We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mealgood”
Review of Penang Grill - CLOSED

Penang Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed March 16, 2017

Best for the money in town. good food and pleasant surroundings very near downtown,
very good service.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjb6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 34 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2017

Small restaurant, but nice enough. Given the name, you would expect more Malaysian dishes, but the menu covers some traditional Asian recipes. Prices (at least at lunch) are on the low side, and the portions adequate.
Service is pretty good.
Parking can be a problem, but if you are willing to walk just a few steps, you'll find a spot in the area.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CTTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Often use this restaurant for business lunches as you can get in and out quickly and it has an authentic menu with interesting dishes. Quality is a little inconsistent lately where some dishes that were great came out just ok. Service is quick, if a little abrupt, and cost is moderate for the area. Sometimes you have to hunt around for a metered parking space but usually worth the visit. Sit down food usually significantly better than take out.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2016

Went there for dinner recently and ordered the Thai Seafood Casserole. First of all, it was only lukewarm when it arrived. It also was sorely lacking any taste -- beyond bland. And last, the shrimp and lobster chunks were overcooked and chewy. Very disappointing. Will not be returning anytime soon, even though I work about 3 blocks away.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kch561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2016

We tried this pals a long time ago an after many years we went back with some friends who love this place.

Our experience wasn't great before, nor was it this time.

But let's be fair. We called them from a movie and warned we would be late. But frankly they shouldn't have started to serve us and then tried to rush our meal because the chef wanted to go home.

I again expected that the food was inspired by Penang, usually Malaysian cuisine, but the server didn't even know what "Flamed Water Spinach" (Convulvus) was

The Szechuan dumpling starter was average.

My friends had two kind of Thai curry, one chicken and one vegetable. I didn't bother to order and we shared three main dishes.

My wife had stir fried rice which was okay.

So we did not have a chance to fully evaluate the restaurant and will go back and do that some other time.

In fairness, they also didn't try very hard either. So for anyone reading this let's just call it a broken play, to be continued.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Penang Grill also viewed

 
Greenwich, CT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing