We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Twin Lakes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2011

From the moment you walk in the door Donna and John welcome you with open arms and make you feel like "family". Our room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Donna prepares a delicious breakfast with the help of John and all the guest have an opportunity to share their adventures at breakfast. Donna and John are a wealth of knowledge about the Leadville area and love sharing stories of days gone by in this mining town. The views of Twin Lakes are picture perfect and provide a awesome backdrop while soaking in the hot tub. The collection of items in each room all have a story of origin and you can spend hours just investigating their massive Leadville collection.
Donna and John are wonderful host, with a lovely eclectic Bed and Breakfast....and best of all they make you feel like family!
Thanks Donna and John!

Room Tip: Call Donna for any advice you might need for your trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Ores and Mine B&B two nights. It was the best of Colorado. Donna and John are a delight. They welcome you as family and make your stay a little piece of Heaven. Their location overlooking Twin Lakes and at the South Trailhead of Mt Elbert provide an outstanding opportunity for communing with God's creation. Donna's breakfast provides an excellent and fulfilling start to the day. Thanks Donna and John for making our vacation in Colorado so special.
Lenne and Veneda

Room Tip: The room called "Matchless" is aptly named. Wake in the morning looking at a panorama of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lenne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My daughter and I are preparing for our trip to Tanzania to climb Mt Kilimanjaro in October. We have been climbing 14ers in preparation. We stayed at Ores and Mines B&B the night before our climb up Colorado's highest, Mt Elbert. Our stay was wonderful. Ores and Mines is approximately 5 miles from the trailhead which made it very convenient. We had a great time the evening before playing games and listening to the juke box. Our hosts, John and Donna, were wonderful. John gave us directions to the trailhead so we knew exactly what to expect.

My wife joined us and hiked by the lake while we climbed.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank jpglrstripadvosor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is the BEST PLACE to stay in the area. We felt like FAMILY from the moment I called Donna and reserved the room! My cousin and I stayed the night and went out the next day to hike up to some property that our family owns near Independence Pass. We both decided that Ores and Mine was such a great place that we are going to make it an annual trip and bring a lot more family...I can't say enough great things about this place - you will not be dissapointed if you stay at the Ores and Mine!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarrigMiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We loved Donna and John and our stay at Ores and Mines. Only drawback is that it is 18 or 20 miles from the nearest town, so you have to plan for that in terms of food and dinner. Great view from the 'Matchless' suite. On the road to Independence pass into Aspen during summer months.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larry1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We really loved our stay at Ores and Mind B&B! The room was very cosy and the host couple were amazing! During the evening we enjoyed the beautiful view over twin lakes in the hot tub and woke up to a lovely breakfast! Wish we had time to stay longer, but if we come back we defenietly know were to stay!

Katrin and Karl from Stockholm, Sweden.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

John and Donna were wonderful hosts. We found ourselves sitting around after breakfast visiting with them like family, sharing stories, getting tips for our daily adventures and learning the history of the area. Every conversation was absolutely fascinating. The facilities were warm and inviting. The view from the Matchless Mine room was incredible looking across Twin Lakes to the mountains. The bed was comfortable and the claw foot bathtub was a welcome throwback to yesteryear. The entire place is filled with interesting memorabilia of the area. And, Donna's breakfasts were fantastic! We stayed three days and, honestly, if we could have received a refund from the next place we had scheduled on our trip, we would have stayed longer. You will not be disappointed with Ores and Mines. In fact, you'll be pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: The Matchless Mine room has an absolutely beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoonersShawnee_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast

Address: 6285 County Road 10, Twin Lakes, CO 81251-9716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Twin Lakes
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for comfort, relaxation, and adventure? Searching for a distinctive, romantic Bed & Breakfast? One that offers unparalleled view of Colorado's tallest mountain, Mt. Elbert (14,431'), reflected in the clear waters of Colorado's largest glacial lake? Then, look no more. Welcome! to Ores and Mine Bed and Breakfast. We offer a rustic setting with a decor reminiscent of the early 1900's mining era, providing the comforts of modern day. Ores & Mine features five bedrooms, each named after a well-known gold or silver mine in the area. All rooms have a private bath and a full, hot breakfast is served each morning. Taking reservations now for the 2018 season starting in June. Two night minimum required. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing