We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!”
Review of Alpiner Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpiner Lodge
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Staff is excellent and definitely a pleasurable stay! Will stay here every time i'm in Steamboat!!! - Dakota D.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakota D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Loy, the front desk lady is very helpful in suggesting where to eat and things to do. She is very pleasant to be around and you can tell she loves being there. It's a simple place, no frills, pet friendly and perfect location that you can walk to lots of bars, shops, restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stay at the Alpiner at least once a ski season. The biggest reason being affordability. 2nd pet friendly. 3rd location. 4th friendliness of all who work there. We have ski passes but do not want to spend $200 a night for a condo that requires us to board our dogs. Some places say they are pet friendly but then throw a multitude of conditions and fees associated with bringing your pet. Not the Alpiner. They are by far the most pet friendly place we have ever brought our dogs to. no rules or restrictions and even a bowl of dog treats at the front desk. This is probably the cheapest place to stay in town and they throw in free breakfast. The rooms have a microwave and refrigerator. The location is great and the free shuttle to the mountain is a block away. If you are renting skis the place next door will give you a 15% discount for staying at the Alpiner. The ski rental place next door is a pretty good rental shop and is also probably the cheapest in town. Every person we have encountered during our stays ther has been extremely friendly and accomodating. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you are bringing pets ask for one of the rooms with direct outdoor access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Highly recommended, the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Great location. Can not wait to come back next year. Loy makes you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door.

Room Tip: Leave the car at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcar226006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Alpiner lodge is in a good location on the edge of town. Downtown is toatally walkable but inn is just on edge ond out of the fray. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a little gas burning fireplace in our room, which was a nice surprise for "discount" lodging! Made room feel cozy and welcoming. Strongly recommend if you want downtown lodging in Steamboat at a reasonable rate!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lefluidity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Me and a few buddies randomly walked into this place after looking around town for a decent rate. Note the season has been rough, not a lot of snow on the mountain so business was down all around, but no one was willing to work around high rates. The Alpiner lodge was the exception. We told Loy, the woman at the front desk that we were trying to find work and a long term place to stay in town. She was more than willing to help us out until we found that long term housing option. Great older hotel. Microwave and refrigerator in the room. The location couldn't be better, right in the middle of town, walking distance to everything: Bars. restaurants, bus route to the slopes. Highly suggest this to anyone looking for the best rate in town.
Thanks Loy for helping us out!
Ben, Will, Phil

Room Tip: Great place for young travelers. Solo/ with friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Alpiner for a week of skiing. The staff, location and price could not have been any better!

The Alpiner is located within walking distance of every downtown shop and restaurant on both Lincoln and Yampa Avenues. And if you need to head to the ski resort area, there is a bus stop directly across the street (the bus service in Steamboat is free to all riders) from the motel. You can take your skis on the bus, too.

If you are a high maintenance traveler that has a large family or needs resort style attention and services then this is not your spot.

However, if you are a minimalist traveler or simply need a nice, clean and efficient place to stay then the Alpiner is your place. The price of the room is about as inexpensive as there is in Steamboat yet the service you receive far exceeds the small cost of the room. My room was very clean and included a fridge, coffee maker and ample room to store my gear. I would not stay anywhere else in Steamboat!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Steamboat Springs hotels
2.5 km away
The Steamboat Grand
The Steamboat Grand
#5 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
679 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#14 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
196 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat Springs
Hampton Inn And Suites Steamboat...
#2 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#10 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
238 reviews
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
Holiday Inn Steamboat Springs
#3 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
441 reviews
3.4 km away
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
Steamboat Mountain Lodge
#9 of 21 in Steamboat Springs
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpiner Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpiner Lodge

Address: 424 S Lincoln Ave, Steamboat Springs, CO 80487-8906
Region: United States > Colorado > Steamboat Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Steamboat Springs
Price Range: $73 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpiner Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpiner Lodge is a motel located in the heart of old town Steamboat. From the Alpiner you can walk to shops, restaurants, the hot springs pool, Howelsen ski area, the Yampa River Trail, the skateboard park, rodeo and museum. You will be greeted by a courteous staff who can assist you with your vacation plans. In the winter there is a cozy fire burning in the lobby were you can socialize with other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpiner Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpiner Hotel Steamboat Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing