We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet and relaxing stay!”
Review of Mount Elbert Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Twin Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mount Elbert Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

My husband and I had a great first experience here. Because we booked fairly late, many of the cabins were already occupied, but Becky was very accommodating by putting us in The Barn for two nights and Cinnamon Bear for the third night. On the morning of our third night stay, we had a 5 AM adventure to hike Mount Elbert; because we had to switch cabins, Becky graciously had our refrigerated food moved for us from the Barn to Cinnamon Bear. The Barn: a large space with plenty of room in the kitchen to cook, and a generous supply of pots and pans, dishes and drinkware. (Bring things like cooking oil/spray, saran wrap/foil, etc.) The beds were not too comfortable for us, but we still slept well. The Barn is set back a bit from the road, and our stay was quiet. We enjoyed walking from our back door to the creek to hang out on the rocky bank, admire the mountains and bird life, and watch the moonrise. We grilled meat for dinner one night using the outdoor charcoal grill...supply of charcoal and newspapers ready for you. This cabin is wonderfully rustic! Our third night in Cinnamon Bear (across the street) was great, too. This cabin is a duplex; Rinker is next door. I don't know if anyone was staying in Rinker, but except for a little bit of road noise it was totally quiet and peaceful! Comfy couch and bed here. Smaller kitchen but still plenty of room for cooking a nice meal. Great patio to hang out and view the amazing mountains and see lots of hummingbirds! The main bedroom is upstairs, which makes for nice privacy if there's more than one or two of you; the bathroom is on the main floor. During our stay we visited Leadville (I believe it was less than 30-minutes away and lots to do), a hike up Mt. Elbert using the South Elbert trailhead (just 15-minutes away), Interlaken Trail around Twin Lakes, and a stop at the Twin Lakes general store. Becky is very friendly and always made sure we had what we needed. Check-in and check-out nice and easy! Cell service not always available, which was a nice break for us. I wanted to call my niece to wish her a happy birthday, but I had no cell service, so Becky offered to me to use the available landline, which is mainly for emergency or to contact Becky and John...much appreciated! We met many nice guests, some of whom were repeat customers. That says something! We'd stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Cinnamon Bear and Rinker directly across the street. Some road noise, but minimal. Got quieter as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017

This was my first trip to Mount Elbert Lodge. It is easy to get to, the views are incredible, cabins are quaint and it's nice to be able to be inside in bad weather and have a shower instead of camping. Bed's weren't that comfortable but being able to have a hot shower (and I mean HOT!) definitely outweighed the comfort of the beds. That being said, you can tell the new owners have some bumps to work out. First off, my family rented the main lodge. This is connected to the front office via a door that does not lock from the lodge side in the lodge's kitchen. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue, except the owner's son (14 ish years old) kept coming over. He would just barge through the door, stood there and watched us eat as a family, invited himself to partake in s'mores and games we were playing as a family and would periodically peak in through the windows to see what we were doing. We asked him to leave multiple times to which he would laugh and not leave. He was rude and insulting. We finally had to lie and say we were going to bed to get him to go away. Luckily, he was going out of town or I'm sure this would have been an issue the entire weekend. The new owners need to make sure that there are VERY clear boundaries and keep track of their son. Also, installing a deadbolt or some kind of lock on the lodge side of the door would go a long way to keeping the privacy. We had to stack coolers in front of the kitchen door and kept the outside doors locked to keep him out. It was obnoxious. My only other complaint was that we (along with the other members of our family) we told multiple times at check-in about quiet time etc. But apparently, it was just words. Both nights there were people in the courtyard in front of the lodge until after midnight and in the hot tub until after 11. Quiet time starts at 10. With two toddlers in the house, having people being loud and obnoxious outside the windows was a nightmare. Would I return? Yes. But if I have the same experience, I definitely won't return a 3rd time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtElbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

We always want our guests to have a wonderful experience. Quiet time is mentioned in writing when you check in and on the information sheet in each cabin. We are glad you read the information we provided - not everyone does! And children are not always perfect - we are all still learning and growing. We wish you would have given us an opportunity to address the issues you mentioned. It is however impossible to address issues unless the guest lets us know while they are here. We wish you and your family all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The lodge has several cabins, and our family of 5 adults stayed in the Barn cabin. It has 3 bedrooms and a nice kitchen- living area. There is only one bath but that didn't bother us. The furniture and dishes are an eclectic collection of comfortable but worn items. There is one of the best fire pits we have ever come across and a generous supply of dry wood. We bad a great fire and roasted marshmallows every night. There is great hiking and lots of history in the area. The drive over Independence Pass to Aspen is spectacular.
FYI - the gas stove and oven are very slow, so don't plan to do a lot of cooking.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Livingthedream999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the barn. It's really a three bedroom house. Very homey and quite. Had a wonderful time. We cooked most of our meals there although we drove down the hill and had dinner at the Twin lakes cafe one night.
There is a path on the property that connects to one of the Mt Elbert trails.
Enjoyed going thru a stack of old National Geographic's , some were 50 years old.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

I was there to hike Mt Elbert with a friend. We got one of the B&B rooms and it was perfect for the 2 of us (had 2 beds). The new owners were very nice and helpful. They knew that we were going to be getting up and out the door very early, so she prepared some muffins and fresh fruit for us and had the coffee pot ready to go for us in the morning. Room and bathroom was nice and was clean, and the beds were good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

If you are looking for cozy, quiet and nature, this is the place for you. We stayed here and just spent our time outside. The property is located on a gorgeous creek and in the mountains just under Mount Elbert's shadow. The owner is a great host! The best part for us was the hummingbirds. We stayed in one of the lodge rooms and not a cabin. The cabins look to be a lot of fun too!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dubosegriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

This lodge used to be Heaven on Earth, when Scott and Laura owned it. Unfortunately, they sold it to Texans. The new owners know nothing about Colorado. They argued with me when I tried to explain to them that the normal weather pattern in the high country is that it rains every afternoon. It is no use asking for advice on local hikes.

It is still a beautiful location. And the cabins are still pleasant. However, the office is locked much of the time, and you have to call and leave a message. We had a mouse in our cabin, and I did not report it because I figured they would put out poison and end up poisoning someone's dog. There was a stand alone fire bowl with wood set on the wood porch under a tree, where someone could easily set the porch on fire. The porch has rotten boards that were about to break thru.

And, we had to clean the cabin before we could move in, they said they had swept it, but we had a whole dustbin full of dirt. Also had to wash dried egg off the plates in the cupboard.

This is a lovely place. We hope it does not burn down because of careless fires on the wooden porch, and do not want to see it go under because of careless management.

Room Tip: Rinker Cabin and Cinnamon Bear are set up above the road and are quieter with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Mountain_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mount Elbert Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Elbert Lodge

Address: 10764 E State Highway 82, Twin Lakes, CO 81251-9766
Region: United States > Colorado > Twin Lakes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Twin Lakes
Price Range: $70 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We began as a base camp for miners back in the heyday of Colorado's mining boom and today we are a quiet get-away nestled in National Forest at the base of Colorado's highest peak. Step out of today's hectic world into a quieter time at Mt. Elbert Lodge. We have no TVs, radios or phones in our comfortable housekeeping cabins; we do have a front row seat to the Colorado Rockies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Elbert Hotel Twin Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing