We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip could be restless night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ethan Allen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Business trip could be restless night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Hotel is not in a great location, but accessible from Interstate 84, and is relatively easy to find. The room could be a bit better, if it is not for the noisy room heaters-- they will wake you up, unless you are exhausted and sound sleeper. Breakfast is ok, not great. Rooms are not that great due to very old carpet, and walls showing sign of age. Unfortunately, Danbury is not full of hotels- So for less than $100 a night, I would rate it average to below av.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury, CT. We appreciate your buisness and welcome your feedback.

We apologize that the heater in your room was noisy. Needless to say, we understand how frustrating that must have been. Rest assured, that is not the norm and we will address this.

We will undergo a muli-million dollar renovation soon and the items you mention will be replaced with brand new Ethan Allen furniture and finishings.

Please feel free to call me directly the next time you visit Danbury, so I may personally assit you with your reservations. The best way to contact is me is (203) 448-7100. I look forward to hearing from you soon!. Thank you -

Warmest Regards,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager - Ethan Allen Hotel
21 Lake Ave. Extension
Danbury, CT 06811
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    170
    69
    30
    20
See reviews for
235
124
48
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I read somewhere that the hotel has probably seen better days. It must have been splendid some 30 years ago. You can still see it in the lobby. But these days it's more "shabby chic" than chic, and the lovely Ethan Allen furniture has seen better days. Scuff marks everywhere, dirty and loose fitting lampshades, the tones of beige and pink dissolving into greyness. The room is equipped with a dinosaur of a TV and the high-speed internet is definitely not high-speed (I had to ask the receptionist to reset the router 3 times during the 2-day stay). That said, the employees are fantastically helpful and pleasant to deal with---top notch, in fact, and worth five stars on their own. Room service is good; the food quite amazing. The pillows are the best. Overall, though, next time I'll try Hilton Garden Inn a bit down the road, which just seems to be newer/fresher/better business facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Eva,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury, CT . We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback.

We are thrilled that you found our employees to be 5 Star. We pride ourselves on hiring and retaining the "best people" in the market.

Thank you for your positive comments about our room service food and we are pleased that you enjoyed our Ethan Allen bedding, and liked our pillows. We truly believe in providing our guests with a good night's sleep.

We will undergo a multi-million dollar renovation soon and those dinasour TV's you mention, will be replaced with flatscreens.

Eva, we want you to continue to be our guest and stay with us each and every time you visit Danbury. Please contact me directly at (203) 448-7100 so I may personally assist you with your reservations and obtaining the "best" possible rate.

We look forward to hearing from you soon! Thank you -

Best,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager, Ethan Allen Hotel
Danbury, CT
(203) 448-7100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for nearly 20 years and hasn't changed much over that time. it almost always provides a decent service and represents good value compared with other hotels in the Danbury area. Could do with some investment in new TV's in the hotel bedrooms and new gym equipment though.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SolBizGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your choosing the Ethan Allen Hotel for the past 20 years!

We are thrilled that you continue to stay with us for your all of your business travel. We appreciate your patronage and welcome your feedback. We are pleased to learn that you feel our service is "decent" and you are receiving "good value".

The Ethan Allen Hotel will undergo a multi-million dollar renovaton soon and the guestroom TV's will be replaced with flatscreens and the gym will receive brand new work out equipment. We are excited about our upcoming renovation and we think you will be too.

We certainly look forward to your next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly so I may assist you personally with your future reservations. I can be reached directly at (203) 448-7100. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you!

Warmest regards,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager - Ethan Allen Hotel
21 Lake Ave. Ext.
Danbury, CT 06811
(203) 448-7100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Nice hotel right off the highway; We loved that there was a sitting area with tv and couch, chair,table and desk in addition to separate room with the bed and another TV. Plenty of free parking at the hotel. They had a restaurant and bar there as well which was convenient and they had a wonderful Sunday Brunch that included both breakfast and lunch foods and carving station, etc. and they didn't rush us out. I would definately stay there again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhondi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Rhondi,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel. We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback.

We are pleased to here that you found our hotel conveniently located and enjoyed the free parking. We are further pleased that you enjoyed our spacious guestrooms and Fairfields Restaurant & Lounge. We appreciate your positiive comments about our "award winning" Sunday Brunch.

When you are ready to return, please feel free to contact me directly so I may personally assist your future reservations. Thank you again for your comments and feedback!

Best,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager - Ethan Allen Hotel
Danbury, CT
(203) 448-7100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We were in town for a wonderfuly family event when it was spoiled by the actions of the GM Janice [---], the front desk manager and the staff at this Ethan Allen Hotel. We found blood on the bedspread and called the front desk. We told them we just wanted them to know and that we would just use the other bedspread. We checked the next day and they never removed the bedspread from the room, they just left it where we placed it. When I returned home, I found out items were stolen from our room - not of high value - just some costume jewelry and a blouse, but stolen nonetheless. Called the front desk manager and left repeated messages, she never returned calls. Then I called the GM Janice, who FINALLY called me back. After she interrogated me ("did you file a claim with your insurance company?") and, "I don't know how that happened, that's never happened before" - yeah, right! I simply wanted reimbursement for my stolen items, I told her the value was only $70. She reluctantly apologized. Is that it? No effort to compensate me! After I pressed her, she offered a free night. No, thanks. I'm not fond of sleeping in establishments with blood stained bedspreads, problems with theft, and unresponsive and uncooperative management. It wasn't until I wrote the PRESIDENT of Ethan Allen hotels (Hay Creek Hospitality, who by the way, never responded to me) that a gift card appeared in my mail box ffrom Janice [---] for reimbursement. This after 3 months of back and forth phone calls and a letter. To add insult to injury, the gift card was only for $30, even though I told Janice [---] that the value of the stolen items was at least $70. What a degrading response and a lousy display of customer service. I am sure Janice [---] will provide a rebuttal. Don't say you weren't warned. I will never stay here again. Find someplace else to stay in Danbury, you have many other options. I would give it NO stars if I could.

Room Tip: Don't stay here under any circumstances. Unsanitary and not secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautySpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

First time to Danbury from Australia. Never heard of the hotel chain before nor is it well know in the US.

Very good service checkin were very efficient, bfst lady was very attentive and the housekeepers OMG really does your room as if you're the only one staying in the hotel and I know the hotel is busy because all the conference audience stay in this hotel.

The hotel is cute it is well designed and filled with premium furniture... until i found out that Ethan Allen is a furniture make co. with lodge business then aha moment.

Looks unassuming from the outside but inside the rooms are huge! separate living room and the bed room.

Two negatives: The aircon is noisy... but if you had jetlag no noise will bother your sleep. And the TVs... each room has 2 TV in the lounge and in the bedroom but for goodness sake they need to update those dinosaurs.. I smiled the first time I saw it... it reminds me of my grandad house only its colored.

Overall i'm pleasantly surprise for this hotel in this small town..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollieitem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear Mollie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury, CT. We appreciate your business and welcome your feedback.

We are pleased that you found our staff to be efficient both in the dining room and upon check in. We are further pleased that you found the hotel to be "very" clean; this is something we pride ourselves on.

We are thrilled that you feel the hotel is well designed and you like our Ethan Allen furnishings throughout. You will be happy to learn that our current TV's in the guestrooms will be replaced soon with flatscreens during our upcoming hotel renovation.

Mollie, we look forward to your return stay at the Ethan Allen Hotel the next time you visit Danbury. Thank you for your comments!

Warmest Regards,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager - Ethan Allen Hotel
Danbury, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlonega GA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Hotel has everything needed for a pleasant stay. Rooms are nicely appointed and the private brunch for our family wedding event was quite nice. Unfortunately, an expensive jewelry set was left on the dressing table in the room while packing. The weekend front desk manager's response was inept and dismissive to our same day (early evening) call alerting him to our mistake. The room hadn't been rented so there was still hope. The GM took control when she returned. An exhaustive search found nothing. It was determined that the only person that entered the room after our departure and subsequent return to file a police report was a member of the cleaning staff. We were allowed to recheck the room but to no success. Don't make the same mistake that we did... leave your jewelry at home. I wouldn't use "the safe" since there was total confusion about who had access to front desk safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainTopInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripJanice, General Manager at Ethan Allen Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Thank you for choosing the Ethan Allen Hotel in Danbury, CT for your recent hotel stay and for your private family brunch. We truly appreciate all of your business!

The next time you plan on visiting the area, please feel free to contact me directly so I may personally assist you with your reservations. The best way to contact me is at (203) 448-7100.

We look forward to seeing you soon and often! Thank you -

Warmest regards,

Janice Perna-Nicholas
General Manager
Ethan Allen Hotel
21 Lake Ave. Ext.
Danbury, CT 06811
(203) 448-7100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Danbury hotels
3.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Danbury
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#3 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
7.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Danbury
Crowne Plaza Danbury
#8 of 15 in Danbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Danbury
Residence Inn Danbury
#9 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethan Allen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethan Allen Hotel

Property: Ethan Allen Hotel
Address: 21 Lake Avenue Extension, I-84 at Exit 4, Danbury, CT 06811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Danbury
#2 Business Hotel in Danbury
#4 Family Hotel in Danbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Danbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ethan Allen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ethan Allen is fully renovated Landmark Boutique Hotel that welcomes it's guests with a unique blend of warm hospitality and the legendary comfort & style of Ethan Allen Home Interiors. With it's spacious guestrooms, Ethan Allen supreme comfort bedding, Keurig coffee makers and Gilcrest & Soames bath amenities a year round relaxing and cozy escape awaits. Experience a culinary dining delight in our award-winning restaurant, or feel free to unwind in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Ethan Allen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethan Allen Danbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing