We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodgood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Goodgood”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed here a week for business. Its definitely a business oriented / conference center hotel with full amenities. The room was comfortable, good bed, good space. I had access to the concierge lounge, though it was closed Sunday evening and Monday am, and I am a bit disappointed on that front. Otherwise it was a good perk when it was open.
The hotel offers a shuttle, which is very useful should you want to go to the train station or nearby. There is nothing within walking distance besides the pricy hotel food options. You will need a car if you are staying here and you want to escape the hotel.
No complaints on the room, very comfortable, please let the windows open a bit to get some of that CT air Mystic Marriott Mgt.
The service in the bar and restaurant (dinner) was not great, the servers a bit on the chilly side and slow. Breakfast was fine however.u

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    319
    129
    60
    30
See reviews for
240
282
24
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a conference within the hotel itself.

Pros: Very clean rooms and meeting areas. Friendly cleaning staff that greeted guests in the mornings. Efficient service (too efficient at times) Computers for guest use available in the lobby. Adequate parking, Pretty rural-like setting. Rooms in northern "wing" are quiet (cannot hear the traffic on nearby I-95). Excellent heating and cooling system (although annoying high-pitched click sound every time system turns on--very audible when you're trying to sleep). Soundproofing between rooms seems adequate for the most part. Comfortable beds (if you like firmer mattresses), new(er) bedding. Staff very helpful, polite and efficient to conference attendees. The location from downtown Mystic (and other Mystic attractions) seems to be far, but in actuality it's within only a 10-minute drive (not walkable, though). The casinos are further away, but not a terribly long drive.

Cons:
1. Guests in courtyard rooms (those facing the hotel's main entrance) get to hear all the car door slamming and loud guests who enter, or exit, through the hotel's main entrance. This is a big hotel, so you hear all the clicking and noise from other guests near your room (good luck falling asleep, especially when you are anxious about business-related things to which you have to tend the next day). Admittedly, I have never stayed in such a large hotel before. I prefer B&Bs and small boutique hotels, so I am not accustomed to this much noise.

2. Internet Access in the rooms: it's either not free or not available. (This was the first time I have ever stayed in a B&B, hotel, or rundown motel that charged for Internet access. I guess Marriott is down on its luck.) My internet access was supposed to be included in my room price, however, even though I followed Marriott staff directions, I was never able to connect to the Internet. Ironically, or sadly, every time I attempted to log on to the Internet during my 2-day stay, my computer would immediately log on to the Marriott website. However, any attempts to move on to another website produced the messages "Waiting for Marriott" and "Server not found." I waited a long time for the messages to never go away. This big annoyance reminded me of a certain old song by the Eagles that claims "You can check-out any time you like, but you can never leave!" You certainly can't leave Marriott's website.

The biggest con though is, ironically, staff efficiency. It is excessive for checkout purposes. Their "Express" checkout service consists of a prototype bill (an eviction notice?) that is slipped discreetly under your room door at 5 o'clock, on the morning of the guest's checkout time. And, in case you forgot your checkout date and time, and you haven't read your "eviction notice" (or you are illiterate), the zealous cleaning crew knocks on your door at 8:30 am (on checkout morning) ready to clean the room that is not scheduled to be vacated until 11 am (or 10:59 am). Maybe Marriott has good intentions for this Express checkout service. However, I was offended by the warning, and felt like an unwelcome guest as I, then, nervously and hurriedly packed my bags, still dressed in my pajamas, 2.5 hours before checkout time. I have never needed to be reminded to vacate a hotel, motel, or B&B until this day.

To sum up: Despite some undesirable issues, I would still recommend Mystic Marriott for most travelers. However, for travelers who are light sleepers, and/or those who need (or want) affordable (free), reliable Internet access inside their rooms (not in the lobby) while they are dressed in their pajamas and fuzzy slippers, and/or for those who do not need to be served an eviction notice on the morning of their checkout day (because they don't have Alzheimer's disease), I recommend a stay in a different hotel, B&B, or even rundown motel.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room in the north "wing" as far away from the elevators as possible, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Everything I needed - even a phone charger - was found. I was a speaker at a conference and several times needed help - the staff helped IMMEDIATELY. When they said, I'll be back in two minutes - they were! Nothing started late. I watched a ballroom conversion to six smaller conference rooms in 10 minutes. All handled professionally. During a particularly fast change, I saw the senior managers in suits and ties, gladly helping out. I saw team leads advise a "newbie" in a way that didn't diminish the value or dignity of that person. Every person that needed accommodating received immediate help. I witnessed staff from all levels of responsibility who were empowered to make decisions and did so for the best interest of the guests. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaLaReau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Honestly, 10 dollars a night for internet makes me feel nickel and dimed. I will likely stay away from Marriott hotels in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acanuck00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I'm the board of an organization that recently held a conference at this hotel. The hotel is very nice and the staff at the front desk very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel rooms and common areas were clean and comfortable.

I was happy that there was a Starbuck's in the hotel.

The bar is a nice area and had plenty of room.

I didn't use any of the other facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArloBeagleMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here once before, but this time was in the setting of a conference. I was impressed at the cleanliness and friendliness of the hotel. Arrangements made during the conference and food offered was nice as well. Had lunch one day in the bar area which was just ok. Only compliant which is a major problem is how thin the walls are. I was able to hear my neighbors entire phone conversation and then was woken up by his snoring every night. Not very restful at all.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great hotel! I made a reservation for a regular king bed room and as a platinum member of Marriott Rewards, I was upgraded to the concierge floor. Very clean and bright room. The pool was a very good size and the jacuzzi was a good size as well. Now if only Starbucks would stay open later, I would have given the hotel five stars.

BTW, cookies were great when you check in. The staff is very friendly as well!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anson_Tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
6.0 km away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
862 reviews
5.5 km away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,086 reviews
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
28.6 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
727 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Groton
#2 Business Hotel in Groton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing