We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed”
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Recently I purchased a one night stay on Living Social for a standard room. This deal also included a $25 spa certificate at a nearby facility. Upon arrival we checked in and were given Room 6 on the 3rd floor which includes a very challenging climb on the second staircase. The room itself is fine as well as the small bathroom, but the location is really poor for rest as the ancient floorboards creak terribly when anyone climbs the stairs or walks the hallway. We did not experience any of the loud bar noises others have complained of.

We were not given the $25 spa voucher upon arrival.

Drinks in the bar were fine and service was great. In all, service was friendly and fine.

The breakfast was continental with no options for upgrading to a hot breakfast. I would think that an Inn that has a reputation for food would not lay out prepackaged muffins for breakfast. This is not a difficult item to bake and it would make all the difference. Only white bread and white bagels were available for toasting. There was a variety of dry cereal and a very unappetizing bowl of melon chunks for the fruit. The coffee was good, but I have had far better continental breakfasts in a Hilton Garden Inn.

Lots of the shops were closed here and the attractions only run on the weekends. Be aware of that for your visit and check first if there is something you want to do like the Steam Train of the River Boat. I believe things really don't get into full swing until the end of June so be aware of that fact when planning y our trip.

Cheers

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in Room 6.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ctkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Griswold Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We booked our stay at the Inn to experience its 18th Century atmosphere and were not disappointed. The best part of our stay was the sea chantey performance by The Jovial Crew on Monday night. (They perform at the Inn every Monday at 8 pm.) The tap room was delightful and cozy and packed with local patrons who knew the words to all the songs. With everyone joining in, including yours truly, the evening was an absolute delight.

The Inn has rooms in the original 1776 building and in a range of other houses in the vicinity. Essex itself is echt Connecticut - immaculate early 19th Century houses separated by white picket fences and surrounded by impossibly green grass and cottage gardens. The Connecticut River is full of bends and coves and subsequently many houses are directly on the river, or have river views. The Inn is a very short walk to the river from a few directions. Our room was on the 3rd floor of the original building and we found it a bit challenging to climb the extremely steep and narrow staircases to get there with our bags when checking in. I needed to use the step stool provided to climb into the high four-poster bed. The room was tiny, but had two large windows looking out into the main street, and the bathroom was up-dated and immaculate. No television, but there was a radio in the room and the Inn is chock full of intriguing old books. The dining room was cozy and warm, with a good menu, and provided just the atmosphere we were looking for. The breakfast included with the room is fine, as far as continental breakfasts go, but we foraged in the neighborhood and found a place where we could get bacon and eggs to start the day only a short walk from the Inn.

Room Tip: When booking, mention any difficulties you might have in negotiating steep staircases as they have a...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveller914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our engagement night, that was over 17 yeare ago. Since then we've stayed many more times by ourselves and with family. The Griswold is always fun.

We like the annex rooms across the street. The ones above the clothing store are newly remolded and bigger. The one above the coffe shop may be our favorite, the smell of fresh brewed coffee waking you up is always good. The rooms are charming each with their own character. The beds are comfy.

The Wine bar has a great selection and the best service. Ask for Enis, she takes great passion in knowing all about the wines. She is super.

You can't go wrong with the entertainment in the Tap Room. The sing-a-long live bands are awesome. Everyone is singing and dancing and truely having a great time.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can make rerservations on line or by phone, either option is very easy. We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms above the dining room and tap room lounge are very noisy. We prefer the the annex rooms across...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 190roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Recently visited Essex CT for festival and visited the Griswold Inn. Unlike other B&B's I have stayed at in the past, I learned from a friend staying at the Inn that this B&B only offered continental breakfast which was very minimal and disappointing. The room was costly and was extremely small, electricity such that sign in bathroom warns you to shut off the AC if you use the hair dryer. Positive - great location and fun pub on property and ample parking.

Room Tip: Try main house rather than the Annex.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrooklynNYMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Thirty-five years ago we spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Griswold Inn. It was charming then and it is just as charming, if not more so, now. The bedroom was beautifully appointed, the bed was comfortable (a super mattress).

We had dinner in the Library - service was excellent and food was very good.
Essex has to be one of the most lovely towns in all of New England. We had a great time at the Gris

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and suite 4 are super
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thatchenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I stayed here with a few friends and overall found it to be a well run inn situated in a quaint and quiet little town. The rooms are clean and have what you need but since the buildings are old it all felt cramped. I was here with friends and wouldnt put this on my list for a romantic get away. At least not for the rooms we had. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Essex is a cute town but they roll up the sidewalks early so be prepared even on weekends. The Gris has entertainment that was ok but for the most part they stop seving food when the music starts. Also the retail shops in town dont open til noon on Sunday. Which doesnt work if you want to do some shopping after your 11am check out and have already done all the other local activities. Overall the Griswold Inn is very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bornatravlingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Spent four nights of a supremely beautiful and warm Connecticut River week in two different rooms at the Gris. First room was a superior cottage -- couldn't stand up in the shower (I'm 6'6"). Second room was on 2nd floor of one of the outbuildings -- shower worked fine, but I carved my scalp a few times walking under the three thresholds in the room. Beds were comfortable. Buildings (neither of these was part of the original inn) had a rustic charm -- windows without screens (but we propped them open for some wonderful night air), rough-hewn furniture.. Amenities were few, but that's fine. Mostly well-kept, but the Venetian blinds can use a good dusting. A nice Continental self-service breakfast with good coffee. Front desk staff was very accommodating. Newer wine bar was nice but closes way too early (around 930-10). Older bar had so-so rock bands that played until 11-midnight... wouldn't want to try to sleep in the main building while that was going on. Didn't try the main restaurant this time (last ate there about 20 years ago), but had some good meals in Middletown (Esca, Luce) and an unbelievably good breakfast at the Whistle Stop in Deep River (thanks, Yelp!). Don't expect fancy, but do expect a quiet, charming town with a lot of boaters.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highway_song
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
8.1 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
736 reviews
4.4 km away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
7.4 km away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#6 of 7 in Old Saybrook
71 reviews
20.6 km away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
3.9 km away
The Copper Beech Inn
The Copper Beech Inn
#1 of 2 in Ivoryton
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price Range: $226 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing