We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
127
29
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
29
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn tall pines hot tub get away buena vista independence pass mount elbert road noise gas stove massive room the main house three nights coffee maker my husband and i sitting area water wheel pine cabin
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 167 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We rented a cabins for a week (this is unusual - most guests only stay a day or so) and used it as a base to see the area. Wonderful place to stay - Scott, the genial owner/manager does a good job of keeping it all going. Bonus in summer is that the place is swarming with hummingbirds - feeders are everywhere and they're not shy!

The property itself is an old stagecoach stop for the travelers going over Independence Pass, which is now closed during winter. The closed pass has made the area almost impervious to the seething entitlement and exclusion just over the mountain in Aspen and it's a wonderful place to relax, hike and sightsee without being chased out of someone's private estate or worrying that your Lear Jet isn't the latest model.

These are housekeeping cabins - we got groceries in Denver before coming up, but Leadville has a Safeway and there are stores in Buena Vista etc. The only restaurant is an inn in Twin Lakes and the general store doesn't keep a big stock of supplies so be prepared.

I took one star off because I think our cabin, one of the older ones, could use a trip to a big-box store for a better supply of cookware, towels and the like but it's not a deal-breaker. Everything was clean and in good repair. I'd go back anytime!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thinkerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a large group gathering this summer and it was great for us. We used the two lodges and the Barn and we were very comfortable. We were able to gather as a whole group in either of the lodges for meals and for just hanging out. The grounds were beautiful with grasses and flowers, the pond ( which the kids loved) and the river/creek passing closely by. It was a great location to stay for hiking La Plata, as well. Great access to two of La Plata's trailheads, not to mention, the number of trails we passed on our way to the mountain. A clean and cozy place to return to after our outdoor adventures!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had hoped to book a cabin here but was too late so booked a room in the lodge. We were the only people in the lodge so it was like having a great big cabin to ourselves. This was the best two days of our 6 day road trip around Colorado by far. The peace, quiet and tranquility were superb and so relaxing. The owner, Scott, was a great host; coming to cook us breakfast each morning while giving us lots of space to enjoy the location. Will go back - hot tub under the stars was an added bonus. Views are unbeatable. Also, highly recommend the Twin Lakes Fine Dining restaurant at Twin Lakes, a culinary delight.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkitred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2014

An easy drive to Aspen or to Salida, but a completely remote, rustic, scenic location. I will be making this my new home away from home. Great service, adorably rustic cabins, clean, quiet and cozy. Couldn't have asked for a better place to decompress.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Rustic Cabins in a awesome winter location. Great snowshoeing and the Elk Cabin is like a home away from home. This cabin has extra amenities like a dishwasher and Satellite TV. It's very comfortable with beautiful views of Rinker Peak off the back deck.

Room Tip: If you like "modern" choose the Elk or Cinnamon Bear Cabins, otherwise any of the other cabins are much more "rustic" but still very comfortable just not as many amenities.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WTWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews