We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Bethel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bethel
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We booked two room, adjoining. Very clean and comfortable. Spacious and updated.
Nice pool. front desk was courteous and helpful. Would love breakfast onsite, but coupons for nearby restaurants were a nice touch. We would defiantly book again.

Room Tip: So convenient to local attraction. Nice pool. Great value. We realy enjoyed our time in Mystic and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Bethel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you for the lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2017

I had some difficulty finding the front entrance, which meant I went first to two entrances whose doors appear damaged and not secure. Disrepair was visibly evident. The property has taken a beating. Someone else's hair was in the bathtub (trivial, but for some reason deeply disgusting), and the ceiling of the shower was in disrepair. Internet was slow, but serviceable. The staff were WONDERFUL, significantly offsetting the negatives of the physical space. Breakfast was toast, apple, muffin. More variety of cereal choices, yoghurt, soy milk, decent coffee, bananas would all have been substantial improvements. Turning off the TV would also be welcome. I don't watch TV; nothing worse for breakfast than Fox News cynically catastrophizing world events and muck raking, interspersed with obnoxious commercials.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank O4002WGmichaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Bethel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We do apologize about all the issues you had with your room. we will make sure all other issues are taken care of. Please give us another chance to show you we can do better.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

Didn't have a reservation as we did not know how far we would travel. Needed one that took dogs... came across this place and were happy they had room. Pleasant staff, room was good.
Continental breakfast pretty average...

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jake-Cleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Bethel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy you had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

The bed was uncomfortable. Yellow stains on the pillowcase and cigarette holes in the bedspread.. There was an odor when you first walk into the room.. :-(

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank I9817BPfrancescas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Bethel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

We are sorry your stay was not what you were looking for. We work hard to show our guest clean comfortable rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have accrued during your stay and have there issues looked into right away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 996hught
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Samir P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Bethel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 May 2017

I had a pretty bad experience. Many things were broken in the hotel room. I was surprised that the room could be cycled without proper checks.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank chrisZ3884JZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Bethel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

I am very sorry to hear you had such a poor stay at our property. That room should not have been released in such a poor condition and my Maintenance and Housekeeping team will be looking into this matter. The room you were in just appeared to be a terrible room and I know in the future we can show you an amazing stay.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We waited too long to make overnight reservations. The local university was have their graduation this weekend so all hotels were booked. We were able to get the last room available here. The room was basically clean but the carpet was badly stained, the blanket on the bed was old and pulled and there was mold on the bathroom ceiling. To make matters worse, we had to pay $138 for the room! On the plus side it was quiet.
We will not stay there again!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samir P, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Bethel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

We appreciate the feedback. We're disappointed your time with us was less than ideal. We strive to offer quality service and convenience for our guests. It's unfortunate our services didn't meet your expectations. We'll address your concerns with our team moving forward.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
0.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bethel/Danbury
0.1 km away
Days Inn Bethel - Danbury
1.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 15 in Danbury
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
64 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Danbury-Bethel At I-84
0.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Bethel

Address: 21 Stony Hill Rd, Bethel, CT 06801-1032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Bethel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bethel
Price Range: $85 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Bethel 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethel Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing