We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liberty Inn(Old Saybrook)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier Blue Guesthouse(Old Saybrook)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$305
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clinton Motel(Clinton)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveller rating
179
102
42
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
102
42
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barnew englandconnecticut riversmall platesmain buildingmodern bathroomclam chowderpiano playersitting roomantique furnitureprime ribpopcorn machinestep back in timegreat historybagelscodsmall room
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 361 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have been to the Gris so many times now we are 'regulars.' We love everything about it... the adorable town of Essex it anchors, the marina (no pun intended), the quaint, well-kept but not overly fussy rooms, the wonderful small plates and selection at the wine bar, the schmaltzy but WAY too fun sing along at the bar.... am I raving? Well, we have been here in every season, but especially love the summer when Essex is the perfect entry point to US 1 or 95 to ramble north through the lovely Conneticut beach towns... go to Abbotts Lobster in the Rough in Niantic, lunch at S & P in Mystic... or ... shhh!!! Ocean Beach Park, a well kept secret for the perfect family day... great white beach, boardwalk, kiddie amusement park and water slide in New London, all within 35 minutes of the inn... or go on to gorgeous Watch Hill, RI. Or backroad through the River Towns, Ivoryton, East Haddam, Chester... antiques, nurseries, farm stands and cafes. In the winter we enjoyed the small town holiday feel of Essex, and the Inn... only bad thing I have to say is the continental breakfast is BBAAADDDD... so go to the gourmet coffee shop across the street (think local Starbucks), or to Olive Oyl's for an incredible sandwich.... Just don't expect frilly, frou frou 'boutique spa service'... this is New England, folks We. Love. This. Place. (can ya tell?)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amgboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2011

In a 10 night trip through New England, this was our worst value stay. Arrived at 9pm after a delayed flight. Place locked up and dead. Grumpy reception. No welcome or help with cases. Nice room, but small. Worst breakfast in New England. No-one even appeared to ask if everything was OK in the self-service breakfast room. Hotel is wonderful to look at outside and in, but it is relying on its age and reputation and seems to feel no need to offer either welcome or service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PALMA2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grisresponder, Owner at Griswold Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

We are terribly sorry that your experience at our establishment was less than satisfactory. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable and to make them aware of all that makes up the "Gris" experience. We appreciate your comments and have addressed the specific service issues you raised with our staff.

The "Gris" is known for its convivial and spirited atmosphere. We regret that your visit was not livened up by a visit to our Tap Room where we feature live music nightly and a bit of local color.

Please let us know if you are ever in the area again. We would appreciate another opportunity to introduce you to all that is the "Gris".

Respectfully, The Paul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2011

I would not recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a nice quiet time away. It's a cute little town with a lot of history but the stay itself at the Inn was miserable. There was an all night karaoke fest going on. It sounded like a 20 yr olds keg party going on including screaming for hours. The music literally sounded like it was below our room and the bar was on the other side of the Inn. I have never in my life had two worse nights of sleep.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but at this Inn
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SSonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grisresponder, Owner at Griswold Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

We are disheartened to learn of your less than desirable stay during your weekend visit to our Inn. We feature live music every night of the week in our award-winning Tap Room - everything from Sea Chanteys, Dixieland, Rock, Swing, Banjo…For many, a visit to our lively Tap Room is the highlight of their stay – particularly Saturday night when the musical entertainment is somewhat interactive. If one is participating it’s great for most: if a quieter evening is what’s in order…

We are sorry that your room dissatisfaction was not brought to anyone’s attention until your stay was over - particularly after your first night. We have many different types of accommodations at our establishment. The Griswold Inn consists of the Main Inn plus seven surrounding historic buildings which include lovely guest accommodations. We could have easily moved you to a quieter “retreat”.

We do thank you for your comments as this serves as a reminder for our staff to ask prospective guests to identify any specific needs they may have when selecting an accommodation. If you should decide to give us another try in the future, please alert the Front Desk to any of your specific needs/desires: more often than not we can accommodate them. Our primary objective is for all of our guests to enjoy a comfortable stay with us – whether they want a “lively” experience or a quieter retreat.

Respectfully,
The Paul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We went to the Inn for Easter brunch today. we were herded into a small waiting area before being seated, we informed the hostess we had reservations. She then responded that everyone had reservations and seemed pretty damned annoyed! although the Inn had my credit card number and we were warned not to cancel our reservation or we would be charged. After the cattle call we were seated. We then served ourselves to some of the worst trash breakfast buffet food on the East coast. Totally boring. And we were charged thirty dollars a head. Head my warning folks.Rude service and overpriced slop.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank fuego1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2011

The centrepiece of the stunning postcard perfect town of Essex is the historic Griswold Inn - essentially a museum in and of itself. The Inn has a glorious tap room that will often be populated with the sounds of great music. Several buildings and shops make up the inn. The Griswold is located very close to the Connecticut River (which will offer a great sunrise to early risers). The town is full of quaint shops and an excellent museum - I hate to admit I spent too little time in this lovely town. I made reservations well in advance and requested a historic room with fireplace in the main building, but quiet. I did make this quite clear. Unfortunately though we were put in the main building, rooms 4 & 5 are located above the Wine Bar and when trying to sleep we could hear every word of the conversation occurring below us almost as though it was happening in our room! It is also noted that the fireplace in room 4 was not working. We were moved across the road into room 35 and that was extremely nice and quiet. All three rooms were were in were all tastefully decorated with a wonderfully historic charm. The beds were very comfortable. Room 35 has a very nice large shower. It certainly was extremely cozy to sit by the fire in the living room portion of the room and relax after a day of sight-seeing. There is ample parking available. As one reviewer has noted, the breakfast needs to be improved. There is a lack of attention given with a rather dismal spread. If the coffee or orange juice runs out, there seems to be no one there to refill. Though the staff did move us without hesitation, There is a good restaurant on site as well and worth going to for not only the tasty meal, but also for the great atmosphere. I really should have been offered a better room well in advance since I called and indicating my requirements (this was easily rectified considering I stayed outside the busy season - but it certainly would have been a big issue if the hotel was full) and if the hotel continues to offer a breakfast, a level of service and quality is and should be expected - especially of a hotel of this quality. I would also recommend the hotel checking that the fireplaces work and toilets are completely functional prior to guests checking in. Nevertheless, the location of the Griswold is perfect; the hotel itself is clean, beautiful and wonderfully historic; and parking very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tazaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grisresponder, Owner at Griswold Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write up such a comprehensive – and overall quite complimentary – review. It seems as though, generally, you had a wonderful time in Essex during a quiet time of year.

You indicated that when making your hotel reservation, you had made known your preference for a quiet, historic room in the Main Inn with a fireplace. Though we have several suites that have fireplaces, two are located in the Main Inn – Rooms 4 & 5. As you mentioned, while these are lovely spaces, they may not fit the bill for a quiet retreat. Thus you were moved to 35, a charming suite directly across the street. As a matter of interest, The Griswold Inn “campus” consists of the Main Inn plus several historic buildings surrounding it, where many of our suites are located. As we have a number of different types of accommodations to offer, your comment has prompted us to reiterate to our Front Desk staff the importance of “hearing” what people are looking for and presenting “best fit” available options.

Regarding our complimentary continental breakfast, we are sorry that it did not satisfy your expectation. Certainly our breakfast attendant should be readily available to take care of guests’ needs and replenish offerings during service and we have addressed this with the appropriate staff. Though subject to change, in an attempt to include breakfast as part of our hotel rate and maintain rates at a certain level, we offer the continental breakfast you experienced, free of charge.

Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay in town and at our establishment. We appreciate your constructive comments as they allow us to increase guest satisfaction. We do hope you will make a return visit - perhaps in a different season – to experience the best of The Griswold Inn, Essex, and the surrounding region.

Respectfully,
The Paul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews