We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro Love”
Review of Magic Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magic Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2018

We have been coming to St. Aug for 10 years now and I have been begging my husband to stay here. While I knew that I would love this hotel, (I am all about flamingos, retro, and kinda have an obsession with neon lights) I am so pleased to report that my husband was also not disappointed!
The room was just as advertised, the breakfast was great and the pool was perfect. BONUS was the feral cat colony, which I enjoyed feeding and even petting one of the older fellas while we were there. :) Also to be noted, the owner was always around and breakfast and we enjoyed chatting with him.
In addition to the short drive into St. Aug (literally, right across the Vilano Beach Causeway) Magic Beach is not only within walking distance of the beach, but a grocery store, the sound side pier and even a few places to eat. For the money, you really aren't going to get a better deal anywhere!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Michelle, So glad you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have restored one of the few motor lodges remaining. Thank you for the nicely detailed review and hoping you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

This is a quirky, little, “throw-back” motel!!! I found this motel via Trip Advisor. It had great reviews, so we went for it.
The motel is well kept. The rooms are smallish, but I expected that since it’s an older motel. We had a king bed room. It had a small bathroom with pinkish tiles. Our room also had a small kitchenette. Our bed was very comfortable, not worn feeling. I’d suggest updating the bedding by getting rid of the bedspreads and adding duvets.
The motel is right by the beach and in walking distance of a few restaurants.
The breakfast was okay.....muffins, bagels, cereal, fruit. My husband likes a bigger breakfast, so we went out.
I’d definitely recommend this place and I look forward to going back.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kbmcg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to keep the motel as original as possible while having modern conveniences. Appreciate your recommendation for duvets. They do add charm to a room. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We took our 3 grandchildren to the beach at the last minute and this was available and met or needs. We stayed in a 2 bedroom which gave us plenty of room. There was only one bathroom and it was small with only a shower. It was dated but met our needs. It also had a mini kitchenette (mini fridge, microwave and 2 burner stove). Very close to the beach and showers. Nice continental breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kaet2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

We make every effort to maintain the Magic Beach as original as possible while at the same time providing comfort with modern conveniences. So glad you enjoyed or breakfast and thank you for the comment on the staff. I will surely pass it on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

This is a true FL Beach motel. The room is super small but fit our needs for a weekend at the beach. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. No bugs. Free continental breakfast was good. One minute walk to beach. 5 minute walk to Beaches Restaurant & Bar. $7.15 Uber ride to downtown historic St Augustine. Loved the retro look of the motel. Definitely recommend this motel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JJJanJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

It is one of the few retro motels still in operation. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast. We are at a good location outside the hustle of the city yet so close that you can actually walk there! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

We’ve stayed at Magic Beach twice and I am not a huge fan of all the neon lighting and tackiness, but this hotel is absolutely fantastic. The hotel was the set of a show back in the day. The rooms are basic but have everything you need. The staff is top notch and their breakfast that is included in your stay is great! There’s a nice variety and someone’s always walking in to make sure everyone is pleased with what’s being served. The pool is great. It’s heated and never gets crowded. I also love that it’s just a hop, skip, and jump from Villano Beach! We love Saint Augustine and Magic Beach will definitely be a part of our visit every year.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Courtney, So glad to hear you really enjoy our hospitality. We get a number of positive comments on the breakfast we offer. Not your typical continental breakfast. The heated pool is nice with this slightly cooler temps. We are fortunate to have such a beautiful beach on our doorsteps! See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Clean, modest and in a great location. Reasonably priced for a 2nd floor, king bed efficiency with partial view of ocean that is wonderful. The people who own the hotel are warm and friendly and the continenti breakfast was better than average. Warm biscuits and homemade gravy were delicious. Old world feel and pink neon lights added to an ambiance that rarely exists in current travel.

Note: feral cat colony nearby. Purr!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 200s are great
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We receive many compliments for our breakfast spread. Not your typical continental breakfast. I will pass your compliments to the staff and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We had a good time in this Mid Century Modern hotel. It’s updated but retains the 1950s charm. Steps to the beach, shopping and restaurants. A short ride over the bridge and you are in St.Augustine. The breakfast is simple. Coffee, muffins, cereal, yogurts and some hot items. There is plenty to choose from.
We will come back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikonmaster2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We make every attempt to maintain the Magic Beach as original as possible. It is one of a few retro motels still in operation. Looking forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
8.8 km away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
916 reviews
3.2 km away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
TRYP by Wyndham Sebastian St Augustine
9.3 km away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,139 reviews
3.1 km away
Jaybird's Inn
Jaybird's Inn
#17 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Beach Motel

Address: 50 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: C$145 - C$248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a retro experience like no other, with all the modern conveniences.Each cozy room has been completely renovated and updated. Here in beautiful Vilano Beach, we think EVERY DAY should feel like a Vacation. Just a few short steps from the Atlantic Ocean, there is plenty to do, or nothing to do. Located just five minutes from St Augustine historic downtown, Vilano Beach is known for beautiful family friendly beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Magic Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing