We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Parkview Inn Motel(Canon City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Canon City)
US$85
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colorado Inn(Canon City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Motel(Canon City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Canon City(Canon City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn Motel(Canon City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
34
4
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
4
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable bedplace to staysangre de cristo mountainsfront porcha great stayan amazing viewmaking surequiet placemilky waymain streetsmall townmountain rangein towndickbarbjonesaccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 41 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

THIS IS NOT A BED AND BREAKFAST!! My husband and I stayed one night. There was no one to meet us, actually no one was there at all. Not one human being on the premises. Some of you might think that's great, but it's a bit disconcerting. They give you codes for your door, and the front door and that's it! It is very clean, and quiet. There is no one there to answer questions, and zero breakfast.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Erlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

We are very sorry to hear that your stay at The Lamp Post Lodge was not completely satisfactory. We have transitioned the Lodge away from a full service Bed & Breakfast to a more self service lodging model to allow our Innkeepers more time with their grandchildren. The Innkeepers live a short distance away and are always happy to answer any questions you may have, and are consistently on-site assisting with the comfort of our guests. We appreciate your feedback and if there is anything we can do to make up for the miscommunication we would welcome your call.

All the best,
Owners, The Lamp Post Lodge
970-219-3295

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2016

We went to Westcliffe to see the stars and the Milky Way; the town is a designated Dark Skies area. The weather was iffy but after dinner the skies cleared and I was able to see the Milky Way and millions of stars plus a shooting star! Check one off the bucket list! Our room (the Bristlecone) at the lodge was spacious and comfortable and clean. My only complaint was that it was a little too warm for sound sleeping, which was a surprise considering the elevation and weather. The innkeepers were friendly and helpful and breakfast was good. At their recommendation, we had steaks for dinner at casual Chappy's bar and grill on Main street, which were delicious, cooked on a wood fire grill. And for dessert, we had the Milky Way, topped with a shooting star!

Room Tip: Bristlecone is the largest room. Nice front porch with rocking chairs to look at the mountains. Pretty sunset views.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CosanneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We booked online, paid in full....only to be told in an email the next day we needed to pay the remaining 50%. Called to find out what 50% and was told that was an error....but also that they didn't have our reservation...the room was booked to someone else, even though we had a receipt and confirmation. They called back later that evening to say since we had booked the room first, we would be the recipient of the room. Lodge was clean and quiet upon arrival around 4 PM...greeted by manager. And then never saw or was able to contact anyone until the next morning. Website states wireless internet in our suite....no internet connection anywhere on the property...we tried knocking, calling and texting until 9 PM to find out how to access internet....no answer to anything. Very frustrating to have no ability to be contacted via cell phone, lodge phone or internet. We needed to be able to be reached for business and children and there was no possibility of doing that. Bed was not comfortable...quite hard....suite was beautiful....but no lights outside to enable guests to access their vehicle at night. Breakfast was biscuits and gravy...eh....juice was available only from 8-8:30 AM....was disappointed in our stay though the lodge is finished quite well and very clean. A little more ability to contact the hosts would have made a world of difference.

Room Tip: There is no cell phone reception, no hotel phone and no internet
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabobrumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

Apologies that your stay was anything less than spectacular! Our team works incredibly hard to do right by our customers, and on rare occasion, issues arise that seem to compound on one guest. We are disappointed that you did not receive the level of service you expected. Our internet is generally very fast and consistent, and having it out of commission is a, uncommon occurrence. We apologize that it was an impediment to your business needs. Thank you for reviewing our property, and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you an outstanding experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2016

My wife is a stickler for cleanliness and comfort. Both were met at the Lampost Lodge. And it was quiet - no loud wall blower unit blasting away all night. I especially enjoyed the firm mattress. Room was small but all we did was clean up, watch some TV and sleep - no need for more. The owners served up a delicious home made breakfast at 8:00 AM and we enjoyed a friendly chat with them and some other guests. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: The "Larkspur" is small but perfect for a couple.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 99mTcMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2016 via mobile

Best people who could answer any ?'s you had about anything in the area. Most informative and friendly. Rooms where most accommodating very nice clean large rooms. Breakfast was always hot and delicious but I understand that will be done away with after sept. But they might change there minds. Common areas where very nice. You could also enjoy front porch view of the mountains. Super clean and I will stay again if I come that way.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank joy2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews