We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“They need to learn about basic hospitality” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They need to learn about basic hospitality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Don't expect to have your room waiting even though you have reconfirmed your reservation and paid the required nonrefundable deposit...Seems that the Mystic Marriott doesn't believe in guaranteeing reservations...In fact, i would like to thank them for what was one of the worst hotel experiences i have had in a long time...After having driven from Providence airport after a long flight from California, I arrived at 1 am at the hotel only to be told that they have given my room to another guest. They acknowledged that yes they did know that i paid a nonrefundable deposit for a guaranteed room and that i had reconfirmed this reservation but unfortunately they simply did not have any rooms....Apparently this happens and there really isn't anything they could do about it.. They do require everyone to give a nonrefundable deposit on their reservations that is charged if a guest does not cancel a reservation within 24 hours but apparently they don't feel compelled to provide rooms to guests who actually show up. I was surprised to find that they had not even bothered to contact me to advise me that my room was unavailable despite the nonrefundable room guarantee...It was just tough luck for me...They offered to "put me up" in another hotel "down the road"...I explained that i was unfamiliar with the area and was concerned about the back roads they were sending me on but of course that seemed to be my problem...In any event, after driving around for quite some time, i eventually found the place they had "put me up" in on a road about 5 miles from the hotel...I finally got to my hotel and assigned room about 2:20 am...Unfortunately the hotel was a dingy old rundown establishment that did not even have a shelf or cabinet in the bathroom to place a toiletry bag. The one person who worked at the hotel was friendly but i was concerned about the condition of the room. Realizing my choice was to sleep in the car or on the bed and try to minimize any exposure to lice or fleas, I decided to just sleep in my clothes on the top of the blankets. I managed to sleep for a couple of hours and then checked out...I have to say that the worst part of the experience was the way i was treated at the hotel...It was clearly my problem...

Room Tip: Make your reservations at a hotel that understands what a nonrefundable guarantee means..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    297
    118
    56
    28
See reviews for
222
266
21
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Have stayed a couple times but would just like to review this one stay. Treckked on up to this Marriott for a baseball tournament the next day. Had great room service and great television viewing throughout the day. The following morning, getting my uniform on was easy in the spacious bathrooms. Checked out within a minute on the television and strolled right out. Car was parked on the first bank which was very convinient. Went to type in the address of the field and upon the GPS's route, we didn't even need to get back on the highway! Great location and wonderful stay. Recommend it fully

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pshaq47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here for business overnight. Everyone who works here is super friendly. But Octagon closes early 9pm and bar menu is limited.
Ask for room on north side away from noise from I95. Housekeeping starts banging on doors at 7am so plan on getting up with them. They are not quiet while greeting everyone in loud voices. I couldnt sleep past 8am.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimp3831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
209 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed here for 1 night over the Feb. holiday. The customer service was fantastic. The hotel rooms are fairly large. The bed was okay and the bathrooms were on the small side. It was adequate. The bar was very nice and the they made great drinks. It is a little out of the way from many things but right off the highway. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Edge NJ
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Good hotel if you are traveling with children!
Wine spectator award winner is a distant memory. Maybe in a previous life but not under the current administration. Food service was fine but the bar area food is sub-par... Pizza was cold and of a Domino's quality. Wine selection was uninspired...must have fired or let go anyone who had a clue about wine that led them to a Wine Spectator award. Guest on 2/19/12.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade if possible (corner room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic M, General Manager at Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for choosing the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa for your recent stay. We truly value our guests’ feedback and strive to exceed expectations. We continuously work to enhance our wine selections. We appreciate you taking the time and welcome the opportunity for you to share with us your suggestions. I anticipate your input via email at frajab at waterfordhotelgroup dot com. Thank you again for choosing the Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Location - Convenient to Mystic Seaport, New London Ferry, Foxwoods, Mohegan. Right off 95 but still secluded behind the trees.
Rooms - Standard, clean Marriott rooms. Perfect.
Pool - Fun for kids and relaxing for parents. Busy during holiday weekend.
Spa - Everything was booked for holiday weekend so could not get a reservation. Oh well.
Staff - Very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We asked for a lower floor because our daughter doesn't like elevators, but had a view of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lglvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
230 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is very nice & exceptionally clean. It is within 10 minutes of the Mohegan Sun and within 20 minutes of Foxwoods. It is very close to all the Mystic attractions as well. It ia located just off of RT 95. There is a large conference room and the very good octagon restaurant. The beds were exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom was pleasantly large enough. The room was decorated with modern furniture.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodshink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
6.0 km away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
28.7 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
5.4 km away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
15.1 km away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Groton
#2 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing