We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
42
68
32
17
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
42
68
32
17
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski shop hot tub ski group village area closet door per night slope view great location right ski club free ski storage balloon rodeo ski check daily maid service ski season enjoyable stay an older property easy access
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 179 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

It's 1982 and your at the Ptarmigan Inn. Just kidding it 2018 but everything here is from way back. With all the great places in Steamboat, no reason to stay here. It's ok and gets the job done. Nothing special here.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank JulieChristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We came into town with no reservation and after checking a few other places that were booked up, we were told by two different locations that this was high-end and had availability. There is a reason it had availability which is because it was old and not updated at all. We checked the beds and they appeared to be clean so we made do for the night, but I would never recommend or stay here again. This place may have been high end in the late 70's, but it sure hasn't been updated since. Pink laminate bathroom counters and old furniture. It had a musty smell and just made you think it wasn't clean. Had it not been midnight when we arrived we would have kept driving or kept looking elsewhere.

Room tip: Do not stay here
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank starrmmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2018

We stayed at the hotel in July and I strongly discourage anyone from staying at this hotel in the Summertime!!! Perhaps being right on the ski slopes helps this hotel in the winter but I don’t think it makes up for how miserable of a choice this hotel is.
When we walked into the lobby to check-in the doors were wide open and it must have been 90+ degrees in the lobby and smelled like an old musty gym locker. There was a sign on the front desk that said to wait for attendant. We waited over 15 min!!!! Finally, a guy appeared from the restaurant area and asked what we need. He checked us in and commented how it’s never been this hot in Steamboat that is why the doors are open.
When we got to the room it was packed with big furniture you could barely get suitcases in. The carpet looked to be stained all over and bunched up as if it didn’t fit the room or halls anymore. The room smelled like the same old gym locker that the lobby did. It was so hot in the room we turned on the A/C and for the next 30 min warm air blew out. I went back to ask to change rooms and the man at the desk, Jessy I believe his name was, took a long time to decide what room to move us to. Finally, we moved and A/C worked normally in that room.
When we came back from dinner, I dropped off my wife at the front door and looked for a parking place. They were all FILLED! I went inside to ask where to park and the same man that checked us in said, "oh i'm sure you can find a spot out there" Very unhelpful. Ended up parking in front of a dumpster.
We also struggled for hours trying to check emails and get on the internet cause the WIFI kept dropping out saying no connection. We finally just used our phones at a Hotspot.
The bed were ok but the bathrooms are for a 4 ft tall person who weighs under 100lbs. Not a average 6’3 190lbs man. The shower hits you in the stomach its so low and the bathroom doors are so small you have to turn sideways to get in and out.
The next morning a continental breakfast was available that was more geared towards kids then adults with sweets and starches.
I am still in disbelief I paid over $180 for this place!!! Can’t say even half of that would be worth it. Maybe in the winter but not in July.

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank WesternTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2018

I am shocked at how well this hotel rates compared to our actual experience. We know that it is affordable and we didn't expect it to be high class, but we did expect much more than what we got. We specifically asked for a pet free room as our son has pet allergies which triggers asthma. When we checked in, we were put into a pet-friendly room, even though our reservation requested pet free. We checked the room and it was stuffy and smelled like dog. The front desk was very hesitant to move us and gave us a hard time about it. We nearly left the hotel. The room is very small and dated. The AC doesn't work and our room is VERY hot! It's in the 90's in Steamboat this weekend. Other families tell us their AC doesn't work and others work well. Of those that have called, the front desk, they were told to open the window (which didn't cool our room off.) When you shut the curtains to keep the sun out, the curtains are dusty and tattered. The location can't be beat. That is the only benefit of staying here.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018

We booked two rooms for one night. The hotel was a major disappointment: navigation to hotel ended up at a condo development across the street, no signs for hotel on main street, generally run down and tired with weathered and torn carpet, toilet running, and driveway full of potholes. The room was clean, but again tired and in need of significant re-fresh.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews