We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Berlin Meriden
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I had never encountered bed bugs before I stayed in room 105 in this hotel, but after 2 nights there I had more experience than I ever want to have again. Apparently, some people are allergic to bed bugs, and I am one of those people. I had itchy welts on my arms and legs after the first night, and more after the 2nd. I thought it might be an allergic reaction to some Thai food we had for supper, but after I did a little research, I figured out it was bug bites. I stayed with other friends and family, who were in other rooms, and, it seems, did not get bitten. Also, I have to give the hotel management credit, when I called to complain, they were very professional, accepted my report, and told me that they have exterminators come to treat the place on a regular basis.

I would also say that the breakfast was pretty lame. Otherwise, the place was just okay, and low cost. We were in the area for my nephew's graduation from Wesleyan, and the location was pretty convenient for that.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank openmouthedfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cigar2316, General Manager at Days Inn Berlin Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

I am truly sorry for your experience during your stay. We value your feedback and have taken action to remedy the issue. We have retrained our staff and have 3rd party professionals do preventative maintenance at regular intervals to ensure this issue does not reoccur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband stayed here last week on business. One week later he had welts from bed bug bites all over his neck, parts of his wrists, face, and back. I've read that bites typically show up between 5-9 days after exposure, so the timing appears to be right.
We don't know yet if the bugs were transferred to our home. I have not yet shown any signs of having been bitten myself, but I can't tell you how stressful this is!
I'm terrified that his one-night hotel stay is going to cost us hundreds or even thousands of dollars in extermination fees.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I first discovered Days Inn a couple of years ago, when I needed some down time. (Adult children living at home with THEIR babies!!). I went on line, found a coupon and checked in for a weekend. I've been going with increasing regularity since then. I now also take one of the grands with me, who absolutely LOVES the experience...with the exception of the channels. If the Disney channel were on the line up it would be the perfect place for her...and if even ONE of the cooking channels was available the hotel would get ALL the stars! My only other comment is regarding the coupons. While they clearly DO NOT state weekends excluded, at least every other time I've gone, I've been told I can't use it. The last time, I was simply going to leave and go down the turnpike a short way, when I was informed, as a regular customer, it would be honored 'this' time. Unfortunately, that does not bode well for my next visit, but we will see.
I really do like staying there but don't want to go through the coupon discussion every single time. If I were manager, I would ensure whenever a return customer arrived, my front desk staff would be instructed to lose the 'can't honor the coupon on a Friday or Saturday because the manager said so' speech!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cigar2316, General Manager at Days Inn Berlin Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review. We really appreciate your feedback. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. We will continue to work hard to make sure any future stays you have with us are as good or even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

On New Years eve my husband and I went to Berlin CT to visit family. The best price on a hotel in that area was the Days Inn,and it was pretty nice for the price! The rooms were very clean and the front desk person was very friendly. The only complaint I have is the breakfast, there was very few things left to eat,but the coffee was hot! Last time I was in the area we stayed at the Best Western down the street and it was much more expensive. When we go again we will stay at the Days Inn!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a nice patio,upstairs rooms do not
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The host did their best but you get what you pay for and this is definately budget.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boristortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We've stayed here before and always feel comfortable. The price is right, the location is convenient to our friends and family in the area, and the rooms are clean. The staff at the front desk are very friendly (Don - the manager always has a good story to tell), the other staff personnel look busy except for the GM/owner? who just seems to walk around giving orders. The breakfast is adequate but limited and served in a nice open area near the lobby. Plenty of restaurants and chains just north of the Inn on the Berlin Turnpike - Ruby tuesdays was our favorite this time. Good enough for us to come back again next year.

Room Tip: Pets and smokers seem welcome at the Inn. Make sure your room is non smoking and cleaned after pets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaorVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The service was good.
But the hotel desperately needs renovation. The room was smelly.
The lock in the room's door was not in order and it took a lot of time to set it.
Definitely I'll not be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dweisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
1.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
6.8 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.7 km away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Berlin Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Berlin Meriden

Address: 2387 Berlin Tpke, Berlin, CT 06037-4065
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $77 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Berlin Meriden 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Connecticut, the Days Inn is the ideal place for all businesses and travelers alike. All rooms are equipped with complimentary wireless high speed internet, spacious work desk, coffee makers, and refrigerators. Located on-site is one of Connecticut's finest restaurants, the Hawthorne Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Days Inn Berlin Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Hotel Berlin
Days Inn Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing