We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“BEST SKI IN SKI OUT IN VAIL !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“BEST SKI IN SKI OUT IN VAIL !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have stayed here for 3 yrs in a row and love it more and more. We have even looked at other hotels IN PERSON in the village and lionshead just to see what else is out there and we have to say this hotel exceeds all others !!! You are outside all the hustle and bustle of the village yet only mins away by shuttle (which comes every 10 mins). You cannot beat the ski valet and private lift !!!!!! HANDS DOWN !! The infinity pool and hot tubs by firepits along Gore Creek provide the ultimate mountain experience. You can walk along Gore Creek and even walk to Lionshead. The fireside lounge has a huge fireplace with tons of seating and great live music on the weekends. The spa & gym are amazing. The gym is HUGE and the spa services are all great.
We dont usually go back to the same resorts just because we always like to try different places but this place is so hard to beat.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perkyperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear perkyperk,
Thanks for your enthusiastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you prefer to stay at Vail Cascade year after year. We do our best to provide a great guest experience and appreciate your positive acknowledgement. Many of our guests are pleasantly surprised to see how expansive our resort is and all the great amenities we offer, such as Aria Spa & Club. We are looking forward to your return; please let us know if there’s anything we can do to make your next visit extra special.

Thanks again!
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    356
    93
    34
    34
See reviews for
373
382
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed for four nights over Valentine's Day. Great room, nice and accommodating staff, and truly ski in/ski out. The private lift was fantastic. Yes, it is a bit pricey but I think you have to expect that when coming to Vail. Although the hotel is a couple of miles from the main villages, the shuttle ran pretty regularly back and forth. We only waited 10 minutes or so (at the longest) which we didn't mind. The pool and hot tub area was beautiful and overlooked the snowy creek. The attached spa was a nice feature. We will definitely return

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GirlUnderPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear GirlUnderPar,
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your Valentine’s Day getaway and took advantage of some of our unique amenities such as our infinity-edge pool overlooking Gore Creek and our shuttle service to Vail Village. Hopefully we'll see you again soon; we’ll make sure to save you a seat on our chairlift!

Again, thanks for sharing your experience!
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I just stayed here over Presidents' Weekend and found the hotel very nice and restaurant quite good. However, when I checked out I found on my bill a resort fee of $25 per night. I was not aware of the fee when I checked in and feel a "Resort and Spa" should include general amenities like use of the WiFi, the shuttle bus to town, the workout facilities and the pool under the room rate. Furthermore, the nightly rate I paid plus the resort fee make this hotel more expensive than the Four Seasons in the heart of Vail village.

When I asked the manager to remove the fee at checkout, she refused. I've stayed at several other high-end hotels in Vail and Beaver Creek and would recommend every one of them ahead of the Cascade. They are all roughly the same price but at least at The Four Seasons and other high-end properties don't nickel and dime you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dailytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie J, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Vail Cascade. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant and hotel. As a AAA Four Diamond resort, we strive to provide a great experience and appreciate you expressing your concern regarding our resort fee. We are sorry to hear you were not aware of this information prior to your arrival. The resort fee is something we include throughout the reservation process, as well as on our Website and in our reservation confirmation and pre-arrival communications. We are continuing to improve processes and want to make sure this information is clearly visible and to ensure guests understand the value of what the fee includes. We take great pride in our resort and always welcome feedback to help improve guest satisfaction.

Thank you,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We take a snowboard trip every year, usually renting condos for a more homey expereince, but this year we combined a work conference with our snowboard trip which put us at the Vail Cascade. For a hotel experience, I found it to be top notch. The service was excellent, everyone was friendly and made you feel special, from the front desk to room service to housekeeping, although be prepared with a pocket full of dollar bills because it seems someone is always doing something for you that requires a tip!

The pros:
Ski in/ski out access, with a nearly private lift.
The outdoor pool and hottubs are amazing!
The standard room comes with a tiny fridge and a coffee maker -- good for alcohol and leftovers. We used the microwave in the market to warm up food without objection and had a boxful of beer/wine delivered by Grappa Liquor store in the Village.
Windows that open or a balcony. So nice to have fresh air!
A ski conceirge so no need to drag skis/boards up to the room nightly. Soooo convenient. You can even leave your boots overnight and they put them on a dryer!
A reliable shuttle service to Lionshead and Vail Village. We never waited more than 5 minutes.
Friendliest hotel staff ever!

The con -- only one really...
Pricey. Everything was really pricey.
--There was no apres ski happy hour to speak of at the Fireside bar, and the "small plates" are quite small and expensive. Better off to go somewhere in town with a deal after a day on the slopes and then grab the shuttle back.
--Only one restaraunt, and entrees and wines all over $25 (food was tasty, though).
--Everything in the "market" seemed to have a 200% markup and the selection wasn't that great. $3 for a Powerbar? C'mon.

Although the $299/night pricetag seemed steep to me, that is probably cheap by Vail standards for the location and service levels. As far as hotels go, this one was one of the most well run, convenient, and friendly I have stayed at. The ski in/ski out access is phenomenal and everything you really need is located on property. I would definetely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racerxgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We were there for a wedding, and everything was imaculate! The pool was one of my favorites, an infinity overlooking the Eagle river and part of Vail Mountian- very tranquil. The only bad thing was a group of 20 had change for the wedding in the parking garage because we couldnt check in before the ceremony.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjagel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Pros:
- First time to Vail and there is a lift directly at the hotel!
- Spa = amazing with great deals. Got a great discount on a massage. Katie was my massage therapist. She did a deep tissue / shaiatsu massage. Perfect as I enjoy firm pressure. Great stretches. Apparently there is a male massage therapist there that often gets marriage proposals he is that good. The spa also has a great steam room. One of the days there was a free salt scrub sample in the women's locker.
- Jacuzzi = outdoor (more fun) - I believe there are two. There is also a smaller one in the spa area behind the basketball court. The men's and women's locker rooms also have one in each.
- parking garage is accessible via the 2nd floor walkway / enclosed tunnel. Better alternative to the more expensive valet parking.
- free shuttle service until midnight to the lionshead and vail village.
- Rooms are clean. Bathroom is a good size and is also very clean. Beds are fairly comfortable.
- free wifi
- we got upgraded to a mountain view - gorgeous view of the mountains and the creek!

Cons
- small jacuzzi behind the basketball court. There is also a pool there. But the loud basketballs don't make for a relaxing experience. Go for the outdoor jacuzzi
- Expensive breakfast buffet ($24). We opted to grab a breakfast sandwich from the hotel cafe the first day then went to the market the second day (Safeway is a 5 minute drive) and grabbed some breakfast items (blueberry muffins there are delicious!).
- the restaurant at the hotel was ok.
- there were some loud children playing races in the hallway late at night; walls can be kind of thin.

Overall the pros definitely outweigh the cons. I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: - Ask for a mountain view if possible - Request to be roomed farther away from families with childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmanalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
407 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I are from Denver, and went up to Vail for a long weekend. Vail Cascade is a beautiful property! We loved our room, the bed was very comfortable, and everything was very tidy and modern. The hotel has a shuttle service that takes you the brief ride to and from Vail and Lionshead villages. We never had to wait more than a few moments, coming or going, for the shuttle. It was very convenient and saved us the trouble of finding and paying for parking everywhere. The food at the bar and restaurant was excellent, as were the drinks! All of the wait staff, reception staff, etc. were very friendly! We will definitely stay at Vail Cascade the next time we're in Vail!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
2.7 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#2 of 33 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.4 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
2.2 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
2.9 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 33 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Property: Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing