We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a 1 star?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Silverthorne
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Silverthorne
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is very run down. Although our room was clean but we felt like it was dirty due to the poor conditions of the room. The curtains had holes in them. I ended up in a smoking room for some reason and could not get a non-smoking as they were filled up. It smelled so bad my kids were even asking for aspirin as we all had headaches. The carpet was worn bad and the beds sagged in the middle. Although they did seem comfortable once we settled in. Yes as mentioned in other posts the walls are paper thin and you hear everything so we did not sleep well. The people above us must've have been very large as we were all waken at 12:30 a.m. with the room shaking as their foot steps sounded like those of a giant which were non stop for an hour only to be woken again at 6:30am with the same non stop pouncing. It sounded almost as if they were throwing their luggage from one side of the room to the other. The finish is weathered off all the cabinets, the bathrooms did look clean. No deadlock on the door. Hot Tub was lukewarm and looked cloudy/dirty. All in all just very very run down property and smells. I've stayed in motels nicer. I think its best to skip the Silverthorne exit and continue to Frisco (5 min drive) where for the same $$ the Holiday Inn is updated and nicer. We definitely will next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cieralisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Silverthorne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

"It's not my fault you booked the room from a third party site. If you read the fine print you'll see that we don't guarantee customers' requests unless they're booked directly with us" declared the defensive clerk who clearly had grown weary of making excuses for her dilapidated place of business.

Well that's not cool, but is there anything you can do about the steady stream of water pouring from the room ceiling onto the toilet?

"I don't know what tell you," continued the helpless attendant, "there are no other rooms to give you."

"Could we at least get maintenance to staunch the flow of water?"

"No, there won't be anybody else here until tomorrow."

And with that, and a shrug of the her shoulders, the exchange was terminated.

"Take it or leave it," she tacitly suggested with overt indifference.

You can make excuses that this is a budget hotel, but for $150 a night you should not have to sleep in an ashtray. Indeed, this is the worst smelling room I've ever endured. You should not have to carry an umbrella into the bathroom, and at the very least, you should expect that the staff would care, even a little bit, if not about the guests' happiness, then at least about the structural integrity of the building.

There were some positives. The bedding appeared freshly washed, and they've got a relatively generous pet policy. The location was good. There's free continental breakfast as long as you get there early, but keep your expectations very low, and expect the staff to grumble when you ask if they could make more coffee.

The negatives are countless, so instead of enumerating, let me summarize succinctly:

Stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Truthfully, if traveling alone, I'd sleep in my car on the side of the road before spending anot...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonnylongshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We asked for a Non-smoking room and it smelled so bad that we decided to pay more and move to a suite. The suite smelled better, but only had one queen bed when we needed two and the kitchenette was dirty beyond belief. The fridge was not clean and smelled like mold. We did not sleep at all. Young people ran up and down the hallways all night long and our neighbors had their TV volume up all night long. Just a horrible experience...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainskier5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The property in undergoing renovation. The exterior is done and has more of a mountain feel to it than before. The lobby is done, too and is quite pleasant. The rooms are more than adequate: clean and well equipped. All have coffee makers and some have fridges and microwaves. This isn't ultra luxury, but you're not paying a luxury price either. The place is quite adequate for a pleasant stay in ski country.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I read some of the reviews, but still decided to give this hotel a try for a couple of nights during a ski trip. My reservation somehow was changed to a smoking room and the only room available was a kitchenette, which was more expensive of course. The room still smelled like smoke and had an ashtray in it. The appliances were at least 20 years old and the walls had drywall peeling off. Even for a "place to put your head" for the night, this place is a nightmare and a dump. I'm local to the Denver area and this is the worst hotel in the Silverthorne/Frisco area- I've stayed at most of them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ubermenschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Great location! But... this hotel has been around a while, and needs a remodel job VERY BADLY. It has potential - the rooms all have a mini "kitchenette" area, with long cabinet, kitchen sink, fridge and microwave, so that was really nice. But everything is old, worn and very dated. It all needs to be gutted out, with new carpet, paint, furnishings, etc. It was fairly clean, and didn't smell bad... it's just so old and worn out! Breakfast looked so pitiful that we just went to Village Inn right down the street. The other real turn-off is the people who were working the front desk - they were friendly, but looked pretty rough, piercings and tatoos and slouchy - not very professional.

For a hotel that costs $119 per night, I expect something MUCH better than this. For quality of accomodations, this was more like a $30/night hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with fridge and microwave - not sure if they all have it, but that helps to offset SO...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designedtosoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-6752, Manager at Days Inn Silverthorne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Guest,
I am truly sorry that you did experience issues during your stay here. We do update the hotel some every year according to budget. We do know we still have some updating to do, therefore our lower prices compared to other hotels in the area. I am sorry but I do not have any employees working here with tattoos and piercings and haven't had any in the last 3 years which makes me unclear on who you were commenting on. If you did have any issues on this person please let us know ASAP so we can resolve it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Although the hotel was reasonably priced for the area, the rooms were filthy. I'm glad we only needed it as a crash pad for 1 night because the shower was so gross and moldy we didnt even shower. The beds were aweful and the room smelled.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-6752, Manager at Days Inn Silverthorne, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2013

Dear Guest,
I am so sorry that you had a bad experience during your stay here. As we are one of the best priced hotels in the area, there should be no reason why your room was filthy. We do update some of the hotel every year. We continue to do so and I will personally make sure that we are getting our rooms checked every day to make sure they are clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverthorne
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Silverthorne - Summit Co
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Silverthorne
240 reviews
1.3 km away
Silver Inn
Silver Inn
#2 of 13 in Silverthorne
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
1.4 km away
Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
5.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lake Dillon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Silverthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Silverthorne

Address: 580 Silverthorne Lane, Silverthorne, CO 80498-1459 (Formerly Days Inn Summit County)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverthorne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Silverthorne
Price Range: $105 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Silverthorne 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Silverthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Summit County Hotel Silverthorne
Summit Silverthorne
Silverthorne Summit
Silverthorne Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing