We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
127
29
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
29
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn tall pines hot tub get away buena vista independence pass mount elbert road noise gas stove massive room the main house three nights coffee maker my husband and i sitting area water wheel pine cabin
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 167 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2016

I have been staying at this lodge for over 20 years, usually in the fall, and recommend it to everyone I know. The cabins and rooms are basic but comfy. I recommend the housekeeping log cabins which all have stunning views, gas stoves for heat, and porches or patios. The lodge rooms are smaller but also have views and jacuzzi tubs. Staying here is like going back in time before all the crowds and environmental degradation. The aspen and evergreen trees are all old growth and healthy--not to be missed, esp. in spring and fall. The lodge is open year around in case you love cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. A nice restaurant and bar are available in Twin Lakes, just a few miles away. If staying in a cabin, buy your groceries/wine in Leadville (north) or Buena Vista (south). Caveat: If allergic to fragrance, bring your own bedding--most are double beds with some twins.

Room Tip: Fav cabin is Beaver (2 br)--closest to the river, very quiet, and you can have a bonfire on the beach (unless fire bans in place)
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cougar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtelbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Thank you for your review. I just want to add a bit of clarification, we are now using fragrance free laundry products and appreciate your feedback on the issue when you visited. Also, while we are open all year long and winter is a fantastic time to visit, at this time the restaurant in Twin Lakes is open summer season only. Thanks again for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2016

This is one of our favorite stops in Colorado (we're from Texas), and we try to make it every year and have for the last 10 (we think). The owners are a delightful couple and a pleasure to see once again everytime we visit. Always helpful, and the the cabin where we stay is perfect for our visit.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtelbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2016

We only got to stay here two nights but plotting a way to come back for a few days. From checkin throughout our stay, we just had a wonderful relaxing time. We stayed in the Prospector Cabin, which was a travel back in time with 50's/ 60's decor and that cozy/creaky wood floor you want when staying in a little cabin in the woods. The kitchen came with full refrigerator, range, microwave, and a cool old farmhouse type sink, and had all the pots, pans, plates etc that we needed to make our meals as well as a very nice eating area with a big window and a hummingbird feeder so we could watch hummingbirds throughout our stay (there are so many of them!). The cabin was warmed by a wood burning stove which you can sit by and enjoy while you relax in a cozy rocking chair. Separate bedroom is a very nice size and fit all our bags. Bathroom was very small but did the job. Since our cabin sat close to the main lodge, we had wifi and cell service throughout our stay, which was a nice surprise. The cabin came with a tv, but we didn't watch it so not sure if it came with many channels. Its a sort walk from the cabin to the property's hot tub, which is open 24 hours a day. The views from the cabin were incredible and we spent one evening on our cute front porch enjoying the nature around us. There is even a fire pit (which we had unsuccessfully attempted a fire, probably from lack of fire building skills) and bbq out there. It is a 5 minute drive to the La Plate Peak trailhead and within walking distance to the Blackcloud Trail to Mt. Elbert, as well as just minutes from Independence Pass. Just a wonderful, charming location! Be sure to check out the items the main office has for sale from local artists and craftsmen. The lodge owner is very friendly and helpful as well!

Room Tip: The Prospector Cabin is very quiet and has wifi and cell service (AT&T)
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank b-rod-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtelbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Aw shucks, thanks for such a nice review. Just one point of clarification, our heat for Prospector cabin is a gas log stove, not a real wood burning stove. We don't have any cabins that guests can build a fire inside (variable fire making skills could make this exciting!) but each cabin has an out-door fire ring or pit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016

We stayed in the one bedroom cabin after camping all week. We have learned to leave Colorado campgrounds on the weekends. They get very crowded and noisy with local Coloradons. The cabin was perfect! Nicely furnished, fully stocked kitchen, lovely front porch, and best of all a table, chairs, and for pit next to a roaring stream and water wheel. Everything was clean.The owners were very nice. The area is spectacular. Also, includes a 24/7 outdoor hot tub shared by all guests. We went at 11pm and had it to ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtelbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2016 via mobile

Loved having a full kitchen to cook meals. Leisurely breakfast, pack lunch, spend all day on snowshoes, and return for hot tub and dinner at home. Stock up in Buena Vista or Leadville. I prefer better access to the Internet but a short walk to the main lodge and I could take care of business. Cabin was cozy and warm. I love this area for year around use: hiking or snowshoeing or cross country skiing. Independence Pass was still closed for winter and it felt like we had the whole canyon to ourselves.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sorge5626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews