are great
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. We receive many compliments for our breakfast spread. Not your typical continental breakfast. I will pass your compliments to the staff and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews