We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
36
4
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
4
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable bed front porch sangre de cristo mountains a great stay an amazing view quiet place place to stay milky way main street small town in town dick barb jones accommodations views innkeepers
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 44 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2017

Our extended family stayed here for a wedding, and it was fantastic. The rooms were large and clean with all the amenities needed. The views of the mountains were equally amazing. We would definitely recommend this lodge to others.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicesharpe537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for reviewing our property - we appreciate your willingness to recommend us to others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We stayed in the Pine Grove Suite for 3 days over the 4th of July as we have for several years. While we miss the convenience of the Lodge being a B&B and the presence of the Innkeepers, we continue to enjoy the lovely room with it's comfortable bed and wonderful views. Barb Jones responded to my phone call quickly and provided the assistance we required. The rooms are impeccably clean and the Lodge itself is well maintained and very close to Westcliffe. The Lamp Post Lodge is well worth considering if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced place to stay while you enjoy this charming western community and the amazing Sangre de Christo Range.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovingRetirement06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for your repeat business, and for continuing to stay with us annually. We welcome you anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Let's face it, there's not a lot of choices to stay in Westcliffe. This one is really nice though. It's not a typical B&B - the owners are semi-retired; so you don't get breakfast.

They send you codes (very long codes) for the front door and your room. If you goof up on your code, just wait a bit - I tried calling the phone numbers posted but didn't hear back for a few hours. We stayed in the Rosita room, which is very small room with a queen bed, a chair, a TV and a bathtub / shower combo. We wanted the tub/shower combo. The bed was very hard, but acceptable for 2 nights.

The rooms were very hot but we were able to open our windows, and they have ceiling fans everywhere. We were there with a large group (we pretty much had the place to ourselves) and it wasn't until the last morning there that we noticed that there's a thermostat downstairs in the common area and it was set on heat and set pretty high. So if you find yourself still hot - look around for the thermostat.

There is a small kitchen downstairs, we were able to make coffee for our group every morning (and there's hot water pots with instant coffee in each room)

All in all it's not a bad place to stay; just don't go there thinking it's a full B&B

Room Tip: views on the west side; but you might hear road noise
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CO_Photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Thank you for the feedback, we are always interested in improving our guest experience. The Lamp Post Lodge is no longer a Bed & Breakfast, we converted the Lodge last year to a vacation rental lodge to allow the Innkeepers to spend more time with their grandkids. We apologize for the heating issue, we've had a very volatile spring in Colorado and it has been tough to keep things regulated with snow one day and sunny days the next. Thank you for bringing these comments to our attention and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017

The owners of the Lamp Post Lodge are semi-retired, so do not expect everything you would get at another B&B. There is no breakfast served. The place is largely automated with computerized locks.

That having been said: This is a clean, comfortable place to stay. The beds are rather on the firm side, but very comfortable. It is a **VERY** quiet place, where you never hear your neighbors. Spacious downstairs area. Just a really nice place.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are in the back, away from Route 69.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank dank493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Thanks for posting your review of the Lamp Post Lodge.

We are so appreciative that you stayed with us and look forward to having you back. The Lamp Post Lodge is no longer a Bed & Breakfast, we are operating as a vacation rental lodge and encouraging guests to support the local restaurants for breakfast. We have provided complimentary snack boxes in each room as many of our guests are out hiking early and prefer to take something to go. Our Innkeepers are on call and on-site daily to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2017

Stayed in an upstairs suite facing the snow covered mountains. Highly recommended. Very clean and quite. We felt like at home. Everything looks like new. King mattress on the firm side. Coffee, tea and some snacks.
Westcliffe is a very small town. We went to chance a view the Milky Way, but weather did not cooperate. Check out the Bluff for wildlife. Lots of deer in town. Visited Bishop Castle not far away. Also not far from Royal Gorge.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dgkurtz2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Thank you so much for the kind review.

Our Innkeepers are passionate about making our guests feel at home. We appreciate the recommendations for activities other guests might want to check out. Westcliffe has so much to offer and is one of the best kept secrets in Colorado. We look forward to your return trip to enjoy our dark skies and incredible outdoor activities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews