We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
4
7
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
7
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 12 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2016

Well besides the rain the place is great The reservation contractor totally screwed up or reservation but the site staff was awesome fixed it and gave us a great site! Hope to get some fishing and Kayaking in1` Rates a good , showers could use some maintenance.

Room Tip: Nice Campgrounds away from crowds!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CryptoTracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2015 via mobile

Left Lake Vallecito Resort campground and travelled East on 160 to Walsenburg CO The campground we were to stay in was not to our satisfaction (Dakota) so we found this jewel with a lake for fishing, golf course, restaurant and stunning sunset. On Loop D where we camped there is electric, but communal water spikets. No sewer but does have a dump station. at spacious pull through sites w/ample privacy between campers Perfect for class A and Fifth wheelers as well as class C campers. Around $27.00/ night at these particular sites Fire ring/grill combos w/ firewood and ice available at ranger station for modest fee. Clean restrooms & separate showers spaced conveniently. Handicapped access able. Paved roads to and from entrance Pet friendly but as most keep leashed and pick up waste Very nice playground in loop D w/ pebbled floor Dumpsters are located conveniently This is a huge state park Ground is dry, brush and small tress typical for this area's vegetation. Heard coyotes so suggest you keep pets on leash and do not let them roam free. CO fishing license required to fish in Lake Can have boats but need to be inspected at entrance before launching Before we entered camp we stopped at Safe Way grocery and stocked up. Several scenic things to explore in area too. A great find for these weary travelers after coming through some windy & steep passes.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2015

We had an RV site with electric but they do not have water. We were not to far from the bathrooms which were clean and the showers were also. Just make sure you bring a lot of quarters for the showers. It was hot there but they have a nice lake you can drive to and swim. Not any real shade. We did see a rattlesnake which the ranger told us they try to remove them from the sites when they find them so no one gets bit. My hubby brought his clubs to golf and we went to lunch at the golf course club house which was a fun treat and very reasonable. The only down side was we had a storm and I saw some people throwing out their tent as it didn't hold us with all the wind we had.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is one of our favorite stops whenever we travel out west. Many of the sites have beautiful views of the mountains and are nestled in among old, sprawling junipers. We have had many great bird watching and other wildlife watching opportunities each time we visit the park.
The bathrooms and showers are probably the cleanest we've experienced anywhere and each year we have been back for the last four years, they look as good as the first time. They also do their part to conserve water, but do require quarters for the showers. You should be fine with $1.50 per shower, but it is hot, fully accessible and worth every penny.
There is power at the RV sites, but no water to connect to, so either fill your water tank or bring your own vessel for carrying from the communal spigots scattered throughout.
An additional bonus, is this parks proximity to the Great Sand Dunes National Park. At only about an hour and a half away, a visit there is a must!
It is well worth a stay at this peaceful and beautiful campground and I can't wait until next time!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank caryalexandraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2007

I've camped in an RV twice at Lathrop State Park. It's a nice park with a lake and hiking trails. If you're looking for a nice, shady park this is NOT the one. There are few trees in the area and the wind blows a lot so few people take the chance on putting out an awning. Also, there are no hook-ups with water so make sure your tank is full before you get settled in a spot. Be sure to have lots of quarters on hand....you have to pay for your showers in the bath house. The park has beautiful views of the Twin Peaks and surrounding area. It's also only about 75 miles to Great Sand Dunes National Park which is a place you must visit.

11  Thank LoveToGo629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews