We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised but not completely sold...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We are frequent travelers to Vail but this was our first time staying at the Four Seasons. The hotel is HUGE with a somewhat confusing layout of rooms and seemingly miles of spacious corridors. Our room was very large by Vail standards - entrance "hall" with walk-in closet, large bedroom with fireplace and balcony with mountain views, big bathroom with double sinks, private toilet, nice shower, and an oddly placed free-standing bathtub (like you see in the Cialis ads). The room was very quiet and the bed very comfortable. Decor (as mentioned by other reviewers) is a little "sterile/corporate" compared to other hotel properties there - but Vail tends to overdo the the whole Alpine/Tyrolean thing as a rule.

We only ate breakfast at the restaurant. Service was a little hit or miss and the prices were a little steep - really? $6 for a glass of milk? On the other hand the waffles were awesome and the Bananas Foster-themed French toast was fabulous.

I don't mind a short walk to and from the ski hill as long as I don't have to wear my ski boots. The ski concierge service was really one of the best features! Lockers are roomy and have built-in dryers for boots/gloves. The attendants ask if you need assistance with putting on/taking off your boots. You can ski right up to the rack where you drop off your skis at the end of the day. Espresso machine/ fresh cookies & muffins/bottled water are available gratis and the ski rental shop is right downstairs - accessible by elevator.

We had super warm sunny weather last week (March 21-25) so there were lots of people using the outdoor pool/hottub area. It looks like a fabulous spot but we did not avail ourselves of the pool or spa facilities.

All in all, I would stay there again if the price was right. It pays to shop around.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at the Four Seasons Vail. We are very loyal to the brand and were hoping for the best, but left feeling somewhat disappointed.

Decor: Layout is a bit odd, and it feels more corporate than mountain rustic.
Service: Excellent
Food: Not good. Ate only breakfast at the hotel, but roomservice waffle and huevor rancheros were both not good. The next morning we ate at the restaurant, Flame, where the waffle guy pulled the waffle out of the iron with his bare hands. Oh, and we also waited 15 minutes before anyone offered us water, menus, took our order, etc. The third morning we went to the grab and go cafe in the lobby - very limited selection, and not really a full breakfast.
Location: It's definitely a walk, albeit a pleasant one. I'd say 10-15 minutes. The ski concierge is really nice and they do try to do everything possible to make it easier for you, but there's no denying this is not ski in/ski out and you lose a lot of the conveniences that come with that.
Room: Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, kind of sterile decor. Not cozy/mountain chic/etc.
Spa: Lovely - great massages, lovely waiting room, beautiful cold/warm pools for each sex

Mostly, for the price and given the brand, we expected more. The lack of a mountain-y decor and the very lackluster food, combined with the disappointing location just made for a sort of "meh" stay.

FYI, we had some amazing meals elsewhere - Sweet Basil, Kelly Liken, Game Creek Lodge, and The Left Bank

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newyorkgal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is a new Four Seasons and only if you have stayed at another FS property would you realize the Vail group is a little off in service, especially Flame Resturant. Avoid the Resturant untill they can figure it out. I won't bore you with all the details. I spoke with the manager and he was very receptive, hopefully they will get it sorted out. The Ski Concerierge carried the day, they were fantastic. This property has a lot of potential and with a little more time I believe they will reach the same level of service as other FS property.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitleybh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Upon checking in March 11 we were told we were upgraded to a suite. At that point realized I might not be able to write an objective review, but will try anyway. Not too tough, as with exception of a few issues, this is a first class, 5 star, beautiful resort. First time in Vail and wouldn't hesitate to stay again at the Four Seasons. Particulars:

Room: as mentioned, upgraded to a suite gratis. Since we had a 5th night free stay, overall average cost for our stay was ~$410/night (and included 2 massages, $300 charge). Room was remarkable. Separate living room, both bedroom and living room with 42 inch TV's and DVD players. Off bedroom is hall to bathroom with enormous storage-closets, shelves, drawers. Bathroom is huge with two sinks, deep soaking tub, separate shower, again huge amount of storage space. Off living room is another bathroom with shower and toilet/sink. Also bar area with small refrigerator. Room itself immaculate, also extremely quiet. Had occupied room next door but heard not a sound and no sounds from outside either except soft tolling of church bells. Cleaning service was efficient and timely. Couldn't do enough for you.

Skiing: so, not a ski in/out place but next best thing. They take your equipment upon arrival and bring it to the concierge where it waits for you each morning. Walk to the building is about 8-10 minutes through village, quite pleasant. Can take shuttle if so inclined but a pleasant walk. Concierge is wonderful. Skis waiting in morning. Have a dedicated locker during your stay which has heated rods to hang gloves and boots from. Building to lift is 40 seconds or so They also wait at the bottom of the lift to pick up your equipment at the end of the day (starting at ~2 PM). The concierge also has drinks, machine to make hot chocolate, chai, coffee; fresh cookies, muffins, water. The staff there can't do enough for you either. At end of trip equipment is packed up and delivered back to the hotel for you.

Spa/pool area: Outside area has large heated pool and two hot tubs. Also have drink service available outside (more on that later). Inside spa has to be seen and used. It is available free of charge to all guests and it is magnificent. Huge, separate mens/women's area. Both sound similar: huge hot tub with smaller cooling down tub next to it. Both sauna and spa rooms. Private showers, keyed lockers, lounge area to relax. Did have our two massages and they were excellent, both masseuses knew what they were doing. Fantastic facility.

Negatives: Just a few: (1)$20 for a single glass of wine poolside. Not including tip. Seriously, should at least include a refill (kidding). Seems a little overpriced to say the least. (2)Similarly, we ate one morning in the Flame in the Four Seasons. Service was slow-though only a few people there, took longer to get our breakfast than any dinner we had in the village. Again, prices were absurd-$6 for a bagel (nothing special either) and $7 for a tiny glass of fresh squeezed orange juice, $19 for 2 scrambled eggs and hash browns. These prices seem more what you might run into in an isolated resort on an island where you have no choice where to eat. You have plenty of choices in the village steps away and would recommend taking them. (3)Bedside lamps in bedroom were adequate but always surprised more hotels don't include dedicated reading lamps, like a wall mounted halogen spot for those that occasionally read in bed.

But, don't let these small points detract from what is an outstanding resort to stay. Just eat elsewhere.

Tips:

(1)If flying in, don't rent a car Village easy to navigate on foot (or shuttle) and not worth hassle.

(2)Great breakfast at 'The Little Diner' at Lionshead (10 minute walk).

(3)If looking for a special dinner, 'The Left Bank' in the village is outstanding. Expensive, but well worth it. Superb food, service, atmosphere.

(4)Other extreme is 'Mo's Barbecue' next to 'The Little Diner'. Inexpensive comfort food, pulled pork, chicken, turkey. Delicious and really low cost.

Room Tip: Hope for an upgrade. First time we got so lucky and it was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JW/SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

A wonderful new addition to Vail Mountain. This luxury hotel has just about every amenity. Combine this with outstanding, warm & friendly service and you have the ultimate vacation (ski) experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cori246jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My family stayed at Four Seasons Vail in January, and it's the best ski accommodation we have experienced.

The service is second-to-none throughout. There is a Gorsuch Ski Concierge in the hotel where all ski hire is arranged, and then skis are taken to the ski concierge near the chair lift. You never need to take your skis anywhere - it's all taken care of for you!

The rooms have a fireplace and are very luxurious. Flame Restaurant food and service was exceptional. Room service was also excellent. I hope to spend more time at the Spa next time as it looks amazing!

The hotel car service is wonderful and can take you to nearby places on request.

We can't wait to visit again, hopefully next January :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FourSeasonsColorado, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back next season!
Kind Regards,
Dana Berry
Director of PR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The rooms are fine but, for the money there are certainly going to be better places. As for the service it is spectacular and you probably won't find that any other place in vail. They have a phenomenal ski concierge and a terrific spa. The location being right off the highway is certainly not the most desirable location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.9 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
0.1 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.5 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#6 of 30 in Vail
330 reviews
0.7 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,328 reviews
1 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail

Address: 1 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#2 Business Hotel in Vail
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#5 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $598 - $3,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Vail Village, Four Seasons Resort Vail presents a fresh interpretation of a grand alpine hotel. With 121 guestrooms, 19 Residence Club units and 16 Private Residences, the Resort features amazing mountain views, a signature restaurant, Flame, and full-service Spa with 13 treatment rooms. The heated pool, flanked by a fireplace, is open year-round. In winter, skiing is a breeze with the Four Seasons Ski Concierge at the base of the Vista Bahn chairlift. In summer, families discover dazzling outdoor enjoyment, with an abundance of activities including horseback riding, fly fishing, zip lining, rafting, biking and more. With the largest guestrooms in all of Vail Valley — each with a soaking tub and a stone fireplace — you may not want to leave the room! Yet the Resort is just steps away to Village nightlife, shopping, al fresco dining and the renowned Village "apres" lifestyle Vail is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Vail Hotel Vail
4 Seasons Resort Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing