We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Went to the resort in the summer months and it is pretty empty. The weather was amazing. Spent time by the amazing pool and on the decks reading. Upgraded room to a view of the mountain with a deck. The trail by the hotel is not a long walk up to the main town. It will take about 45 minutes to walk both ways. If you are dressed up for dinner take the shuttle bus. The service was amazing. Because it was off season the restaurant had a deal for dinner to keep us at the hotel. Best food of the week was actually at the resort. Worth the price. Didn't go to the spa. Room was clean and super comfy. One coffee shop in the morning with bagels, etc. Took forever to stand in line.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reading_Mom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I have stayed here during the ski season and loved it, but just stayed here in May as well. Such a beautiful, relaxing and welcoming place to just unwind. The food focuses on local and organic. The wine and beer list is good and the entire staff is very professional.

I prefer to stay a little off the beaten path here, walk along Gore Creek and just exhale! The Vail Cascade is my only destination when I go to Vail.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Janice P,
It’s amazing how many people who come to Vail for the skiing love Vail for the summer just as much. From the cool temperatures to the majestic surroundings and summertime events that make Vail so unique, Vail Cascade is an ideal destination for an authentic mountain getaway. We’re glad to hear your recent stay was enjoyable and that you are loyal to Vail Cascade! We are truly lucky to have you as a guest and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Brett Schoenfield
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Living in Denver, we have stayed at Vail Cascade several times and we absolutely love it! There is so much to do...

The spa is absolute heaven! Great treatment rooms, services offered, retail, and I've taken several nice yoga classes there as well. The pool is lovely and overlooks the river. We love to rent bikes at the hotel and then take them into Vail Village. There is a free hotel shuttle as well that is super convenient and also takes you into the village. If you have kids there are some great playgrounds in Vail. If you take the walking/biking path in the opposite direction of the village, it's a short walk along the river to a fabulous playground.

The rooms are nice and beds are very comfortable. Try and get a room facing the Gore River. The restaurant does a nice job and I would recommend the breakfast buffet.

Definitely a great place to stay in Vail!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Kara77,
Wow, it is truly an honor to be one of your favorite hotels! With so many great resorts in Vail (and Colorado for that matter), it is flattering to be your hotel of choice when traveling to Vail. We take great pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations and your review is a testament to our devotion to providing unique, memorable experiences. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed our award-wining spa & club. Did you know that Aria Spa recently ranked 24th on Condé Nast’s list of “Top 100 Resort Spas”?

It’s great to hear you took advantage of all our onsite amenities, including our bike rentals and infinity-edge pool overlooking Gore Creek. Vail is truly an amazing place and we hope you come back for some more family fun! We have great summer activities like boat racing, dive-in movies, BBQ, and s’mores.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, and thanks for the great review!
Brett Schoenfield
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in Vail to everything. I have stayed at this hotel for both business and vacation and have yet to be dissapointed. The property is located on Gore Creek and the rooms with a view are a plus. The marketplace has great food and is convenient for a light dinner or breakfast. The spa services during off season are discounted and the spa is wonderful.

Room Tip: Request a room with a patio or a view of Gore Creek
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COMahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear COMahoney,
Reviews such as yours are so valuable; we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Potential guests don't realize that although we’re not located in the heart of Vail Village, the serenity of our location on Gore Creek combined with our resort amenities; make Vail Cascade unlike any other hotel. It’s great to hear that you’ve been to the property for different reasons (work and pleasure). We always encourage guests that come for business to extend their stay and bring their family for an unforgettable, authentic Colorado Mountain experience. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stays and we hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again for sharing your positive feedback.
Brett Schoenfield
Vail Cascade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Booked an online special for our stay in February 2010. Long walk from room to ski store but next to ski lift and we had a nice stay. Room 7/10.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudibaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Everything was wonderful, but would have liked to have a better on-site eatery for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Chris K,
Glad you hear your recent visit was relaxing! Thanks for your feedback regarding our breakfast selections during the spring season. Currently we offer an expansive breakfast buffet in Atwater, in-room dining and grab-and-go items from the Market Cafe.

We hope you return again soon and thanks again for the review.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I went to the Vail Cascade for our 10 year anniversary. We got a basic room and the staff (Thanks Kyle!!) upgraded us to a suite with river views. AMAZING!!! The sound of the river was so relaxing... We loved all the staff that by the way are very friendly and helpful.

To hotel is very nice and comfortable. It needs a little update but it didn't bother us. Very clean and I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

The pool is great. Again it needs a bit of TLC (tile work) but the water was so clean and the perfect temperature. The jacuzzi was amazing too. I also loved the outside fireplaces. So relaxing!!!

The hotel restaurant was closed (Atwater) but the bar was serving dinner. DELICIOUS!!! I got the lat iron steak with chimmi churi sauce and my husband got the burger. Everything cooked to perfection, the beer was cold and the atmosphere was just what we hoped for.

Overall this hotel is a place that we would definitely want to visit again.

Room Tip: Room facing the river is amazing. We stayed on room 143. Super quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muchara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.3 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
2.2 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,261 reviews
2.4 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
3.0 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#7 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing