We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place...”
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed there "again" in May of 2011 and just in time for the Hunt breakfast. Nice room, well appointed, quiet and very clean. Truly enjoyed staying at the inn!

Room Tip: Contact front desk.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Griswold Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have been to the Gris so many times now we are 'regulars.' We love everything about it... the adorable town of Essex it anchors, the marina (no pun intended), the quaint, well-kept but not overly fussy rooms, the wonderful small plates and selection at the wine bar, the schmaltzy but WAY too fun sing along at the bar.... am I raving? Well, we have been here in every season, but especially love the summer when Essex is the perfect entry point to US 1 or 95 to ramble north through the lovely Conneticut beach towns... go to Abbotts Lobster in the Rough in Niantic, lunch at S & P in Mystic... or ... shhh!!! Ocean Beach Park, a well kept secret for the perfect family day... great white beach, boardwalk, kiddie amusement park and water slide in New London, all within 35 minutes of the inn... or go on to gorgeous Watch Hill, RI. Or backroad through the River Towns, Ivoryton, East Haddam, Chester... antiques, nurseries, farm stands and cafes. In the winter we enjoyed the small town holiday feel of Essex, and the Inn... only bad thing I have to say is the continental breakfast is BBAAADDDD... so go to the gourmet coffee shop across the street (think local Starbucks), or to Olive Oyl's for an incredible sandwich.... Just don't expect frilly, frou frou 'boutique spa service'... this is New England, folks We. Love. This. Place. (can ya tell?)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amgboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

In a 10 night trip through New England, this was our worst value stay. Arrived at 9pm after a delayed flight. Place locked up and dead. Grumpy reception. No welcome or help with cases. Nice room, but small. Worst breakfast in New England. No-one even appeared to ask if everything was OK in the self-service breakfast room. Hotel is wonderful to look at outside and in, but it is relying on its age and reputation and seems to feel no need to offer either welcome or service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PALMA2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grisresponder, Owner at Griswold Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

We are terribly sorry that your experience at our establishment was less than satisfactory. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable and to make them aware of all that makes up the "Gris" experience. We appreciate your comments and have addressed the specific service issues you raised with our staff.

The "Gris" is known for its convivial and spirited atmosphere. We regret that your visit was not livened up by a visit to our Tap Room where we feature live music nightly and a bit of local color.

Please let us know if you are ever in the area again. We would appreciate another opportunity to introduce you to all that is the "Gris".

Respectfully, The Paul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I would not recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a nice quiet time away. It's a cute little town with a lot of history but the stay itself at the Inn was miserable. There was an all night karaoke fest going on. It sounded like a 20 yr olds keg party going on including screaming for hours. The music literally sounded like it was below our room and the bar was on the other side of the Inn. I have never in my life had two worse nights of sleep.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but at this Inn
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SSonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grisresponder, Owner at Griswold Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2011

We are disheartened to learn of your less than desirable stay during your weekend visit to our Inn. We feature live music every night of the week in our award-winning Tap Room - everything from Sea Chanteys, Dixieland, Rock, Swing, Banjo…For many, a visit to our lively Tap Room is the highlight of their stay – particularly Saturday night when the musical entertainment is somewhat interactive. If one is participating it’s great for most: if a quieter evening is what’s in order…

We are sorry that your room dissatisfaction was not brought to anyone’s attention until your stay was over - particularly after your first night. We have many different types of accommodations at our establishment. The Griswold Inn consists of the Main Inn plus seven surrounding historic buildings which include lovely guest accommodations. We could have easily moved you to a quieter “retreat”.

We do thank you for your comments as this serves as a reminder for our staff to ask prospective guests to identify any specific needs they may have when selecting an accommodation. If you should decide to give us another try in the future, please alert the Front Desk to any of your specific needs/desires: more often than not we can accommodate them. Our primary objective is for all of our guests to enjoy a comfortable stay with us – whether they want a “lively” experience or a quieter retreat.

Respectfully,
The Paul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We went to the Inn for Easter brunch today. we were herded into a small waiting area before being seated, we informed the hostess we had reservations. She then responded that everyone had reservations and seemed pretty damned annoyed! although the Inn had my credit card number and we were warned not to cancel our reservation or we would be charged. After the cattle call we were seated. We then served ourselves to some of the worst trash breakfast buffet food on the East coast. Totally boring. And we were charged thirty dollars a head. Head my warning folks.Rude service and overpriced slop.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank fuego1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The centrepiece of the stunning postcard perfect town of Essex is the historic Griswold Inn - essentially a museum in and of itself. The Inn has a glorious tap room that will often be populated with the sounds of great music. Several buildings and shops make up the inn. The Griswold is located very close to the Connecticut River (which will offer a great sunrise to early risers). The town is full of quaint shops and an excellent museum - I hate to admit I spent too little time in this lovely town. I made reservations well in advance and requested a historic room with fireplace in the main building, but quiet. I did make this quite clear. Unfortunately though we were put in the main building, rooms 4 & 5 are located above the Wine Bar and when trying to sleep we could hear every word of the conversation occurring below us almost as though it was happening in our room! It is also noted that the fireplace in room 4 was not working. We were moved across the road into room 35 and that was extremely nice and quiet. All three rooms were were in were all tastefully decorated with a wonderfully historic charm. The beds were very comfortable. Room 35 has a very nice large shower. It certainly was extremely cozy to sit by the fire in the living room portion of the room and relax after a day of sight-seeing. There is ample parking available. As one reviewer has noted, the breakfast needs to be improved. There is a lack of attention given with a rather dismal spread. If the coffee or orange juice runs out, there seems to be no one there to refill. Though the staff did move us without hesitation, There is a good restaurant on site as well and worth going to for not only the tasty meal, but also for the great atmosphere. I really should have been offered a better room well in advance since I called and indicating my requirements (this was easily rectified considering I stayed outside the busy season - but it certainly would have been a big issue if the hotel was full) and if the hotel continues to offer a breakfast, a level of service and quality is and should be expected - especially of a hotel of this quality. I would also recommend the hotel checking that the fireplaces work and toilets are completely functional prior to guests checking in. Nevertheless, the location of the Griswold is perfect; the hotel itself is clean, beautiful and wonderfully historic; and parking very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tazaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grisresponder, Owner at Griswold Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write up such a comprehensive – and overall quite complimentary – review. It seems as though, generally, you had a wonderful time in Essex during a quiet time of year.

You indicated that when making your hotel reservation, you had made known your preference for a quiet, historic room in the Main Inn with a fireplace. Though we have several suites that have fireplaces, two are located in the Main Inn – Rooms 4 & 5. As you mentioned, while these are lovely spaces, they may not fit the bill for a quiet retreat. Thus you were moved to 35, a charming suite directly across the street. As a matter of interest, The Griswold Inn “campus” consists of the Main Inn plus several historic buildings surrounding it, where many of our suites are located. As we have a number of different types of accommodations to offer, your comment has prompted us to reiterate to our Front Desk staff the importance of “hearing” what people are looking for and presenting “best fit” available options.

Regarding our complimentary continental breakfast, we are sorry that it did not satisfy your expectation. Certainly our breakfast attendant should be readily available to take care of guests’ needs and replenish offerings during service and we have addressed this with the appropriate staff. Though subject to change, in an attempt to include breakfast as part of our hotel rate and maintain rates at a certain level, we offer the continental breakfast you experienced, free of charge.

Overall, it sounds like you enjoyed your stay in town and at our establishment. We appreciate your constructive comments as they allow us to increase guest satisfaction. We do hope you will make a return visit - perhaps in a different season – to experience the best of The Griswold Inn, Essex, and the surrounding region.

Respectfully,
The Paul Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We were doodling up the coast on route 1 to see all the cute NE towns. We were headed up to Mystic, CT, and decided to just stop and look at Essex. WOW, WHAT A GEM OF A TOWN! The Griswold Inn stands out as you drive down the main street. It is a perfect example of what can be done right. This family owned Inn is perfectly restored, clean as can be, and has earned all it's rave reviews! The rooms are fresh, and historically charming. The Tavern is alive each night with live entertainment. The restaurant has a wonderful menu, but you could also have enjoyed their Wine Bar/Tapas type menu. This is a MUST STOP type of place!!

Room Tip: CALL this Inn and ask for the best rate.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1crissytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
8.1 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
736 reviews
4.4 km away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
7.4 km away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#6 of 7 in Old Saybrook
71 reviews
20.6 km away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.9 km away
The Copper Beech Inn
The Copper Beech Inn
#1 of 2 in Ivoryton
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range: $225 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing