We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away from Home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Twin Lakes B&B and Inns
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

From the moment you walk in the door Donna and John welcome you with open arms and make you feel like "family". Our room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Donna prepares a delicious breakfast with the help of John and all the guest have an opportunity to share their adventures at breakfast. Donna and John are a wealth of knowledge about the Leadville area and love sharing stories of days gone by in this mining town. The views of Twin Lakes are picture perfect and provide a awesome backdrop while soaking in the hot tub. The collection of items in each room all have a story of origin and you can spend hours just investigating their massive Leadville collection.
Donna and John are wonderful host, with a lovely eclectic Bed and Breakfast....and best of all they make you feel like family!
Thanks Donna and John!

Room Tip: Call Donna for any advice you might need for your trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Ores and Mine B&B two nights. It was the best of Colorado. Donna and John are a delight. They welcome you as family and make your stay a little piece of Heaven. Their location overlooking Twin Lakes and at the South Trailhead of Mt Elbert provide an outstanding opportunity for communing with God's creation. Donna's breakfast provides an excellent and fulfilling start to the day. Thanks Donna and John for making our vacation in Colorado so special.
Lenne and Veneda

Room Tip: The room called "Matchless" is aptly named. Wake in the morning looking at a panorama of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My daughter and I are preparing for our trip to Tanzania to climb Mt Kilimanjaro in October. We have been climbing 14ers in preparation. We stayed at Ores and Mines B&B the night before our climb up Colorado's highest, Mt Elbert. Our stay was wonderful. Ores and Mines is approximately 5 miles from the trailhead which made it very convenient. We had a great time the evening before playing games and listening to the juke box. Our hosts, John and Donna, were wonderful. John gave us directions to the trailhead so we knew exactly what to expect.

My wife joined us and hiked by the lake while we climbed.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jpglrstripadvosor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is the BEST PLACE to stay in the area. We felt like FAMILY from the moment I called Donna and reserved the room! My cousin and I stayed the night and went out the next day to hike up to some property that our family owns near Independence Pass. We both decided that Ores and Mine was such a great place that we are going to make it an annual trip and bring a lot more family...I can't say enough great things about this place - you will not be dissapointed if you stay at the Ores and Mine!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrigMiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We loved Donna and John and our stay at Ores and Mines. Only drawback is that it is 18 or 20 miles from the nearest town, so you have to plan for that in terms of food and dinner. Great view from the 'Matchless' suite. On the road to Independence pass into Aspen during summer months.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We really loved our stay at Ores and Mind B&B! The room was very cosy and the host couple were amazing! During the evening we enjoyed the beautiful view over twin lakes in the hot tub and woke up to a lovely breakfast! Wish we had time to stay longer, but if we come back we defenietly know were to stay!

Katrin and Karl from Stockholm, Sweden.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrin2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

John and Donna were wonderful hosts. We found ourselves sitting around after breakfast visiting with them like family, sharing stories, getting tips for our daily adventures and learning the history of the area. Every conversation was absolutely fascinating. The facilities were warm and inviting. The view from the Matchless Mine room was incredible looking across Twin Lakes to the mountains. The bed was comfortable and the claw foot bathtub was a welcome throwback to yesteryear. The entire place is filled with interesting memorabilia of the area. And, Donna's breakfasts were fantastic! We stayed three days and, honestly, if we could have received a refund from the next place we had scheduled on our trip, we would have stayed longer. You will not be disappointed with Ores and Mines. In fact, you'll be pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: The Matchless Mine room has an absolutely beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoonersShawnee_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Lakes
18.0 km away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
30.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
BEST WESTERN Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
6.1 km away
The Twin Lakes Inn
The Twin Lakes Inn
#1 of 2 in Twin Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 km away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
30.9 km away
Buffalo Peaks Bed and Breakfast
31.3 km away
Pinon Court Cabins
Pinon Court Cabins
#3 of 3 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ores and Mine Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6285 County Road 10, Twin Lakes, CO 81251-9716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Twin Lakes
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing