We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stays in Summer of 2011 and 2009” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent stays in Summer of 2011 and 2009”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a fantastic, well laid out resort that has both hotel rooms and luxury condo rentals managed by and within the property. I have stayed in both. Obviously the luxury condo suites are better, stayed there in 2011 summer for a family reunion with about 17 people. Everyone loved it

The pluses:
The pool,- it overlooks the Gore Creek, has a great hot tub, and is well equipped with chairs and service people if you want a beverage or food.
The gym- you get access to the Aria, which is a comprehensive spa/gym facility. Huge, tons of equipment, classes, sauna/steam/etc. Clean, well organized. A plus
The condo- huge, well appointed, and has that Colorado feel. parking is included at the condo, and so was wifi.

there are frequent shuttles to Vail Village, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the food was great. REally, overall an A+

If you are staying in the hotel rooms, they are normal hotel rooms, nothing too fancy, but you still get access to all the amenities and at much cheaper price point.

Room Tip: If you can get a condo facing the creek, do so
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear doctorty,
Reading your review is the reason I enjoy being the General Manager of Vail Cascade Resort. It is truly delightful to hear that you have been a loyal guest for many years and have had a great experience every time you visited. We are grateful to have your business and appreciate your review on TripAdvisor. If you’re planning to return this summer, which we hope you do, we look forward to welcoming you back. In addition to celebrating our 30th anniversary, we have many great activities going on this summer, including BBQs, dive-in movies, boat races at the pool, beer events, KidVenture and more! Please feel free to reach out to me directly if I can make your return visit even more enjoyable than the last.

Thanks again,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    356
    93
    34
    34
See reviews for
373
382
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our third visit to this hotel in three years. It is good, but we felt it was simply not as good as before. Rooms and outdoor pool area are lovely and spotlessly clean.
Staff attention to detail however was not quite so good. It had been a very poor season, snow wise, and maybe they were a bit fed up, but for customers who have an annual ski holiday, they deserved more. Some staff were great, but overall not as good as we had experienced before, it was all a bit of an effort. Would we go back a fourth time - maybe/maybe not?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear elmScotland,
We are disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. As a loyal guest of Vail Cascade, each visit should be better than the last. I can assure you that the poor winter season is not an excusable reason for our service team to not deliver the best service. I appreciate you providing us with your feedback and I can promise you that we have addressed it with our team. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to continuously improve our processes and service standards as a AAA Four Diamond resort in Vail. We do hope you give us another chance to earn back your loyalty and I personally invite you to call me directly if I can make your next visit more enjoyable.

Thank you,
Brett Schoenfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Aurora
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This resort property was incredibly clean, postcard perfect, with a helpful staff from the moment of check-in. Gabby at the front desk was awesome. She greeted me, checked me in quickly and answered all of my questions. The room was an upgrade and I was not disappointed. Extremely clean, comfortable bed, large screen TV and a nice shower made this very memorable. The conceirge folks gave us tips on casual places to dine at Vail Village and Lions Head. They provide a quick shuttle service direct from the hotel and the conceirge knew exactly when the next shuttle would arrive for us. VERY well coordinated. Ultimately, I came for the spa and I was not disappointed. My massage therapist Dave was seriously amazing and some of the massage techniques he incorporated gave me goose pimples. Im a registered massage therapist and I left learning some new techniques that I will use in the future. The only disappointment was that I had made all of the spa arrangements prior to arrival and knew exactly what the fees were going to be. But once I went to pay it was not what I was quoted. The person I had brought with me had to hear what I paid for everything and it was inappropriate and embarassing. And later when I returned to use the spa after being out, the after hours receptionist neglected to give us keys for a locker so we had to make our way back down to her to get keys. Had it not been for this experience at the spa, this resort would have gotten an excellent rating.

Room Tip: Splurge for the upgraded room. It is well worth it and not much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bemisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
It was great to read your review and hear that you had an awesome visit. We value your attention to detail and are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities, as well as a relaxing massage from Dave at Aria Spa. We also appreciate you informing us of your experience upon check out. As a top-rated spa in Vail, we follow certain policies to ensure everyone is billed correctly for the services received. While it is important that we’re accurate in accounting, we appreciate your candid feedback on how this made you feel and will share this with our team as a learning opportunity. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope you come back and enjoy another “postcard perfect” stay.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are nice and spacious, and the staff is fabulous and always helpful. We've stayed there twice, and would definitely stay there again. They offer a shuttle into Lionshead and Vail Village, so getting around without a car is a breeze. They even started a shuttle once a day to the local grocery store, which is awesome!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear itsmelaney,
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to Vail Cascade! It sounds like you took full advantage of our shuttle service and convenient location. We do hope you return for another stay soon and please let us know if we can make your next visit even more memorable.

With thanks,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Vail Cascade. Service was oustanding all the way around. Everyone we dealt with was helpful and quite courteous. I had found a deeply discounted price for a 4th floor standard-limited room through a 3rd party website, but felt a little uneasy booking and prepaying for it. When I called the Vail Cascade reservations line directly, they immediately offered to match the rate and offered to hold the room for 24 hrs while we shopped around and made a decision. The room itself was plenty spacious and clean (the room wasn't nearly as "limited" as I had feared it might be). Only complaints were that it was rather warm (we ended up having to open the window at night) and hallway noise woke us up a few times. The lobby lounge is cozy with a nice big fireplace, good selection of craft beers, and tasty bar snacks/appetizers.The on-site chair lift was very convenient and on-site storage and service made it easy to get out on the slopes. The shuttle service was also a nice feature and runs frequently (until midnight). My advice would be to make sure you know exactly where it picks up before you get out on the slopes. We wore ourselves out the first day trudging around Lionshead with our ski gear looking for the stop. With the convenience of the shuttle though, I don't think we missed out on a thing by not staying in downtown Vail Village or Lionshead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aholdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We wanted to try something different and save money. This is NOT a value hotel.
The blonde female front desk manager was irritatingly giggly and carried on a personal conversation while my kids were trying to ask how to get to the spa. They did not need to hear about the previous nights drinking.
We were charged for parking, even though we were told the room key works no matter what. We don't mind paying, but why charge an exorbitant amount for a garage far away that offers free parking either way?
the rooms were cramped and needed updating.
It is a great quiet location but needs lots of help.
We will return to the Sonnenalp next year.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms would be nice if available but you'd be better off at another hotel where they v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Betty J,

We are disappointed to learn that your recent stay didn’t meet your expectations. I can assure you that your interaction with the front office staff doesn’t meet our own standards. The feedback you provided will be pivotal to the training, coaching and counseling of our associates. We take great pride in hiring the best in Vail and training our associates to ensure interactions meet our exacting standards.

As for parking in the winter season, we offer very competitive pricing in Vail. We are sorry to hear you were not aware of this information prior to your arrival. The parking fee is something we communicate throughout the reservation process, as well as on our Website and in our reservation confirmation and pre-arrival communications. In the summer, we are pleased to offer complimentary parking to all our guests.

As we continue to improve processes, reviews such as yours in invaluable. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope you allow us another opportunity to showcase what we truly represent. If you choose to return to Vail Cascade, please contact me directly and I’ll make sure that your next stay is up to your standards, as well as ours.

Thank you again,

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is not a five star hotel but it was a very nice stay. The service was excellent. Our room was nice. We stayed in a deluxe room at an affordable price. Good size for my husband and I and our daughter who stayed in a crib. While we were there they offered a beer and food pairing at the Atwater on Gore Creek restaurant. The food was fantastic. I look forward to going back and eating a meal there. The beer was just okay... not our taste. We played in the heated pool which was kept at a nice temperature and was quite beautiful as it was an infinity pool which backed up to the mountains. The hot tub was in a great location as well but it had too much foam which I wish they would have been kept up better. I also was surprised to see that the staff were dressed sloppy or casual. But minus their appearance they were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhappyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear happyhappyfamily,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. With so many hotels to choose from in Vail, we are glad you selected to stay with us. Time and time again we are recognized for providing a great experience at an exceptional value due to our service, amenities and location. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our heated infinity edge pool and hot tub, as well as our dining offerings. As Vail’s home of creative cuisine and craft beer, we’re hoping to help guests explore the world of craft beer and artisan food pairing through educational events such as the one you attended. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food!

We also take great pride in providing a relaxed, sophisticated yet casual atmosphere and expect our team members to be professional at all times, including in appearance. Thank you for providing your feedback on this; we value your opinion and want to make sure all our guests feel comfortable and at home when staying with us.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
2.7 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#2 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.4 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
2.2 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
2.9 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Property: Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing