We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Saves This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Overall, we had a pleasant time at this hotel. There is nothing that sets it apart from any other place other than the location. Quick walk to the slopes. Rooms are definately outdated, and most importantly ask of location of your room. Ear plugs were provided, but if you are in a room directly over the bar, they will not help. If luxury is of high importance to you, then this is not the place to stay. If decent rooms at decent prices with great location are your desire, then worth looking in to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

we went to Vail for the Octoberfest and had lunch at Pepi's
The Farmersplate (Bauernplatte) was very disappointing and the Leberkaes ( a Bavarian
specialty) was not up to par, it is a tourist trap in the middle of the town, but very authentic.
Because of the disappointing lunch we never went back for dinner.
Vail is beautiful any time of the year, hope to be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We were in Vail for a couple of days this week planning our wedding which will be next year. We were looking about at much of the accommodation available and spent a night at the Gasthof. For the money it was unsurpassed in Vail in our opinion. We stayed for $115 for the night in a basic room and found the premises to be absurdly clean – attention to detail in keeping the place clean and tidy given its age is to be commended. While generally you have to be generous with a place when it was built in 1964 it I unacceptable to have to accept a place that isn’t maintained well. We found the Gasthof to be very well maintained. Everything was clean and tidy and the best was done to make the most of the facilities at their current age. Add in the cost of accommodation in Vail in general and we were very impressed comparing its competition and its prime location right in the heart of Vail. All the staff were very welcoming and polite and the warm feel of a privately owned and operated facility ran through the entire experience.
Don’t go expecting The Sebastian or Solaris, because it’s not what they are trying to do here.

Room Tip: Base rooms are above facilities so can be noisy at night and in the morning as the town wakes up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisbane84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The whole village has a European charm and "Pepi's" is one of the original hotels in the village. My standard room had 2 beds and a small bathroom, but there was a large deck with a few plastic chairs. A large tree offered semi-privacy and I could sit on the desk and listen to children playing at the fountain or listen to the singer right below me. If you like feeling like you're in the middle of the action, this is a great spot. If you want a quieter space then make sure you book through the hotel and work with them. Room was comfortable and clean. Downsides are few: no wifi in rooms, no icemaker so you need to get limited ice from bar. This became one of my favorite places during my trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Gasthof Gramshammer. We had a deluxe room with a king sized bed. The room was clean and comfortable with a good amount of space for two people. Breakfast is included which consists of fruit, toast and cereal. My only complaint is that you essentially have to drive through a pedestrian mall to get to this place - which if you've never been to Vail is really confusing. Also, the BBQ fest happening outside the hotel in the pedestrian mall made it virtually impossible to take our car out of the garage one day. Not a huge deal, but would have been nice to have a bit more freedom to come and go.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderluster94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at the Gasthof Gramshammer for one night on a recent family bike trip. It was low season in Vail so everything was extremely quiet and pleasant and the room was ultra-clean. No noise issues at all and the room had a huge balcony/deck overlooking the fountain. Breakfast was totally adequate with toast, bagels, pastries, excellent fresh fruit, cereal, etc. and it was ready right when the dining room opened. I agree that the hotel decor is a bit dated, definitely not the right fit for people who want an ultra-modern spa-like experience. We found the staff to be very accommodating and they offered (without us asking) for us to keep our bikes in their ski locker rather than on the bike rack outside or in the garage. Nice option right in the heart of the Village, just be aware of their "look and feel" which is definitely more old Europe than glass and marble chic.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmckayboulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Went to Pepis to meet friends to get a drink after skiing.
It took 25 minutes to get my first beer and that was because I had to get up and ask a manager for a server. Server was rude and the food was terrible and of small portion.
The prices were too high and the decor was old and outdated.
Drinks were watered down and the server double charged my card.
When I called them to ask about it they said my bank must have made an error.
If it were on fire I would throw gasoline on it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 km away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#8 of 30 in Vail
365 reviews
0.2 km away
The Galatyn Lodge
The Galatyn Lodge
#17 of 30 in Vail
54 reviews
0.5 km away
The Wren
The Wren
#21 of 30 in Vail
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
526 reviews
0.8 km away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#23 of 30 in Vail
326 reviews
0.3 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4512
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vail
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $197 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing