We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel friendly service”
Review of Lodge Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge Tower
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Very nice hotel. Everything looked at felt new and the bathroom was huge. Great views. Only complaint was that they don't have air conditioining so we slept with the windows open and were woken up at 6:30 by birds squaking all over town. Tried closing the windows but by then we were already awake.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaime9310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge T, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us this summer. It is true that Lodge Tower and several other hotels in Vail do not have air conditioning. Mountain air, however, is always cool at night, so sleeping with an open window keeps the room temperature comfortable.
The birds that woke you up were probably magpies- they are very beautiful, with black and while plumage, but they are widely known for being quite noisy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Lodge Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here in July of 2011 and could not be more pleased with our choice. We were attending a wedding at the The Lodge at Vail and decided to go with the condos at the Lodge Tower rather then the hotel. After spending time in each, I can definitely say that the Lodge Tower is a much better choice if staying with a family. We rented a 3 bedroom unit for 4 adults with 3 small children and had more room than we needed. We had a mountain-side room, which is definitely the side that you want to be on. There is a lot of noise from the parking lot side, and even thought the views are great from both sides, the mountain side is much quieter. And you are really mountainside. The base of the mountain is right behind the hotel, and other than an access road, there is nothing between you and the mountain.

Both the rooms and the staff were top-notch. The outdoor pool has an waterfall and a small children's pool, and if you are traveling with kids, is a much better choice than the pool at the Lodge.

There was a free continental breakfast, which was very nice and clean, as well as free on-site parking during the summer. This saves the headache of having to park at the transportation center and walk up through the village to get to the hotel.

The hotel is located close to the village (a very short walk), but far enough away, so that there is little noise to disturb you.

I had considered staying at the Four Seasons in Vail. While you can't go wrong with the Four Seasons, I think its location has some drawbacks and for the price, the Lodge Tower is a much better choice.

I have now stayed in 3 bedrooms at both the Vail Cascade and the Lodge Tower. Although the Cascade is very nice, the Lodge Tower will be my first choice for future stays in Vail.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge T, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Thank you very much for such an elaborate review! We are very glad to know that you and your family had such a great time staying with us. We pride ourselves in being a prime choice for family vacation property, and we are very happy to know that your family enjoyed so much what we have to offer: from spacious yet reasonably-rated accommodations, to a children friendly pool with a waterfall to complimentary parking and breakfast, and to our friendly staff. We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We were looking forward to a nice time in Vail and excited to stay right off the village. Unfortunately, I booked late and got one of the last rooms available. It was their 'silver' option. A little less ($20 or so) than their gold level. If the person booking the room had just explained the differences I would have MORE than gladly paid the difference & upgraded the room. For Vail village this room was probably top of the line in 1970. I thought the entire place was like this, but turns out this is the only dated room on the property. I saw a gold & platinum room while housekeeping was there, so ran into these by chance. I was told ALL others are updated - granite countertops, updated appliances, tiled bathrooms. Do NOT Book room #699. The other rooms are GORGEOUS. Especially their platinum levels. To know that the room down the same hallway was so much more what we expected & to have found out just before leaving was very upsetting. It was too late to change but management offered a discount. I just wish they'd offered an explanation when I booked & sold up the room beforehand! Room #699 should not be booked until the owner updates the property.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmh3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge T, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodations. While the vast majority of our privately-owned units are gold and platinum- rated based on their decor, it is correct that we have one silver- rated condominium, which can be reserved at a discounted rate and only via phone.
We took into consideration your feedback regarding the accurate presentation of this silver-rated condominium and we will make sure to send a very comprehensive room description and images of condo 699 to all guests that wish to enjoy great location, services and amenities of the Lodge Tower in a more modest setting of a silver-rated unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

If you are staying here in the summer you have to stay in a rom not facing the parking lot. You will have to sleep with the windows open as there is no ac and gets hot during the day but cools off at night. Either way the parking lot gets noisy at night and early in the am. Also get a deluxe room that has more space and balcony. Also if you can get a room higher up. Going to have to book early as the regulars have this figured out. This is by the way an great hotel.

Room Tip: Read my review
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitownfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the hotel. The continental style breakfast had many options,even hard boiled eggs! Good ice machine ready to fill plenty of waterbottles for outdoor fun. The staff was helpful with parking and dinner suggestions. The room was a little tight with all our gear , we had lots, and with no a/c it got very warm during the day even with open windows. Best idea for the warm room is to play outside in vail all day until it cools.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlOutdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Very nice hotel, comfortable beds, but lodgerooms are a bit small - no room to sit or hang out. Great location - just around the corner from village shops and restaurants, with mountains in background. Luxurious pool and hot tub with beautiful view of the mountains. Nice continental breakfast (no cookies and milk in the summer). Staff was exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adg-KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We had a fabulous pre-Christmas family vacation at The Lodge Tower. Our 3 bedroom accommodation was perfect for 3 couples and a child. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the dining room area large enough to allow all of us (and company) to eat together in the evenings when we chose to stay in. Breakfast was provided by the hotel and satified all ages before heading out skiing then having a full kitchen in the unit made it easy to cook the other meals .
The hotel provided an excellent shuttle service from the Denver airport and the concierge service was most helpful in arranging reservations and shuttles to the grocery store.
Best of all was the availability of a wonderful hot tub (3) and gym area with spa services as well.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAB7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.3 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,273 reviews
0.1 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
500 reviews
0.5 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.2 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Tower

Address: 200 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range: $226 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Tower is snug against the base of Vail Mountain, just 75 yards away from Gondola One. From single hotel rooms to spacious three-bedroom condominiums, the Lodge Tower offers a generous range of luxurious, mountainside accommodations for families, couples, groups or individuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Tower Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing