We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
127
29
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
29
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnbear cabintall pineshot tubget awayindependence passmount elbertgas stovemassive roomthree nightscoffee makermy husband and isitting areacooking oilthese cabinsheaven on earthgreat hiking
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 167 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2017

This was my first trip to Mount Elbert Lodge. It is easy to get to, the views are incredible, cabins are quaint and it's nice to be able to be inside in bad weather and have a shower instead of camping. Bed's weren't that comfortable but being able to have a hot shower (and I mean HOT!) definitely outweighed the comfort of the beds. That being said, you can tell the new owners have some bumps to work out. First off, my family rented the main lodge. This is connected to the front office via a door that does not lock from the lodge side in the lodge's kitchen. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue, except the owner's son (14 ish years old) kept coming over. He would just barge through the door, stood there and watched us eat as a family, invited himself to partake in s'mores and games we were playing as a family and would periodically peak in through the windows to see what we were doing. We asked him to leave multiple times to which he would laugh and not leave. He was rude and insulting. We finally had to lie and say we were going to bed to get him to go away. Luckily, he was going out of town or I'm sure this would have been an issue the entire weekend. The new owners need to make sure that there are VERY clear boundaries and keep track of their son. Also, installing a deadbolt or some kind of lock on the lodge side of the door would go a long way to keeping the privacy. We had to stack coolers in front of the kitchen door and kept the outside doors locked to keep him out. It was obnoxious. My only other complaint was that we (along with the other members of our family) we told multiple times at check-in about quiet time etc. But apparently, it was just words. Both nights there were people in the courtyard in front of the lodge until after midnight and in the hot tub until after 11. Quiet time starts at 10. With two toddlers in the house, having people being loud and obnoxious outside the windows was a nightmare. Would I return? Yes. But if I have the same experience, I definitely won't return a 3rd time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtElbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

We always want our guests to have a wonderful experience. Quiet time is mentioned in writing when you check in and on the information sheet in each cabin. We are glad you read the information we provided - not everyone does! And children are not always perfect - we are all still learning and growing. We wish you would have given us an opportunity to address the issues you mentioned. It is however impossible to address issues unless the guest lets us know while they are here. We wish you and your family all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

The lodge has several cabins, and our family of 5 adults stayed in the Barn cabin. It has 3 bedrooms and a nice kitchen- living area. There is only one bath but that didn't bother us. The furniture and dishes are an eclectic collection of comfortable but worn items. There is one of the best fire pits we have ever come across and a generous supply of dry wood. We bad a great fire and roasted marshmallows every night. There is great hiking and lots of history in the area. The drive over Independence Pass to Aspen is spectacular.
FYI - the gas stove and oven are very slow, so don't plan to do a lot of cooking.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Livingthedream999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MtElbert, Owner at Mount Elbert Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

It was a pleasure having you as guests. We are in the process of updating our kitchen items - and our apologies, but cooking at 9,770 ft elevation does tend to be a little slower than normal. We hope you will come stay with us again soon.
Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed three nights in the barn. It's really a three bedroom house. Very homey and quite. Had a wonderful time. We cooked most of our meals there although we drove down the hill and had dinner at the Twin lakes cafe one night.
There is a path on the property that connects to one of the Mt Elbert trails.
Enjoyed going thru a stack of old National Geographic's , some were 50 years old.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

I was there to hike Mt Elbert with a friend. We got one of the B&B rooms and it was perfect for the 2 of us (had 2 beds). The new owners were very nice and helpful. They knew that we were going to be getting up and out the door very early, so she prepared some muffins and fresh fruit for us and had the coffee pot ready to go for us in the morning. Room and bathroom was nice and was clean, and the beds were good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2017

If you are looking for cozy, quiet and nature, this is the place for you. We stayed here and just spent our time outside. The property is located on a gorgeous creek and in the mountains just under Mount Elbert's shadow. The owner is a great host! The best part for us was the hummingbirds. We stayed in one of the lodge rooms and not a cabin. The cabins look to be a lot of fun too!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dubosegriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews