We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under New Management - Texans”
Review of Mount Elbert Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Elbert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2017

This lodge used to be Heaven on Earth, when Scott and Laura owned it. Unfortunately, they sold it to Texans. The new owners know nothing about Colorado. They argued with me when I tried to explain to them that the normal weather pattern in the high country is that it rains every afternoon. It is no use asking for advice on local hikes.

It is still a beautiful location. And the cabins are still pleasant. However, the office is locked much of the time, and you have to call and leave a message. We had a mouse in our cabin, and I did not report it because I figured they would put out poison and end up poisoning someone's dog. There was a stand alone fire bowl with wood set on the wood porch under a tree, where someone could easily set the porch on fire. The porch has rotten boards that were about to break thru.

And, we had to clean the cabin before we could move in, they said they had swept it, but we had a whole dustbin full of dirt. Also had to wash dried egg off the plates in the cupboard.

This is a lovely place. We hope it does not burn down because of careless fires on the wooden porch, and do not want to see it go under because of careless management.

Room Tip: Rinker Cabin and Cinnamon Bear are set up above the road and are quieter with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Mountain_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017

Spent several nights here for a family gathering. We rented three of the cabins (The Barn, Beaver Lodge and Prospector). New owners were friendly and welcoming. Cabins were everything we wanted and the location was beyond fantastic. These cabins are definitely rustic, if you are expecting posh accommodations these are not for you (no disrespect meant to the owners, we loved the cabins). However, the kitchens were well stocked with cooking gear, each cabin had it's own grill and outdoor seating, each had a gas fireplace that kept the cabins cozy at night, hummingbird feeders were kept loaded and we gawked at close up hummingbirds through the whole stay. We will definitely stay again. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Stayed in the Barn Cabin. Mtns on each side still had snow on them n JUNE! This cabin is perfect & is in the best location on the property. Becky the owner was awesome and nice. Will go again soon. A+

Room Tip: Beautiful views of the mountains on both sides and a beautiful river flowing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This April was our second time at Mt. Elbert Lodge and we were once again most impressed by the alpine scenery at this location. We stayed at the Cinnamon Bear Cabin and found it very comfortable and clean with a more than adequate kitchen and great views from the front deck. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable. If you plan to cook, remember to bring your pwn condiments, cooking oil, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannie6347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We wanted to take our grandson snow boarding and found Mount Elbert Lodge on the web search. The 3 of us stayed in the Beaver lodge and loved it. The kitchen was well furnished and all we had to do was bring our own food. The view out the kitchen window made cooking even more enjoyable. Scott and Laura were very helpful and communicated well before our stay and we were able to just make ourselves "at home" in Beaver Cabin. We enjoyed reading the cabin journal and my wife was eager to add our entry. If we ever get back to Colorado 3+ days will be scheduled at Mount Elbert Lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 388jessem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night in March looking for a quiet, romantic cabin. It was all that and more! The location in the Rockies is just spectacular! The cabin was rustic, but clean, comfortable, and cozy! Everything worked fine, a warm gas fireplace, just the place to play Scrabble, listen to John Denver, and enjoy the surroundings. Took walks up the road for wonderful mountain views, and at the end of the road which is closed for the winter about 4-5 miles up, more spectacular scenery. Was even amazed the wifi worked fine this far away from things!
Can't recommend the place enough! Felt like we stepped back in time to this gem in the mountains!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Terrenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We stayed in the Prospector cabin and were warm and cozy despite the cold winter weather outside. The kitchen was well-equipped, the bed was comfortable, the it's a great location for snowshoeing. Plus they take pets, so we could bring our dog!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OlsonColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mount Elbert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Elbert Lodge

Address: 10764 E State Highway 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251-9766
Region: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Twin Lakes
Price Range: $70 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We began as a base camp for miners back in the heyday of Colorado's mining boom and today we are a quiet get-away nestled in National Forest at the base of Colorado's highest peak. Step out of today's hectic world into a quieter time at Mt. Elbert Lodge. We have no TVs, radios or phones in our comfortable housekeeping cabins; we do have a front row seat to the Colorado Rockies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Elbert Hotel Twin Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing