We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
37
4
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
4
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfortable bed place to stay front porch a great stay making sure quiet place stunning views in town main street mountain range dick barb jones suite accommodations sleep semi
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 45 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017 via mobile

Our room, San Isabel, had a spectacular view. The room size is generous as well as the bathroom. We spent 4 nights and never felt cramped. The owners provided tea, coffee, water kettle and nice array of snacks. If you are an avid coffee drinker, like myself, bring Starbucks Via with you for home base coffee. Then head to Sangre Home Decor and Sweets on Main Street. (5 minutes away) They open at 9 am for great espresso drinks and more. We stopped each morning as we headed out for the next adventure.

Honestly, this is the best location. We were all over the place from Canon City, Cotopaxi, Silver Cliff to San Isabel National Forest. West Cliffe seems to be an easy home base for all this area has to offer.

We had the windows open every day and night. The fresh Colorado air was welcomed coming from hot and humid Texas.

Lamp Post Inn pays attention to quality linens and towels. The rosemary mint shampoo, body soap and hand soap was exquisite! My only regret was not making it to Hillside Store to purchase some for myself!

We were absolutely comfortable here and highly recommend it. There is wildlife all around. We even had a daily visit from a Whitetail doe.

We will be back next Summer because there is so much more to do!

Thank you for the guide to the area listing. We constantly referred to it for recommendations!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank VarHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

We sincerely appreciate your review of our property and your experience - we welcome you anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

While traveling through late one evening most of hotels were sold out , we happened by chance to drive by this place. We stopped and called and were able to get 2 rooms. The owners were extremely helpful and kind. The view off the front porch is incredibly beautiful. The rooms are nice and clean. The beds are very comfortable. We would definitely make this our choice for westcliffe

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FRIPP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for such a great review - we appreciate your business and were glad to be able to accommodate you at the last minute!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2017

Our extended family stayed here for a wedding, and it was fantastic. The rooms were large and clean with all the amenities needed. The views of the mountains were equally amazing. We would definitely recommend this lodge to others.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicesharpe537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for reviewing our property - we appreciate your willingness to recommend us to others!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2017

We stayed in the Pine Grove Suite for 3 days over the 4th of July as we have for several years. While we miss the convenience of the Lodge being a B&B and the presence of the Innkeepers, we continue to enjoy the lovely room with it's comfortable bed and wonderful views. Barb Jones responded to my phone call quickly and provided the assistance we required. The rooms are impeccably clean and the Lodge itself is well maintained and very close to Westcliffe. The Lamp Post Lodge is well worth considering if you are looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced place to stay while you enjoy this charming western community and the amazing Sangre de Christo Range.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovingRetirement06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for your repeat business, and for continuing to stay with us annually. We welcome you anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017

Let's face it, there's not a lot of choices to stay in Westcliffe. This one is really nice though. It's not a typical B&B - the owners are semi-retired; so you don't get breakfast.

They send you codes (very long codes) for the front door and your room. If you goof up on your code, just wait a bit - I tried calling the phone numbers posted but didn't hear back for a few hours. We stayed in the Rosita room, which is very small room with a queen bed, a chair, a TV and a bathtub / shower combo. We wanted the tub/shower combo. The bed was very hard, but acceptable for 2 nights.

The rooms were very hot but we were able to open our windows, and they have ceiling fans everywhere. We were there with a large group (we pretty much had the place to ourselves) and it wasn't until the last morning there that we noticed that there's a thermostat downstairs in the common area and it was set on heat and set pretty high. So if you find yourself still hot - look around for the thermostat.

There is a small kitchen downstairs, we were able to make coffee for our group every morning (and there's hot water pots with instant coffee in each room)

All in all it's not a bad place to stay; just don't go there thinking it's a full B&B

Room tip: views on the west side; but you might hear road noise
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CO_Photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPL81252, Owner at The Lamp Post Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Thank you for the feedback, we are always interested in improving our guest experience. The Lamp Post Lodge is no longer a Bed & Breakfast, we converted the Lodge last year to a vacation rental lodge to allow the Innkeepers to spend more time with their grandkids. We apologize for the heating issue, we've had a very volatile spring in Colorado and it has been tough to keep things regulated with snow one day and sunny days the next. Thank you for bringing these comments to our attention and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews