We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic stop along a scenic highway”
Review of Mount Elbert Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Elbert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2016

A perfect weekend get-away across Independence Pass for us. Comfortable, quaint rooms in the Lodge with modern amenities. Autumn splendor surrounds you in the fall season plus great hiking trails, biking, relaxing and easy access to both Leadville and Buena Vista, all steeped in Colorado history. Charming hosts, Scott and Laura. The Lodge has 4 rooms with breakfast and the 5 cabins are self-sufficient.

Room Tip: This is not pertinent as each room, and there are only four, has its own feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank merryhell36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2016

I have been staying at this lodge for over 20 years, usually in the fall, and recommend it to everyone I know. The cabins and rooms are basic but comfy. I recommend the housekeeping log cabins which all have stunning views, gas stoves for heat, and porches or patios. The lodge rooms are smaller but also have views and jacuzzi tubs. Staying here is like going back in time before all the crowds and environmental degradation. The aspen and evergreen trees are all old growth and healthy--not to be missed, esp. in spring and fall. The lodge is open year around in case you love cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. A nice restaurant and bar are available in Twin Lakes, just a few miles away. If staying in a cabin, buy your groceries/wine in Leadville (north) or Buena Vista (south). Caveat: If allergic to fragrance, bring your own bedding--most are double beds with some twins.

Room Tip: Fav cabin is Beaver (2 br)--closest to the river, very quiet, and you can have a bonfire on the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cougar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtelbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you for your review. I just want to add a bit of clarification, we are now using fragrance free laundry products and appreciate your feedback on the issue when you visited. Also, while we are open all year long and winter is a fantastic time to visit, at this time the restaurant in Twin Lakes is open summer season only. Thanks again for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

This is one of our favorite stops in Colorado (we're from Texas), and we try to make it every year and have for the last 10 (we think). The owners are a delightful couple and a pleasure to see once again everytime we visit. Always helpful, and the the cabin where we stay is perfect for our visit.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtelbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We only got to stay here two nights but plotting a way to come back for a few days. From checkin throughout our stay, we just had a wonderful relaxing time. We stayed in the Prospector Cabin, which was a travel back in time with 50's/ 60's decor and that cozy/creaky wood floor you want when staying in a little cabin in the woods. The kitchen came with full refrigerator, range, microwave, and a cool old farmhouse type sink, and had all the pots, pans, plates etc that we needed to make our meals as well as a very nice eating area with a big window and a hummingbird feeder so we could watch hummingbirds throughout our stay (there are so many of them!). The cabin was warmed by a wood burning stove which you can sit by and enjoy while you relax in a cozy rocking chair. Separate bedroom is a very nice size and fit all our bags. Bathroom was very small but did the job. Since our cabin sat close to the main lodge, we had wifi and cell service throughout our stay, which was a nice surprise. The cabin came with a tv, but we didn't watch it so not sure if it came with many channels. Its a sort walk from the cabin to the property's hot tub, which is open 24 hours a day. The views from the cabin were incredible and we spent one evening on our cute front porch enjoying the nature around us. There is even a fire pit (which we had unsuccessfully attempted a fire, probably from lack of fire building skills) and bbq out there. It is a 5 minute drive to the La Plate Peak trailhead and within walking distance to the Blackcloud Trail to Mt. Elbert, as well as just minutes from Independence Pass. Just a wonderful, charming location! Be sure to check out the items the main office has for sale from local artists and craftsmen. The lodge owner is very friendly and helpful as well!

Room Tip: The Prospector Cabin is very quiet and has wifi and cell service (AT&T)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank b-rod-40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtelbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Aw shucks, thanks for such a nice review. Just one point of clarification, our heat for Prospector cabin is a gas log stove, not a real wood burning stove. We don't have any cabins that guests can build a fire inside (variable fire making skills could make this exciting!) but each cabin has an out-door fire ring or pit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed in the one bedroom cabin after camping all week. We have learned to leave Colorado campgrounds on the weekends. They get very crowded and noisy with local Coloradons. The cabin was perfect! Nicely furnished, fully stocked kitchen, lovely front porch, and best of all a table, chairs, and for pit next to a roaring stream and water wheel. Everything was clean.The owners were very nice. The area is spectacular. Also, includes a 24/7 outdoor hot tub shared by all guests. We went at 11pm and had it to ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtelbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Loved having a full kitchen to cook meals. Leisurely breakfast, pack lunch, spend all day on snowshoes, and return for hot tub and dinner at home. Stock up in Buena Vista or Leadville. I prefer better access to the Internet but a short walk to the main lodge and I could take care of business. Cabin was cozy and warm. I love this area for year around use: hiking or snowshoeing or cross country skiing. Independence Pass was still closed for winter and it felt like we had the whole canyon to ourselves.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank sorge5626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Loved our cute little cabin. Perfect, peaceful location. Enjoyed the flowers, trout pond, location and hiking trail from the property. We brought our two dogs and our 4 year old. Had a private fire pit right on our porch!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mount Elbert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Elbert Lodge

Address: 10764 E State Highway 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251-9766
Region: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Twin Lakes
Price Range: $70 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We began as a base camp for miners back in the heyday of Colorado's mining boom and today we are a quiet get-away nestled in National Forest at the base of Colorado's highest peak. Step out of today's hectic world into a quieter time at Mt. Elbert Lodge. We have no TVs, radios or phones in our comfortable housekeeping cabins; we do have a front row seat to the Colorado Rockies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Elbert Hotel Twin Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing