We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Austria in Vail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the first time and it was lovely. Our room was ready when we arrived and all our bags were brought in so we could go skiing right away. It is centrally located in Vail and is an easy walk to the slopes and many restaurants. They have a wonderful breakfast included in the price which included hot and cold cereal, cold cuts and cheese, fresh fruit, and different breads.

The hotel is "Gemutlich" which doesn't translate directly into English, but means friendly, homey and warm. Definitely would stay here again. As a note, they charge for parking (which is also limited--so we didn't move the car...but didn't have too cause of the location...close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Bar as that can get noisy. We knew about that before we came.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eve1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2012

The food is greasy.

I hated them because they charged 18% of tip but the service was slow, the waitress never smiled. She deserved 5 or 7%. Why did they charge 18% without asking me?

The food was very expensive for the received value.

I will not eat here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsraelVillarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel has it all. It has a restaurant, a big bar with nightly live entertainment (crowded with mostly foreigners and not locals), a ski rental shop, locker for ski gear, two hot tubs, sauna, gym, computer to print your boarding pass from, underground parking lot and all just a short walk to the base of the Vail in the main village (closest ski lift is Vista Bahn). The breakfast was European style with fresh meats and cheeses, hot oatmeal, toast, cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fresh fruits- we left there full everyday.

The rooms are decent size and were clean. Our room had 2 queen size beds and views of the mountain. The only downside is the noise from the street, which isn't the hotels fault . The hotel does provide earplugs if needed, I am use to sleeping with noise so I wasn't affected but families and those looking so a quiet night sleep may want to keep this in mind.
Another thing to keep in mind is that there is noone at the front desk from 10pm-7am and you must use a discreet side entrance.

The price we paid for the hotel compared when to others and all it's amenities and friendly staff is the reason I feel it deserves 5 stars. It's not super luxurious but it is cozy and fun. It also looks like it was airlifted in from the Alps.

Room Tip: room#216 is an end room and has a huge corner balcony overlooking two different streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just got back from another great trip to Vail, stayed again at Gasthof Gramshammer, and I like it more each time I'm there. (Locally known as "Pepi's;" he and his wife Sheika, the owners, are originally from Austria.) European atmosphere, and the rooms are not only pretty but cozy with very comfortable beds. Best location in center of resort at a very good rate. Bathrooms small but complete. Outside noise has never been a problem for me, will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Have always stayed in lowest-rate rooms, they are more than suitable. Two double beds in each. A li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here recently with 3 others in a double room. A comfortable stay - there were complimentary earplugs in the room, which indicates it can possibly get a bit noisy with party'ers in Vail, but I would imagine that could happen at most reasonably priced hotels in a ski town. Room and hotel were clean, a little dated, but comfortable. Only complaint is the free breakfast wasn't the best quality (e.g. white bread, reconstituted OJ), but good enough to get you started if you don't want to go out and buy breakfast in town.

Can't beat the location - in the center of Vail Village - right next to the legendary Red Lion, restaurants, & shopping! Parking is available for $12/day, but as there is not much parking space in Vail, cars must be "double-parked" in the underground parking of the hotel. N.B. as the hotel has limited parking space, you won't be able to leave your car past 1pm if you are checking out the next day. You can move your car to one of the 2 available public lots, though they are expensive (all of Vail is expensive, really!).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nas_to_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This inn has following:

Greate Location in the center of Vail Village
Room with heated floor

BUT...

It also has a cheap mattress that sinks where you have to position yourself at the edge of the bed to have some sleep. Otherewise, you may have to spend hundreads of dollars to fix your backs later. For the money they are charging, which is a lot of money, they could have spent some money on the bed. The mattress was so horrible, I could not sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bloke11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Overall, we had a pleasant time at this hotel. There is nothing that sets it apart from any other place other than the location. Quick walk to the slopes. Rooms are definately outdated, and most importantly ask of location of your room. Ear plugs were provided, but if you are in a room directly over the bar, they will not help. If luxury is of high importance to you, then this is not the place to stay. If decent rooms at decent prices with great location are your desire, then worth looking in to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 km away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#9 of 30 in Vail
364 reviews
0.2 km away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 30 in Vail
519 reviews
0.2 km away
The Galatyn Lodge
The Galatyn Lodge
#17 of 30 in Vail
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.3 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,291 reviews
0.5 km away
The Wren
The Wren
#20 of 30 in Vail
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4512
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vail
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price Range: $177 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing