We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Offended by the service and the way we were treated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Larkspur

Larkspur
Reserve with OpenTable
Larkspur is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 123 Restaurants in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$60
Cuisines: Contemporary, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Free Town of Vail bus route - Golden Peak stop.
Description: The ultimate Vail culinary experience. Larkspur Events & Dining is a year round events venue at the base of Vail Mountain, also offering winter ski in/ski out lunch & après. Casual dinners are offered on Fridays and Saturdays during the winter season. Larkspur focuses on private events, weddings, meetings and special gatherings.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Offended by the service and the way we were treated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our server treated us as if we were a group of teenagers coming in from the free concert to take his table of 6 and only order water. When in fact I had made reservations for our party in the bar area but were seated in the main dining area. Our bill was more than $400 and based on the way that the server treated us we should have left before ordering and definitely wish we hadn't tipped him the 20%+. I have never been so offended by a waiter and haven't ever eaten at a restaurant where I had been told so many times. Obviously, customer service and satisfaction is not a priority at Larkspur.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    52
    26
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expected More”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

After hearing about the place my expectations were perhaps too high. The food was good not fabulous but good the service was ok but not great. Better places to go for the money in Vail.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmitch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service OK, cocktails stingy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Overall a good experience with one exception. The dining room is very nice, with some booth seating, an open kitchen and a pleasant but not stuffy feel. The food was really delicious and very well presented. We had to track down our waiter a few times - he seemed a bit over busy but othewise that part of the service was fine. We did have an issue with our drinks. We ordered two vodka cocktails and they were skimpy and watery. I ordered the same drink pretty much every night we ate out in Vail and had no complaint in any of the other restaurants so it's not that we have unreasonable expectations. We asked if they could add a splash of vodka, even if they needed to charge a bit more and when the bill came they had charged us for two drinks. In the end, we did complain to the manager and he offered an adjustment to our bill - so at least he listed. But frankly it wasn't about the money - just that it was a tacky thing to do in a restaurant like this and not really reflective of the kind of service I would expect in this environment.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Tree, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went after working all day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Food was excellent.
Beautiful restaurant
But was really cold by the windows, ask for interior table!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lschult63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We went to Larkspur only because other restaurants were full and it wasn't (but the place has been recommended by a good friend), which is not fair, because food does not get much better than that. We were on a 4-person party, so we had about 8 different dishes from a not so vast menu. All dishes were terrific. I personally had the squash raviolli as the starter and the duck as the entree, and both were fantastic. The wine list caters to every taste and the service was flawless. I found the decor a little too urban and non-descript, charmless, but the food easily compensates. Great restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GustavoRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Larkspur also viewed

 

Been to Larkspur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing