We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
141
22
3
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
22
3
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub cookies french toast place to stay made us feel at home great hosts cowboy poetry dietary needs answered all our questions gorgeous antiques great sleep honeymoon suite pre breakfast fluffy robes wonderful stay delicious breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 174 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in May. Albert and Betty are the best host. The day started off with hot coffee and the best blueberry muffins each morning. Breakfast was served from 7-9. It was aesthetically beautiful and out of this world delicious. Sitting in the hot tub gazing at the Rockies with some of Albert's hot chocolate sealed the deal. I will never stay anywhere else in that area.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank hogfan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We spent 4 nights at the Alma House and were very impressed by the experience. Betty and Albert made us feel so welcome and like we were guests in their own house. Breakfast was delicious and they were very accommodating to some dietary needs. The hot tub was well taken care of and felt amazing after skiing at Silverton. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert H, General Manager at The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thank you Susan for the wonderful review and for allowing us to take care of you during your visit. We enjoyed having you!
Albert and Betty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Back home after a great stay! We are a family of 5 with 3 older children. Appreciated having a family suite that had a private bedroom plus an additional space with 3 separate beds for the kids. Room was very clean and comfortable with great view. However, the rooms are not the reason to visit the Alma House - it is definitely the hospitality provided by Betty and Albert. Everything from our initial greeting, snacks for the kids, coffee service (and juice and danishes for the boys) delivered to our room each morning, fabulous breakfasts prepared by Albert, and access to the hot tub was great! As an unexpected added bonus we also were thrilled to learn that Albert is a Cowboy Poet, and he shared some of his poetry with us each morning. Also, good selection of restaurants minutes away by walk (with some good beer!) too. Originally we chose the Alma House to be in the middle of Durango and Ouray - next time we go it will be to visit with Betty and Albert again!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank bgreen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert H, General Manager at The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thankyou! We thoroughly enjoyed having your family with us and look forward to visiting with all of you again. Stop in and see us the next time you are passing through. Thank you again for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2017 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem, the inn keepers Albert and Betty are truly amazing wonderful people and attend to your needs and make you feel like family coming home. I can not say enough good things about them or this place except I can’t wait to return. It feels as if you have stepped back in time with the charm and warmth of the place and comfortable, I always get the best sleep when I stay here it doesn’t matter what room I’m in they are all good cozy and relaxing and comfortable. And the hot tub is always ready for a wonderful relaxing dip after a long day adventuring. And last but not least the coffee with a surprise muffin every morning sitting outside your door for when you wake is wonderful, and the breakfast that is served is always always amazing. Very good cooks to say the least. Just stay once and you will be back I promise.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PHulsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert H, General Manager at The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Thank you for the extremely kind review. We loved having you and Jim here despite the amount of work required to make it snow for you. .
We so look forward to your next visit!
Thank you!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017

Betty & Al where great hosts and the the Inn has a lot of history, you feel like you are stepping back in time, but with all the comforts of today. great sleep fireplace and quiet area and a wonderful breakfast! In the evening a wonderful little dessert. The first night they were sooo perfect looking we didn't think they were real, finally I had to check them out and the were not only real but real good!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite is very nice on the ground floor and easy access and still quiet!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albert H, General Manager at The Inn of the Rockies at the Historic Alma House, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review Glenn!
We hope you stay in touch and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews